Science nestles at Collège Beaubois

Making science a concrete project is the challenge that a secondary school teacher has been taking up for a few weeks with her students. How? 'Or' What? By building the latest nesting boxes, equipped with cameras!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Making science a concrete project is the gamble that Roxanne Piché, a secondary 1 teacher at Collège Beaubois in Pierrefonds, in the suburbs of Montreal, has been taking up for a few weeks with her students. How? 'Or' What? By building the latest nesting boxes, equipped with cameras!

The educational advisor of Collège Beaubois, Jacky Lepeintre, is a ornithologist amateur. He also believes that technologies "cannot stay at the doors of schools". But that these require "judgment, strategy, communication with families, and especially support". Roxanne Piché was therefore able to benefit from his support.

Initially, the two classes of the young teacher were offered research on bird species that prefer nesting boxes rather than nests in trees. As the College is surrounded by a wooded area, the students also took the opportunity to observe the ambient species, therefore those which were most likely to move into pretty little bungalows!

Go in stages

Once the research had been carried out (partly at home, due to a pandemic), it was necessary to process and validate the information as any good scientist would. Besides, what better way than to seek advice from scientists! Virtual meetings took place using electronic tablets. Ms. Piché's students received answers, in particular on baggage, the sex of birds, spawning as well as the various habits of avian fauna.

One of the highlights of the research was undoubtedly the arrival of a falconer at the school! Contact with its specialists allowed the students to have many more answers to their questions for the rest of the project.

Prototyping

The nesting boxes project allows each student to make a prototype out of cardboard, depending on the bird species chosen. 

The notion of trial and error is essential at this stage. "This is how learning is done", according to Roxanne Piché and Jacky Lepeintre. Some found that their nest box was either too small due to the size of the birds to be accommodated, or too dark. “Yes, because among all the prototypes produced, five will subsequently be built in wood and will each receive a camera to observe the laying and hatching of the eggs! We will be in a real reality show! ".

A website will soon be set up to disseminate images of the interior of the nesting boxes. A video on the project will also be broadcast on the BeaubOiseaux YouTube channel. Finally, a survey will follow to see to what extent the interest of this project will have marked the students from an academic point of view, but also their family environment. It is not impossible that some people want to reproduce for their garden the appropriate nesting box for the birds in their neighborhood.

The nest boxes project is entirely in line with Mr. Lepeintre's thinking: aiming for the acquisition of digital skills specific to the 21st century, namely "communication, collaborative work, mastery of ICT, critical thinking and creativity ”.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Google advertising


About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

You might also like:

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive news from École branchée

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

La science se niche au Collège Beaubois

Faire de la science un projet concret, c’est le pari qu'une enseignante du secondaire relève depuis quelques semaines avec ses élèves. Comment? En construisant des nichoirs dernier cri, équipés de caméras!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Faire de la science un projet concret, c’est le pari que Roxanne Piché, enseignante de secondaire 1 au Collège Beaubois de Pierrefonds, en banlieue de Montréal, relève depuis quelques semaines avec ses élèves. Comment? En construisant des nichoirs dernier cri, équipés de caméras!

Le conseiller pédagogique du Collège Beaubois, Jacky Lepeintre, est un ornithologue amateur. Il croit aussi que les technologies « ne peuvent rester aux portes des écoles ». Mais que celles-ci demandent « du jugement, de la stratégie, de la communication auprès des familles, et surtout de l’accompagnement ». Roxanne Piché a donc pu bénéficier de son soutien.

Dans un premier temps, les deux classes de la jeune enseignante se sont vu proposer une recherche sur les espèces d’oiseaux préférant les nichoirs plutôt que les nids dans les arbres. Le Collège étant entouré d’un boisé, les élèves ont aussi profité de l’occasion pour observer les espèces ambiantes, donc celles qui avaient le plus de chance d’emménager dans de jolis petits bungalows!

Y aller par étapes

Une fois la recherche effectuée (en partie à la maison, pandémie oblige), il a fallu traiter et valider l’information comme le ferait tout bon scientifique. D’ailleurs, quoi de mieux que de demander conseil à des scientifiques! Des rencontres virtuelles ont eu lieu à l’aide de tablettes électroniques. Les élèves de Mme Piché ont reçu des réponses notamment sur le bagage, le sexe des oiseaux, la ponte ainsi que les diverses habitudes de la faune aviaire.

L’un des moments forts de la recherche fut sans aucun doute la venue à l’école d’une fauconnière! Le contact avec ses spécialistes a permis aux élèves d’avoir beaucoup plus de réponses à leurs questions pour la suite du projet.

Le prototypage

Le projet des nichoirs propose à chaque élève de réaliser en carton un prototype, en fonction de l’espèce d’oiseau choisie. 

La notion d’essai-erreur est primordiale à cette étape. « C’est comme ça que l’apprentissage se fait », selon Roxanne Piché et Jacky Lepeintre. Certains se sont aperçus que leur nichoir était soit trop petit en raison de la taille des oiseaux à accueillir, soit trop sombre. « Oui, parce que parmi l’ensemble des prototypes réalisés, cinq seront par la suite construits en bois et recevront chacun une caméra pour observer la ponte et l’éclosion des œufs! On sera dans un véritable reality show! ».

Un site internet verra le jour prochainement afin de diffuser les images de l’intérieur des nichoirs. Une vidéo sur le projet sera aussi diffusée sur la chaîne YouTube BeaubOiseaux. Enfin, un sondage suivra pour voir à quel point l’intérêt de ce projet aura marqué les élèves d’un point de vue scolaire, mais également leur environnement familial. Il n’est pas impossible que certains aient envie de reproduire pour leur jardin le nichoir approprié pour les oiseaux de leur voisinage.

Le projet des nichoirs va tout à fait dans le sens de la pensée de M. Lepeintre : viser l’acquisition d’habiletés numériques propres au 21e siècle à savoir notamment « la communication, le travail collaboratif, la maîtrise des TIC, le sens critique et la créativité ».

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Avatar
André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!