There is still time to participate in the first edition of the Canadian Children's Film Festival

The Canadian Youth Film Festival provides a showcase for youth films made in school settings at both the elementary and secondary levels. The deadline for student film submissions is May 15.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

By Julie Talbot, art teacher at Collège Sainte-Anne - Lachine High School

The Canadian Children's Film Festival Canadian Youth Film Festival is a non-profit festival whose objective is to provide a showcase for youth cinema. It also aims to provide support to teachers who wish to make films with their students in the school context, both at the primary and secondary levels.

Mission

The Canadian Children's Film Festival is an annual event that will showcase film productions made by students in a Canadian school setting. It aims to stimulate a national dialogue on the place of film in schools, as the 7th art can create a sense of well-being in young people. The festival takes the form of a competition and is open to both French and English-speaking students. To support teachers who wish to participate in the festival with their students, resources and pedagogical proposals are also offered.

Educational materials and resources

This material is intended for teachers, but could also be used by curious and resourceful students. It is available in the form of tutorials pre-selected according to their quality and relevance, or on sites that allow students to deepen their knowledge of cinema. All of these tools can be found in a section of the Festival website called Educational resources. 

There is also a "2021-2022 Pedagogical File" tab where material created specifically for elementary and secondary school teachers can be found. A great way to introduce the analysis of moving images in the classroom and to start a reflection on cinema by presenting the two selected short films. 

A downloadable folder and age-appropriate questions will be very useful for all art teachers who want to assess the skill of "appreciating works of art" in the classroom without necessarily making films! 

And for teachers of subjects other than the arts, it will be possible to open a dialogue on the theme, on critical judgment, on narrative or simply on opinion. For those who want to start creating films, there are free software and royalty-free image and sound platforms listed for them. 

The goal is to feel that making a film in the classroom is possible even if you are not 100 % of these skills. Remember that students are bold and resourceful when it comes to navigating new technological tools. The first step is to trust them.

Our Canadian Youth Film Festiva | Festival canadien de cinéma jeunesset is the only national festival dedicated to young people's cinematographic works that also aims to support teachers who wish to make films with their students.

This first edition will take place online and the selected films will be hosted on the festival's platform from June 15.

The deadline to submit student films is May 15. For more details and to view the rules, one can visit the official festival page or follow the pages on social media:

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Il est encore temps de participer à la première édition du Festival canadien de cinéma jeunesse

Le Festival canadien de cinéma jeunesse | Canadian Youth Film Festival offre une vitrine pour le cinéma jeunesse réalisé en contexte scolaire, tant au primaire qu’au secondaire. La date limite pour soumettre des films d'élèves est le 15 mai.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Par Julie Talbot, enseignante en arts au Collège Sainte-Anne – secondaire Lachine

Le Festival canadien de cinéma jeunesse | Canadian Youth Film Festival est un festival à but non lucratif dont l’objectif est d’offrir une vitrine pour le cinéma jeunesse. Il vise également à offrir un soutien aux enseignants qui souhaitent réaliser des films avec leurs élèves dans le contexte scolaire, tant au primaire qu’au secondaire.

Mission

Le Festival canadien de cinéma jeunesse est un événement annuel qui mettra en valeur les productions cinématographiques réalisées par des élèves dans un contexte scolaire canadien. Il souhaite éveiller un dialogue national sur la place du cinéma à l’école puisque le 7e art peut susciter un sentiment de bien-être chez les jeunes. Le festival prend la forme d’un concours et s’adresse tant aux élèves francophones qu’anglophones. Afin de soutenir les enseignant(e)s qui souhaitent participer au festival avec leurs élèves, on offre également des ressources et des propositions pédagogiques.

Matériel et ressources pédagogiques

Ce matériel destiné à l’enseignant(e), mais qui pourrait aussi bien servir aux élèves curieux et débrouillards, se décline sous la forme de tutoriels présélectionnés selon leur qualité et pertinence ou par des sites permettant un approfondissement des connaissances reliées au cinéma. Tous ces outils se retrouvent dans une section du site du Festival appelée Ressources pédagogiques. 

On y retrouve aussi un onglet « Dossier pédagogique 2021-2022 » où du matériel créé spécifiquement pour les enseignant(e)s du primaire et du secondaire s’y retrouve. Une belle façon d’introduire l’analyse d’images en mouvement dans la classe et de débuter une réflexion sur le cinéma en présentant les deux courts-métrages sélectionnés. 

Un dossier téléchargeable et des questions adaptées au niveau d’âge seront très utiles pour tous les enseignant(e)s d’arts plastiques qui veulent évaluer la compétence « apprécier des œuvres d’art » en classe sans nécessairement réaliser de films! 

Et pour les enseignant(e)s d’autres matières que les arts, il sera possible d’ouvrir un dialogue sur la thématique, sur le jugement critique, sur le récit ou tout simplement sur l’opinion. Ceux et celles qui se lancent dans la création de film seront ravis des propositions de logiciels gratuits et des plateformes d’images et de sons libres de droits répertoriées pour eux. 

Le but est de sentir que de faire un film en classe est possible même si l’on ne maîtrise pas à 100 % ces compétences. N’oubliez pas que les élèves sont audacieux et débrouillards quand vient le temps de naviguer avec des nouveaux outils technologiques. Il faut tout d’abord leur faire confiance.

Le Festival canadien de cinéma jeunesse | Canadian Youth Film Festival est le seul festival national consacré aux œuvres cinématographiques des jeunes qui vise aussi à soutenir les enseignant(e)s qui souhaitent réaliser des films avec leurs élèves.

Cette première édition se déroulera en ligne et les films sélectionnés seront hébergés sur la plateforme du festival dès le 15 juin.

La date limite pour soumettre les films des élèves est le 15 mai. Pour plus de détails et voir les règlements, on peut consulter la page officielle du festival ou suivre les pages sur les médias sociaux :

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :