ADVERTISEMENT

The wheel of educational innovation

Innovation is about successfully implementing a new idea and creating value. Creativity is not the same as innovation. Creativity means coming up with a new idea. Innovation is taking that novel idea, engaging in a problem-solving process, and creating value.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Adaptation of the original article by Laurie Couture of École branchée, written in a pedagogical mentoring posture, from a school leadership perspective.

By Marie-Josée Villeneuve, Director of Innovation and Pedagogical Support at the CSS des-Rives-du-Saguenay,

Innovation is about successfully implementing a new idea and creating value. Creativity is not the same as innovation. Creativity means coming up with a new idea. Innovation is taking that novel idea, engaging in a problem-solving process, and creating value.

Innovation in the school environment serves to prepare students for the professions and challenges of tomorrow. Innovation then becomes at the service of learning. More and more, we are talking about pedagogical innovation in schools. Rethinking the way we do things in order to offer students a stimulating educational environment.

What is the role of each stakeholder in this process? And what about the management of the institution, the one who manages the process of this novelty? With innovation, we are always navigating change, while the critical mass of individuals remains, most of the time, camped in its comfort zone. Thus, the challenge is always the process of change. For management, it is certainly a question of assuming strong pedagogical leadership and entering into a gear: the wheel of innovation.

Innovation means doing things differently, daring to change things to offer something new, something never seen before in a specific context. In a school context, innovation is different for each direction or environment: no one is at the same point on the long road that leads to new skills or competencies for the person or team that commits to it.

First step: open the door

In the literal sense, opening the door means letting specialists and colleagues into the school (physically or not) so that they can testify to what is being done there. However, before opening the door, we must open the door in our head, the one that lets in new ideas, the one that places us in a vulnerable position.

Vulnerability is not meant here in a pejorative sense, but in a sense of openness and progression. Opening the door to our professional development puts us in the position of a learner. Sometimes uncomfortable at first, we should not underestimate the importance of daring to push our limits and those of our team. They, in turn, will be ingenious and surprising.

Second step: continue on this path

After opening up and gathering feedback and ideas, continue to engage. The beginning of the innovation process is the time to test, try again and go further in what you want to implement. It is at this stage that everything is at stake! You may come up against a few obstacles. We must remain in solution mode to avoid falling back into our slippers.

With our team, we will have to value those who demonstrate courage and perseverance. Very early in the process, it will be important to demonstrate the positive impacts on our students, thus feeding the belt. With digital technology, a host of resources are available at a distance, we can continue our progress towards innovation using online self-training platforms, videos, articles, blogs, etc.

Third step: shine

It is important to share the results of the pedagogical innovation process with colleagues, on the social networks of our school and our school service center. And to make our innovative projects known. Why? To contaminate others!

After seeing the success of the approach, other managers will probably decide to try the same thing. How can they do this? By publishing the documents created, sharing the process, proposing projects and ideas and telling colleagues about the experience.

Wherever you feel comfortable. This is how the wheel works: the influence of some will open the door to others. The world of education can become a huge wheel of sharing, innovative development and caring. Let's innovate!

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE
Classé dans :

La roue de l’innovation pédagogique

L’innovation consiste à mettre en œuvre avec succès une nouvelle idée et à créer de la valeur. La créativité n’est pas synonyme d’innovation. La créativité signifie trouver une idée nouvelle.  L’innovation consiste à prendre cette idée novatrice, à s’engager dans un processus de résolution de problèmes, et à créer une valeur ajoutée.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

🚀

Adaptation de l’article original de Laurie Couture de l’École branchée, écrit dans une posture de conseillance pédagogique, dans une perspective de direction d’établissement.

Par Marie-Josée Villeneuve, directrice à l’innovation et au soutien pédagogique du CSS des-Rives-du-Saguenay,

L’innovation consiste à mettre en œuvre avec succès une nouvelle idée et à créer de la valeur. La créativité n’est pas synonyme d’innovation. La créativité signifie trouver une idée nouvelle.  L’innovation consiste à prendre cette idée novatrice, à s’engager dans un processus de résolution de problèmes, et à créer une valeur ajoutée.

L’innovation en milieu scolaire sert à préparer les élèves aux métiers et défis de demain. L’innovation devient alors au service de l’apprentissage. De plus en plus, il est question d’innovation pédagogique dans les milieux scolaires. Repenser nos façons de faire pour offrir aux élèves un milieu pédagogique stimulant.

Quel est le rôle de chaque intervenant dans ce processus? Et qu’en est-il de la direction d’établissement, celle qui gère l’engrenage de cette nouveauté? Avec l’innovation, on navigue toujours dans le changement, alors que la masse critique d’individus demeure, la plupart du temps, campée dans sa zone de confort. Ainsi, le défi est toujours le processus de changement. Pour la direction, il s’agit certainement d’assumer un leadership pédagogique fort et d’entrer dans un engrenage : la roue de l’innovation.

Innover, c’est faire autrement, oser changer les choses pour offrir du nouveau, du jamais vu dans un contexte précis. Dans un contexte scolaire, l’innovation est différente pour chaque direction ou milieu : personne n’est au même point sur le long chemin qui mène à de nouvelles habiletés ou compétences chez la personne ou l’équipe qui s’y engage.

Première étape : ouvrir la porte

Au sens propre, ouvrir la porte revient à laisser entrer dans l’école (physiquement ou non) des spécialistes, des collègues afin que ceux-ci puissent témoigner de ce qui s’y fait. Cependant, avant d’ouvrir sa porte, il faut ouvrir la porte de notre tête, celle qui laisse entrer les nouvelles idées, celle qui nous place dans une position vulnérable.

La vulnérabilité n’est pas abordée ici dans un sens péjoratif, mais dans un sens d’ouverture d’esprit et de progression. Ouvrir la porte de notre développement professionnel nous place en position d’apprenant. Parfois inconfortable au début, il ne faut pas sous-estimer l’importance d’oser repousser nos limites et celles de notre équipe. Ces derniers seront ingénieux et surprenants à leur tour.

Deuxième étape : continuer dans cette voie

Après l’ouverture et le recueil des commentaires et des idées, il faut continuer à s’engager. Le début du processus d’innovation est le moment de tester, de recommencer et d’aller plus loin dans ce qu’on désire implanter. C’est à ce stade que tout se joue! On pourra possiblement se buter à quelques obstacles. Il faudra rester en mode solution pour éviter de retomber dans nos pantoufles.

Avec notre équipe, il faudra valoriser ceux qui démontrent du courage et de la persévérance. Très tôt dans le processus, il sera important de démontrer les impacts positifs chez nos élèves, ainsi nourrir la courroie. Avec le numérique, une foule de ressources sont disponibles à distance, on peut continuer notre progression vers l’innovation à l’aide de plateformes d’autoformation en ligne, des vidéos, des articles, de blogues, etc.

Troisième étape : rayonner

Auprès de ses collègues, sur les réseaux sociaux de notre école et de notre centre de services scolaire, il importe de faire rayonner le résultat de la démarche d’innovation pédagogique. Et de faire connaître nos projets novateurs. Pourquoi? Pour contaminer les autres!

Après avoir vu le succès de la démarche, d’autres gestionnaires décideront probablement d’essayer la même chose. Comment? En publiant les documents créés, en témoignant de la démarche, en proposant des projets et des idées et en racontant aux collègues l’expérience.

Où? Partout où vous serez à l’aise. C’est ainsi que la roue opère : le rayonnement des uns ouvrira la porte aux autres. Le monde de l’éducation pourra devenir une immense roue de partage, de développement novateur et de bienveillance. Innovons!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo ainsi que la programmation de nos services chaque semaine!



À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.