ADVERTISEMENT

Innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship at CréaCamp Ottawa

On February 27, the CréaCamp Ottawa was held, organized in collaboration with the CEPEO. In this first article of the series, we introduce you to Julie, Michèle and Chantale, facilitators of the workshop on the development of the entrepreneurial spirit.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

On February 27, the CréaCamp Ottawa was held, organized in collaboration with the ICE (innovation, creativity, entrepreneurship) team of the Eastern Ontario Public School Board. More than 50 education professionals of all levels from Quebec and Ontario came together to reflect, explore and deepen new pedagogical approaches.

As with all the CréaCamps of the École branchée, the participants had to make a heartbreaking choice at the start of the day among the workshops offered by the team of facilitators. This was mainly made up of pedagogical advisers and dynamic teachers from CEPEO. The École branchée had the opportunity to meet with them in order to share with you their vision of education, digital technology and innovation!

In this series of articles, we present to you the craftsmen of CréaCamp Ottawa.

The development of the entrepreneurial spirit

This workshop was led by Julie Soini and Michèle Guitard from Mille-Îles public high school as well as by Chantal Larivière, educational advisor at CEPEO. The three facilitators were accompanied by Jean-Sébastien Reid from Entrepreneurial Education Idea.

A math, science and techno teacher, Julie is passionate about pedagogy, more particularly what relates to the development of the entrepreneurial spirit and the innovative and creative integration of technologies in schools. Michèle teaches French in 7e and in 8e year and coordinates the Intermediate Education program of the International Baccalaureate.

As an educational advisor affiliated with the TacTIC team of the CFORP, Chantal supports teachers in the reflection, planning and implementation of authentic and innovative educational scenarios.

What led you to lead this workshop?

Julie: I am an entrepreneurship lead at Mille-Îles public high school. With my great colleague Michèle, in 2017-2018 we set up an entrepreneurial project across our school (for ALL students and which involves ALL staff members). We are continuing this initiative this year. I am convinced that this type of project can only benefit the students as well as the school community. 

Michele: As Julie indicated, we are really passionate about innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship. In my work as coordinator, I cannot help but see direct links with the pedagogy of the International Baccalaureate. We see how these elements can push all students, but also teachers, to surpass themselves. In addition, it was a first for me - animation for colleagues - therefore, a great coaching experience for me!

Chantal:  As an educational advisor in Innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship, my role is to support the various initiatives of the schools of the council. This day allowed me to showcase the winning practices of my co-facilitators Michèle and Julie.

What is most important to remember in developing the entrepreneurial spirit?

Julie: To truly motivate students to engage and undertake, the coach must be an active participant and learner, just like the student.

Michele: The pupil must remain at the center of the learning - it is tempting as an adult to lead and impose our ideas. At the same time, it is certain that we must be there to guide, encourage and motivate the students. The line is fine and that is why teachers really need to develop their coaching skills.

Chantal: We are moving from pedagogy to eutagogy, that is to say knowing how to learn. The child becomes aware of the learning process, in particular to develop his motivation, his perseverance, his resilience and his self-regulation.

What qualities are we trying to develop in students?

Julie: Commitment, open-mindedness and critical thinking. Help the student to get involved in his community, to understand the differences and to analyze the information bombarded by social media.

Michele: To use the qualities of the IB learner, I believe that the entrepreneurial spirit allows students to be sensible, open-minded and altruistic (especially when projects are community-based).

Chantal: Become engaged and responsible citizens! Students act and make responsible decisions that support quality of life for all, now and in the future.

What is the role of the teacher in an entrepreneurial pedagogy?

Julie: He is a COACH and also a learner. The teacher must get involved in motivating his students, but also in getting involved in one or more projects.

Michele: As a coach, the teacher is called upon to motivate and guide the student. It is certain that the student sometimes needs limits and must respect protocols (I am thinking, among other things, of fundraising campaigns). The coach is there to give him the necessary tools, to allow him to make reasonable tests and to encourage him.

Chantal:  The teacher's role is then focused on supporting the learner - she / he becomes a facilitator who monitors what the students are doing and who intervenes by questioning. This way of doing things encourages autonomy and more in-depth learning.

What did you take away from your experience as a facilitator at CréaCamp?

Julie: I enjoyed learning so much that there were other teachers who share our passion and who see the importance of developing an entrepreneurial spirit. I enjoyed the sharing of ideas and successes from the participants so much.

Michele: It's always interesting to see what the other teachers have experienced - both the participants and the other facilitators. The CréaCamp allowed me to recharge my batteries, to re-energize myself, because when you see that a variety of educators share the same vision, it's motivating!

Chantal: This second experience confirms to me that I want to experience a CréaCamp as a participant. These working sessions allow us to take a break and reflect on our teaching practices, to redefine it and to propel it further.

What is your educational crush?

Julie: My favorite was the video of the group that presented the workshop Inquiry and gamification learning. Very cool! The idea of " pitches " has created a lot of anxiety in me, but I love this format!

Michele: I really appreciated the École branchée team and the CréaCamp format. I find it FANTASTIC to allow teachers to discover something and to give them TIME to explore, innovate, reflect, create… It is a format that I did not know at all!

Chantal: For me, this is the atmosphere felt during a CréaCamp. At the beginning, the pedagogues are rather confused because they do not know the formula. Thereafter, it is the craze. They dive, they explore and they create educational scenarios. Finally, it is the boost of energy. They leave excited and proud of their career path. In addition, the CréaCamp format recognizes and highlights the skills of teachers who work in their classrooms every day. 

To learn more about entrepreneurial education and inspire you, here are two very interesting sites: Undertake this is learn and Quebec Network of Entrepreneurial and Environmental Schools (RQEEE). You can also read the article in Entrepreneurial Education Idea by Jean-Sébastien Reid, 7 reasons to become an entrepreneur at school.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane is the editor of the École branchée online news feed. She has a bachelor's degree in international relations from the University of British Columbia as well as a master's degree in intercultural mediation from the University of Sherbrooke. She also acts as a communications advisor for the organization Idée Éducation entrepreneuriale.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Innovation, créativité et entrepreneuriat au CréaCamp Ottawa

0

Le 27 février dernier se tenait le CréaCamp Ottawa organisé en collaboration avec l’équipe ICE (innovation, créativité, entrepreneuriat) du Conseil des écoles publiques de l’Est-ontarien. Plus de 50 professionnels de l’éducation de tous les niveaux provenant du Québec et de l’Ontario se sont réunis pour réfléchir, explorer et approfondir de nouvelles approches pédagogiques.

Comme à tous les CréaCamps de l’École branchée, les participants devaient faire un choix déchirant en début de journée parmi les ateliers proposés par l’équipe de facilitateurs. Celle-ci était majoritairement constituée de conseillers pédagogiques et d’enseignants dynamiques du CEPEO. L’École branchée a eu l’opportunité de s’entretenir avec eux afin de vous partager leur vision de la pédagogie, du numérique et de l’innovation!

Dans cette série d’articles, nous vous présentons les artisans du CréaCamp Ottawa.

Le développement de l’esprit entrepreneurial

Cet atelier était animé par Julie Soini et Michèle Guitard de l’école secondaire publique Mille-Îles ainsi que par Chantal Larivière, conseillère pédagogique au CEPEO. Les trois facilitatrices étaient accompagnées de Jean-Sébastien Reid d’Idée éducation entrepreneuriale.

Enseignante de maths, sciences et techno, Julie est passionnée de pédagogie, plus particulièrement ce qui touche au développement de l’esprit entrepreneurial et à l’intégration novatrice et créative des technologies en milieu scolaire. Michèle enseigne le français en 7e et en 8e année et coordonne le programme d’éducation intermédiaire du Baccalauréat international.

En tant que conseillère pédagogique affiliée à l’équipe TacTIC du CFORP, Chantal accompagne les enseignants dans la réflexion, la planification et la mise en œuvre de scénarios pédagogiques authentiques et innovants.

Qu’est-ce qui vous a mené à animer cet atelier?

Julie : Je suis lead en entrepreneuriat à l’école secondaire publique Mille-Îles.  Avec ma super collègue Michèle, nous avons mis en place en 2017-2018 un projet entrepreneurial à la grandeur de notre école (pour TOUS les élèves et qui implique TOUS les membres du personnel).  Nous poursuivons cette initiative cette année.  Je suis convaincue que ce type de projet ne peut que bénéficier les élèves ainsi que la communauté scolaire. 

Michèle : Comme Julie a indiqué, nous sommes vraiment passionnées par l’innovation, la créativité et l’entrepreneuriat. Dans mon travail de coordonnatrice, je ne peux m’empêcher de voir des liens directs avec la pédagogie du Baccalauréat international. Nous voyons comment ces éléments peuvent pousser tous les élèves, mais aussi les enseignants, à se dépasser. En plus, c’était une première pour moi – de l’animation pour des collègues – donc, une belle expérience de coaching pour moi!

Chantal :  Étant conseillère pédagogique en Innovation, créativité et entrepreneuriat, mon rôle est d’appuyer les différentes initiatives des écoles du conseil.  Cette journée m’a permis de faire rayonner les pratiques gagnantes de mes co-facilitatrices Michèle et Julie.

Qu’est-ce qui est le plus important à retenir dans le développement de l’esprit entrepreneurial?

Julie : Pour vraiment motiver les élèves à s’engager et à s’entreprendre, le coach doit être un participant et apprenant actif, tout comme l’élève.

Michèle : L’élève doit rester au centre de l’apprentissage – c’est tentant comme adulte de mener et d’imposer nos idées. En même temps, c’est certain qu’on doit être là pour guider, encourager et motiver les élèves. La ligne est fine et c’est pour cela que les enseignants doivent réellement développer leurs habiletés de coaching.

Chantal : Nous passons de la pédagogie à l’heutagogie, c’est-à-dire savoir comment apprendre. L’enfant prend conscience du processus d’apprentissage, notamment pour développer sa motivation, sa persévérance, sa résilience et son autorégulation.

Quelles sont les qualités que l’on cherche à développer chez les élèves?

Julie : L’engagement, l’ouverture d’esprit et l’esprit critique. Aider l’élève à s’impliquer dans sa communauté, à bien vouloir comprendre les différences et à bien analyser les informations qui lui sont bombardées par les médias sociaux.

Michèle : Pour reprendre les qualités de l’apprenant du BI, je pense que l’esprit entrepreneurial permet aux élèves d’être sensés, ouverts d’esprit et altruistes (particulièrement lorsque les projets sont axés sur les communautés).

Chantal : Devenir des citoyennes et des citoyens engagés et responsables! Les élèves agissent et prennent des décisions responsables qui appuient la qualité de vie de tous, pour maintenant et pour l’avenir.

Quel est le rôle de l’enseignant dans une pédagogie entrepreneuriale?

Julie : Il est COACH et aussi apprenant. L’enseignant doit s’impliquer à motiver ses élèves, mais aussi à s’engager lui-même dans un ou des projets.

Michèle : En tant que coach, l’enseignant est appelé à motiver et à guider l’élève. C’est certain que l’élève a parfois besoin de limites et doit respecter des protocoles (je pense entre autres, aux campagnes de financement). Le coach est là pour lui donner les outils nécessaires, lui permettre de faire des essais raisonnables et de l’encourager.

Chantal :  Le rôle de l’enseignant(e) est alors axé sur l’accompagnement de l’apprenant –elle/ il devient une facilitatrice/facilitateur qui surveille ce que les élèves font et qui intervient par questionnement. Cette façon de faire encourage l’autonomie et un apprentissage plus en profondeur.

Qu’est-ce que vous retenez de votre expérience de facilitateur au CréaCamp?

Julie : J’ai tellement aimé apprendre qu’il y avait d’autres enseignants qui partagent notre passion et qui voient l’importance du développement de l’esprit entrepreneurial. J’ai tellement apprécié le partage d’idées et de bons coups des participants.

Michèle : C’est toujours intéressant de voir ce que les autres enseignants ont vécu comme expérience – autant les participants que les autres facilitateurs. Le CréaCamp m’a permis de me ressourcer, de me ré-énergiser, car quand on voit qu’une variété de pédagogues partagent la même vision, c’est motivant!

Chantal : Cette deuxième expérience me confirme que je désire vivre un CréaCamp en tant que participante.  Ces sessions de travail permettent de prendre une pause et de réfléchir sur nos pratiques pédagogiques, de la redéfinir et de la propulser plus loin.

Quel est votre coup de cœur pédagogique?

Julie : Mon coup de cœur a vraiment été la vidéo du groupe qui présentait l’atelier Apprentissage par enquête et ludification. Trop cool! L’idée des « pitchs » m’a créé beaucoup d’anxiété, mais j’adore ce format!

Michèle : J’ai bien apprécié l’équipe de l’École branchée et le format du CréaCamp. Je trouve que c’est FANTASTIQUE de permettre aux enseignants de découvrir quelque chose et de leur donner du TEMPS pour explorer, innover, réfléchir, créer… C’est un format que je ne connaissais pas du tout!

Chantal : Pour moi, c’est l’ambiance ressentie lors d’un CréaCamp. Au début, les pédagogues sont plutôt confus parce qu’ils ne connaissent pas la formule.  Par la suite, c’est l’engouement.  Ils plongent, ils explorent et ils créent des scénarios pédagogiques.  Finalement, c’est le regain d’énergie. Ils quittent emballés et fiers de leur cheminement professionnel. De plus, le format CréaCamp permet de reconnaître et de mettre en valeur les compétences des enseignantes et des enseignants qui œuvrent tous les jours dans leur salle de classe. 

Pour en apprendre plus sur l’éducation entrepreneuriale et vous inspirer, voici deux sites forts intéressants: Entreprendre c’est apprendre et Réseau québécois des écoles entrepreneuriales et environnementales (RQEEE). Vous pouvez aussi lire l’article de Idée éducation entrepreneuriale de Jean-Sébastien Reid, 7 raisons pour faire de l’entrepreneuriat à l’école.

Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :