ADVERTISEMENT

Benevolence from a distance is 3D!

What do we learn from the way to maintain the bond with the pupils at a distance? It is by deploying a “3D” benevolence that we foster a positive relationship. But, what are these "3D"?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Even if the pandemic is not quite over, the return to class and the end of the school year which is approaching give us the desire to believe that the back and forth between distance education and school will be on hiatus. soon. However, distance education has a proven track record and some institutions will continue to offer hybrid or fully online scenarios next year.

So far, what do we learn about how to maintain a connection with students at a distance? It is by deploying a “3D” benevolence that we promote a positive relationship! What are these "3D"?

GIVE: never too much

Video links, documents to read, digital resources, tutorials, feedback, comments, tips… A student who has a well-stocked toolbox will be able to achieve goals more independently and with confidence. A student who learns outside the classroom has an advantage in knowing himself better as a learner in order to target effective methods. By having access to different content, he can test and learn how to work optimally for him. 

However, it is important to classify the resources so that they are clearly linked to the content. For example, if the lesson covers the basic sentence and you provide video links for each of the components, web pages to consult as well as interactive exercises to perform, you must ensure that each content is paired with the intended learning objective, such as locating the subject, the predicate or the complement of the sentence. How? 'Or' What? In table form, in a subcategory on the class sharing platform or in a Digipad, for example. 

DESCRIBE: Prevention is better than cure

During a coaching workshop, Marius Bourgeoys from EDU squad said: “to be clear is to be kind”. This is probably true in all contexts. Nothing is worse for a student's engagement than an imprecise or difficult to interpret instruction. 

How to make instructions clearer? For example, by providing the student with relevant references that can support him, by offering him a video instruction with a checklist or by providing instructions in writing. When students have to work on a production for several periods, it is useful to ask them to send the evolution of the production at different times in order to guide them and give them feedback. 

ASK: as a team, we go further

When you receive your invoice in a restaurant, it often contains a message inviting you to complete an online survey in order to give your opinion on the quality of the service received. Why not do the exact same thing in a school context? 

Survey your students by asking them questions such as:

  • Did you like the video I shared yesterday? Was it clear, too long, too short?
  • Is the application chosen to carry out the written production easy to use? If not, do you have another one for me?
  • What do you like to read on the web? Do you know of a good news site?
  • Which platform do you prefer between Google Forms and Quiz to perform a review? 

One of the main challenges when students are not physically in class is to foster their engagement. By giving them tools, describing their expectations and asking them for their opinion, the teacher leads them to take a more active part in their learning and thus leads them towards commitment.

Finally, benevolence is also “3D” because it is real! Students need to be put at the forefront and be an integral part of every thought and choice made by their teachers. You have to look beyond the programs, Meet / Teams / Zoom, obligations, schedules. You have to see humans who adapt and who are, all in all, quite resilient and above all wonderful.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Laurie Couture
Laurie Couture
A high school French teacher and contributor to various blogs, Laurie Couture is passionate about writing and for the innovative aspect of education: how can you change your ways of doing things to improve your method? She loves to discover, discuss and develop about convincing practices related to technologies. Using digital technology, she aspires to set up projects and documents responding to current trends and proposing new approaches.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

La bienveillance à distance, c’est 3D!

Que retenons-nous de la façon d’entretenir le lien avec les élèves à distance? C’est en déployant une bienveillance « 3D » que nous favorisons une relation positive. Mais, que sont ces « 3D »?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Même si la pandémie n’est pas tout à fait terminée, le retour en classe et la fin de l’année scolaire qui approche nous donnent le goût de croire que les allers-retours entre enseignement à distance et à l’école seront sur pause bientôt. Toutefois, l’enseignement à distance a fait ses preuves et certains établissements continueront d’offrir des scénarios hybrides ou complètement en ligne l’an prochain.

Jusqu’à maintenant, que retenons-nous de la façon d’entretenir le lien avec les élèves à distance? C’est en déployant une bienveillance « 3D » que nous favorisons une relation positive! Que sont ces « 3D »?

