ADVERTISEMENT

The Petapan Project: Supporting the Educational Success of Urban Aboriginal Students

In its most recent webinar in the Research at a Glance series, École en réseau presented the Petapan project, which integrates Aboriginal knowledge into the teaching of science, technology and the social universe in the first and second cycles of elementary school.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Fatimazzahra Benchekri

In its most recent webinar in the Research at a Glance series, École en réseau presented the Petapan project, which integrates Aboriginal knowledge into the teaching of science, technology and the social universe in the first and second cycles of elementary school.

To (re)read contextualization of the Research at a Glance series...

The Petapan model aims to support the educational success of urban Aboriginal students. It was born out of an initiative by Aboriginal parents in Saguenay who wanted to have school services that better respond to the needs and concerns of First Nations students and families in urban areas. It was then developed by Shannon Blacksmith-Charlish and Christine Couture and carried out in the class of Marjolaine Maltais, from the École des Quatre-Vents of the Centre de services scolaires des Rives-du-Saguenay.

In Innu and Atikamekw languages, Petapan means "dawn". This name was chosen by the parents involved in the project to symbolize hope. The name reflects the desire to provide culturally safe school services for Aboriginal children and their families.

At the heart of the model is respect for cultural differences through openness, interest and understanding of First Peoples' history. All this with the objective of making students understand the impact of the past on their lives and awakening them to the duty of remembrance that they will have to carry out together.

Collaborative projects

To validate the success of the Petapan model, several intercultural collaborative projects were organized. They revolved around 4 axes: Mutual Enrichment, Cultural Security, Collective Project, Languages and Cultures. The projects integrated innovative pedagogical practices such as pedagogical differentiation, understanding of particularities, exploitation of First Nations youth literature, while incorporating Innu/Atikamekw vocabulary.

Among them, let's mention an intercultural end of year show, a "school museum" from the 1400's to the 2000's, a collective fresco and mosaic. Sharing meals at the Saguenay Native Friendship Centre were also organized. Readings of stories and legends as well as meetings with elders were planned. Finally, the students started making bannock and discovered invaluable cultural objects.

Working together

Above all, the Petapan model highlights the importance of working together to support the educational success of Aboriginal students. In fact, several partners contributed to the development of the Petapan project based on the model of the same name: the CSS des Rives-du-Saguenay-École Des Quatre-Vents, the Saguenay Native Friendship Centre, the First Nations Education Council, the Atikamekw Nation Council, the Institut Tshakapesh, the Ministry of Education (MEQ), the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi and the Nikanite First Nations Centre.

The presenters acknowledged the contributions of teachers, remedial educators, social workers, daycare specialists and support staff who have been involved throughout the project. The teacher who implemented the model in her classroom, Marjolaine Maltais, emphasized the importance of engaging the students' parents. She said that as a teacher, you should not be afraid to ask questions in order to get to know your students better and to learn more about their culture, their history, but also their language.

For more information on the project, check out this link.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Fatimazzahra Benchekri
Fatimazzahra Benchekri
Fatimazzahra is a master's student in educational technology at Laval University. Passionate about reading and writing, she has decided to devote her time to writing in a field in which she feels she is growing, education. With a background in journalism and political science, Fatimazzahra sees education as an ever-changing field where anyone is welcome to share their ideas and motivations.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le projet Petapan : soutenir la réussite éducative des élèves autochtones en milieu urbain

Dans le cadre de son plus récent webinaire de la série Clin d’oeil sur la recherche, l’École en réseau a permis la présentation du projet Petapan, qui intègre des savoirs autochtones dans l’enseignement des sciences, de la technologie et de l’univers social aux premier et deuxième cycles du primaire.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Par Fatimazzahra Benchekri

Dans le cadre de son plus récent webinaire de la série Clin d’oeil sur la recherche, l’École en réseau a permis la présentation du projet Petapan, qui intègre des savoirs autochtones dans l’enseignement des sciences, de la technologie et de l’univers social aux premier et deuxième cycles du primaire.

