The booktube: literary criticism 2.0

It is by associating literature and video that the booktube were born. What is a booktube and how can I use it for educational purposes?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The whole of my article is inspired by the training given by Melanie Jannard at the 2018 AQPF Congress.  

As you have probably noticed: the word " booktube Is a portmanteau formed from the English translation of the word "book" and "YouTube". What is a booktube and how can I use it for educational purposes?

The "what" book?

This kind of literary criticism fits perfectly in our era where video is consumed in mass and where people wanting to expose themselves on social networks have almost unlimited access to platforms allowing them to do so in various ways. It is therefore by associating literature and video that the booktubes. In this type of record, the booktubeur offers his interpretation and appreciation of one or more literary works.

As with any genre, the booktube has its own characteristics. One of the most important is that we see the speaker's personality shine through. Indeed, the artist includes some personal anecdotes or related reading experiences in order to get his message across. Depending on the content to be presented, the booktube can last between one and ten minutes. It is strongly suggested to make a plan in order to follow the common thread of the criticism. As Mélanie Jannard, author and booktubeuse, it is easy to get lost in your ideas when you leave without having prepared. Moreover, it offers an accessible tutorial in order to produce its own content.

And the pedagogy in all this?

With the increasing presence of digital technology in education, why not motivate our young people to produce content around literature? If you speak with your students, you will quickly discover that they are end users of YouTube and videos, each one more different than the next. As educators, we have the responsibility of guiding them towards good practices in connection with the Web. Getting them to consume content that deals with reading is an idea that is one of the best practices.  

In addition, it is interesting to work on the understanding of the works read. In French, it is necessary to evaluate several criteria in reading such as comprehension, interpretation, reaction and critical judgment. It is possible, from instructions for the production of a booktube, to direct the pupils towards the elaboration of their capsule around answers answering these constraints. You will find here a example of instructions given to first-secondary students as well asan example of booktube made from these guidelines.

Finally, the taste for reading is an important hobbyhorse in schools. Why not use a project like the booktube to motivate students to find a book they like, whether it's a novel, graphic novel, comic book, magazine series, or whatever? It is much easier to talk about a book that you liked than the other way around. Use the resources to help students find one to their liking: your documentation technician (a real gold mine!), Literary reviews on social media and finally, booktubes already existing.  

Moreover, speaking of booktubes already online, it may be interesting to share your students' productions in the form of QR codes in your school's library so that other users can consult the review and thus move on to reading the book presented. It's a great way to reinvest the work you've done.  

All in all, the booktube is a great avenue to explore in connection with technology. Students will be able to explore the different video editing applications and thus improve their skills with the use of TICS in addition to reinvesting their knowledge of French. Good booktubing!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Laurie Couture
Laurie Couture
A high school French teacher and contributor to various blogs, Laurie Couture is passionate about writing and for the innovative aspect of education: how can you change your ways of doing things to improve your method? She loves to discover, discuss and develop about convincing practices related to technologies. Using digital technology, she aspires to set up projects and documents responding to current trends and proposing new approaches.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Le booktube : la critique littéraire 2.0

0

L’ensemble de mon article est inspiré de la formation donnée par Mélanie Jannard au congrès 2018 de l’AQPF.  

Comme vous l’avez surement remarqué : le mot « booktube » est un mot-valise formé à partir de la traduction anglaise du mot « livre » et de « YouTube ».  Qu’est-ce qu’un booktube et comment l’utiliser à des fins pédagogiques?

Le book  « quoi »?

Ce genre de critique littéraire s’inscrit parfaitement dans notre ère où la vidéo est consommée en masse et où les gens désirant s’exposer sur les réseaux sociaux ont un accès quasi illimité aux plateformes leur permettant de le faire de diverses façons. C’est donc en associant littérature et vidéo que sont nés les booktubes. Dans ce type d’enregistrement, le booktubeur offre son interprétation et son appréciation d’une ou de plusieurs œuvres littéraires.

Comme pour tout genre, le booktube a ses propres caractéristiques. Une des plus importante, c’est qu’on voit transparaître la personnalité du locuteur. En effet, l’artiste y inclut quelques anecdotes personnelles ou encore des expériences de lecture connexes afin de bien faire passer son message. En fonction du contenu à présenter, le booktube peut durer entre une et dix minutes. Il est fortement suggéré de faire un plan afin de bien suivre le fil conducteur de la critique. Comme dirait Mélanie Jannard, auteure et booktubeuse, il est facile de se perdre dans ses idées quand on part sans s’être préparé. D’ailleurs, elle propose un tutoriel accessible afin de produire soi-même son contenu.

Et la pédagogie dans tout ça?

Avec la présence de plus en plus importante du numérique en éducation, pourquoi ne pas motiver nos jeunes à produire du contenu autour de la littérature? Si vous parlez avec vos élèves, vous allez vite découvrir qu’ils sont de fins consommateurs de YouTube et de vidéos, toutes plus différentes les unes que les autres. En tant que pédagogues, nous avons la responsabilité de les guider vers les bonnes pratiques en lien avec le Web. Leur faire consommer du contenu qui traite de lecture, c’est une idée qui fait partie des pratiques probantes.  

De plus, il est intéressant de travailler la compréhension des œuvres lues. En français, il faut évaluer plusieurs critères en lecture tels que la compréhension, l’interprétation, la réaction et le jugement critique. Il est possible, à partir de consignes pour la production d’un booktube, de diriger les élèves vers l’élaboration de leur capsule autour de réponses répondant à ces contraintes. Vous retrouverez ici un exemple de consignes données à des élèves de première secondaire ainsi qu’un exemple de booktube réalisé à partir de ces directives.

Finalement, le goût de la lecture est un cheval de bataille important dans les écoles. Pourquoi ne pas utiliser un projet tel que le booktube pour motiver les élèves à trouver un livre qu’ils aiment, que ce soit un roman, un roman graphique, une bande dessinée, une série de magazines ou autre? Il est beaucoup plus facile de parler d’un livre qu’on a aimé que le contraire. Utilisez les ressources pour aider les élèves à en trouver un à leur goût : votre technicienne en documentation (une vraie mine d’or!), les critiques littéraires sur les réseaux sociaux et finalement, les booktubes déjà existants.  

D’ailleurs, en parlant des booktubes déjà en ligne, il peut être intéressant de partager les productions de vos élèves sous forme de codes QR dans la bibliothèque de votre école afin que d’autres utilisateurs puissent consulter la critique et ainsi se diriger vers la lecture du livre présenté. C’est une excellente façon de réinvestir le travail accompli.  

Somme toute, le booktube est une belle piste à explorer en lien avec la technologie. Les élèves pourront explorer les différentes applications de montage vidéo et ainsi améliorer leur compétence avec l’utilisation des TICS en plus de réinvestir de leurs connaissances en français. Bon booktubing!

Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :



Enseignante de français au secondaire et collaboratrice sur divers blogues, Laurie Couture se passionne pour l’écriture et pour l’aspect novateur en éducation : comment peut-on modifier ses façons de faire pour améliorer sa méthode? Elle adore découvrir, discuter et développer au sujet des pratiques probantes en lien avec les technologies. À l’aide du numérique, elle aspire à mettre sur pieds des projets et des documents répondant aux tendances actuelles et proposant des approches nouvelles.