DONNER : jamais trop

Liens vidéos, documents à lire, ressources numériques, tutoriels, rétroaction, commentaires, astuces… Un élève qui a un coffre à outils bien garni sera en mesure d’atteindre les objectifs de façon plus autonome et en toute confiance. Un élève qui fait des apprentissages en dehors de la salle de classe a avantage à mieux se connaître comme apprenant afin de cibler des méthodes efficaces. En ayant accès à des contenus différents, il peut tester et apprendre à travailler de manière optimale pour lui. 

Il est cependant important de classer les ressources afin qu’elles soient clairement reliées aux contenus.  Par exemple, si la leçon porte sur la phrase de base et que l’on fournit des liens vidéos pour chacun des constituants, des pages Web à consulter ainsi que des exercices interactifs à réaliser, on doit s’assurer que chaque contenu soit jumelé avec l’objectif d’apprentissage visé, tels que repérer le sujet, le prédicat ou le complément de phrase. Comment? Sous forme de tableau, dans une sous-catégorie sur la plateforme de partage de classe ou dans un Digipad, par exemple. 

DÉCRIRE : mieux vaut prévenir que guérir

Lors d’un atelier de coaching, Marius Bourgeoys d’escouadeÉDU a dit : « être clair, c’est être gentil ».  C’est probablement vrai dans tous les contextes. Rien n’est pire pour l’engagement d’un élève qu’une consigne imprécise ou difficile à interpréter. 

Comment rendre une consigne plus claire? Par exemple, en offrant à l’élève des références pertinentes qui pourront l’appuyer, en lui offrant une consigne vidéo accompagnée d’une liste à cocher ou en fournissant les directives par écrit. Lorsque les élèves ont à travailler sur une production pendant plusieurs périodes, il est intéressant de leur demander d’envoyer l’évolution de celle-ci à différents moments afin de les guider et de leur offrir une rétroaction. 

DEMANDER : en équipe, on va plus loin

Quand vous recevez votre facture dans un restaurant, celle-ci contient souvent un message vous invitant à compléter un sondage en ligne afin de donner votre opinion sur la qualité du service reçu. Pourquoi ne pas faire exactement la même chose dans un contexte scolaire? 

Sondez vos élèves en leur posant des questions comme :

  • Avez-vous aimé la vidéo que j’ai partagée hier? Était-elle claire, trop longue, trop courte?
  • L’application choisie pour effectuer la production écrite est-elle facile à utiliser? Si non, en auriez-vous une autre à me proposer?
  • Qu’aimez-vous lire sur le Web? Connaissez-vous un bon site de nouvelles?
  • Quelle plateforme préférez-vous entre Google Forms et Quizziz pour effectuer une révision? 

Un des principaux défis lorsque les élèves ne sont pas physiquement en classe, c’est de favoriser leur engagement. En leur donnant des outils, en leur décrivant les attentes et en leur demandant leur avis, l’enseignant les amène à prendre part plus activement à leurs apprentissages et les conduit ainsi vers l’engagement.

Finalement, la bienveillance, c’est aussi « 3D » parce c’est réel! Les élèves ont besoin d’être mis au premier plan et de faire partie intégrante de chacune des réflexions et des choix de leurs enseignants. Il faut voir au-delà des programmes, des Meet/Teams/Zoom, des obligations, des horaires. Il faut voir les humains qui s’adaptent et qui sont, somme toute, tout à fait résilients et surtout merveilleux.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Laurie Couture
Laurie Couture
Enseignante de français au secondaire et collaboratrice sur divers blogues, Laurie Couture se passionne pour l’écriture et pour l’aspect novateur en éducation : comment peut-on modifier ses façons de faire pour améliorer sa méthode? Elle adore découvrir, discuter et développer au sujet des pratiques probantes en lien avec les technologies. À l’aide du numérique, elle aspire à mettre sur pieds des projets et des documents répondant aux tendances actuelles et proposant des approches nouvelles.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!