Pour (re)lire la mise en contexte de la série Clin d’œil sur la recherche

Le modèle Petapan a pour but de soutenir la réussite éducative des élèves autochtones en milieu urbain. Il est né d’une initiative de parents autochtones de Saguenay désirant avoir des services scolaires qui répondent mieux aux besoins et aux préoccupations des élèves et des familles des Premières Nations en milieu urbain. Il a ensuite été développé par Shannon Blacksmith-Charlish et Christine Couture et réalisé dans la classe de Marjolaine Maltais, de l’école des Quatre-Vents du Centre de services scolaire des Rives-du-Saguenay.

En langues innue et atikamekw, Petapan signifie « aube ». Ce nom a été choisi par les parents impliqués dans le projet pour symboliser l’espoir. Le nom témoigne de la volonté de mettre en place des services scolaires culturellement sécurisants pour les enfants autochtones et pour leur famille.

Au cœur du modèle, le respect des particularités culturelles en faisant preuve d’ouverture, d’intérêt et de compréhension de l’histoire des Premiers Peuples. Tout cela dans l’objectif de faire comprendre aux élèves l’impact du passé sur leurs vies et les éveiller au devoir de mémoire qu’ils auront à mener tous ensemble.

Des projets collaboratifs

Pour valider la réussite du modèle Petapan, plusieurs projets collaboratifs interculturels ont été organisés. Ils tournaient autour de 4 axes : Enrichissement mutuel, Sécurisation culturelle, Projet collectif, Langues et cultures. Les projets intégraient des pratiques pédagogiques novatrices telles que la différenciation pédagogique, la compréhension des particularités, l’exploitation de la littérature jeunesse des Premières Nations, tout en incorporant le vocabulaire innu/atikamekw.

Parmi eux, mentionnons un spectacle de fin d’année interculturel, un « musée école » des années 1400 à 2000, une fresque et mosaïque collectives. Des repas de partage au Centre d’amitié autochtone du Saguenay ont aussi été organisés. Des lectures de contes et légendes ainsi que des rencontres avec des aînés ont été planifiées. Les élèves se sont finalement lancés dans la fabrication de pain banique et ont découvert des objets culturels inestimables.

Travailler tous ensemble

Par-dessus tout, le modèle Petapan met en évidence l’importance de travailler ensemble pour soutenir la réussite éducative des élèves autochtones. D’ailleurs, plusieurs partenaires ont contribué au développement du projet Petapan découlant du modèle du même nom : le CSS des Rives-du-Saguenay-École Des Quatre-Vents, le Centre d’amitié autochtone du Saguenay, le Conseil en Éducation des Premières Nations, le Conseil de la Nation Atikamekw, l’Institut Tshakapesh, le ministère de l’Éducation (MEQ), l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et le Centre des Premières Nations Nikanite.

Les présentatrices ont souligné l’apport d’enseignants, d’orthopédagogues, de travailleuses sociales, d’éducateurs spécialisés en service de garde, de personnel de soutien qui ont contribué tout au long du projet. L’enseignante qui a concrétisé le modèle dans sa classe, Marjolaine Maltais, a insisté sur l’importance de mobiliser les parents des élèves. Elle a indiqué qu’en tant qu’enseignant, il ne fallait pas avoir peur de poser des questions afin de mieux connaître ses élèves et s’imprégner de leur culture, de leur histoire, mais aussi de leur langue.

Pour des informations supplémentaires sur le projet, consultez ce lien.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Fatimazzahra Benchekri
Fatimazzahra est étudiante à la maîtrise en technologie éducative à l’université Laval. Passionnée par la lecture et la rédaction, elle a décidé de consacrer son temps à écrire dans un domaine au sein duquel elle se sent grandir, l’éducation. Ayant une expérience dans le journalisme et dans le monde des sciences politiques, Fatimazzahra voit en l’éducation un champ d’action en perpétuelle mouvance où toute personne est la bienvenue à partager ses idées et ses motivations.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :