ADVERTISEMENT

Google Lens: the digital Swiss army knife

The Google Lens app is particularly powerful, but often overlooked. Thanks to it, Google's artificial intelligence manages, for example, to translate, read and copy text or search for information about objects placed under the eye of the camera of the mobile device on which it is installed. Here are some ideas for educational exploitation.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Launched in 2017, the Google Lens app is increasing its functionality year after year. When you install it on your mobile device (such as a cell phone), Google's artificial intelligence manages to translate text, identify or search for information about objects placed under the eye of the camera. Here are some educational possibilities to explore with the students. 

Identify

Imagine a school trip to a park. On a leaf, a caterpillar is basking in the sun, to the delight of the students. One of them points his mobile device at the beautiful stranger and says "This is a future Viceroy!" ". Google Lens can indeed, as long as the mobile device is connected to the Internet, identify an animal or plant species in 1 second. Some animals can even be viewed in augmented reality, which makes the outdoor classroom all the more interesting!

Know

A school group takes part in a historic rally in Old Quebec. In front of the Notre-Dame-des-Victoires church, students point a phone or tablet at the facade of the building in order to know its name, its history and possibly other relevant information about its neighborhood. This feature makes it possible to push back the limits of school outings, rallies, treasure hunts and other “life-size” educational escape games.

Translate

Still using the camera, Lens can translate a menu, a sign or a text written in a foreign language. The application also reads text in audio (ideal for working on pronunciation). It is even possible to obtain the definition of a word or information on a concept simply by touching the screen, which is very useful in a second language class or in an immersion situation. This feature is available offline by downloading the desired languages.

To copy

Remotely, a student would like to copy text presented in screen sharing for a work? Did someone else not have time to write down your instructions on the board? Like a digitizer, Lens recognizes text (yes, even handwritten!) And copies it to a Google Document.  

Other tools

Google Lens can perform more common tasks like reading QR codes and other bar codes.

Ad last spring, a "Homework" addition may soon solve mathematical problems, not only by giving the answer, but also by producing all the steps of the process.

Augmented reality will also support the learning of scientific concepts, for example, by visualizing the configuration of molecules in 3D when the chemical formula is scanned beforehand. In the context of distance education, this option could help students who have access to little support.

As we have seen, the educational potential of Google Lens, whether for new learning or to support students in difficulty, really needs to be exploited. 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe laurendeau
For 25 years, the biologist, teacher, educational advisor and now technopedagogue has accumulated a rich and diversified experience in education. In her texts, Phylippe uses her background and her passion for digital resources, efficient practices and distance learning.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Google Lens : le couteau suisse numérique

L'application Google Lens est particulièrement puissante, mais souvent méconnue. Grâce à elle, l’intelligence artificielle de Google arrive par exemple à traduire, lire et copier du texte ou rechercher de l’information à propos des objets placés sous l'oeil de la caméra de l'appareil mobile sur lequel elle est installée. Voici des idées d'exploitation pédagogique.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Lancée en 2017, l’application Google Lens augmente ses fonctionnalités d’année en année. Lorsqu’on l’installe sur son appareil mobile (comme un cellulaire), l’intelligence artificielle de Google arrive à traduire du texte, identifier ou rechercher de l’information à propos des objets placés sous l’oeil de la caméra. Voici quelques possibilités pédagogiques à explorer avec les élèves. 

Identifier

Imaginez une sortie scolaire dans un parc. Sur une feuille, une chenille se fait dorer au soleil, au grand plaisir des élèves. L’un d’entre eux pointe son appareil mobile vers la belle inconnue et lance « Il s’agit d’un futur Vice-roi! ». Google Lens peut en effet, pour autant que l’appareil mobile soit connecté à Internet, identifier une espèce animale ou végétale en 1 seconde. Certains animaux peuvent même être visualisés en réalité augmentée, ce qui rend la classe extérieure d’autant plus intéressante!

Connaître

Un groupe scolaire participe à un rallye historique dans le Vieux-Québec. Devant l’église Notre-Dame-des-Victoires, des élèves pointent un téléphone ou une tablette sur la façade de l’édifice afin de connaître son nom, son histoire et possiblement d’autres informations pertinentes sur son quartier. Cette fonctionnalité permet de repousser les limites des sorties scolaires, rallyes, chasses au trésor et autres jeux d’évasion pédagogiques « grandeur nature ».

Traduire

Toujours à l’aide de la caméra, Lens peut traduire un menu, un panneau indicateur ou un texte écrit dans une langue étrangère. L’application fait également la lecture de texte en audio (idéal pour travailler la prononciation). Il est même possible d’obtenir la définition d’un mot ou de l’information sur un concept simplement en touchant l’écran, très utile en classe de langue seconde ou en situation d’immersion. Cette fonctionnalité est disponible hors ligne en téléchargeant les langues souhaitées.

Copier

À distance, un élève voudrait copier du texte présenté en partage d’écran pour un travail? Un autre n’a pas eu le temps de prendre en note vos indications au tableau? À la manière d’un numériseur, Lens reconnaît le texte (oui, même manuscrit!) et le copie dans un Google Document.  

Autres outils

Google Lens peut effectuer des tâches plus communes comme lire les codes QR et autres codes barres.

Annoncé au printemps dernier, un ajout « Homework » pourra bientôt résoudre des problèmes mathématiques, non seulement en donnant la réponse, mais également en produisant toutes les étapes de la démarche.

La réalité augmentée permettra également de soutenir l’apprentissage de concepts scientifiques, par exemple, en visualisant la configuration de molécules en 3D lorsque la formule chimique est numérisée au préalable. Dans le contexte d’enseignement à distance, cette option pourrait aider des élèves qui ont accès à peu de soutien.

Comme on l’a vu, le potentiel pédagogique de Google Lens, que ce soit pour faire de nouveaux apprentissages ou pour soutenir les élèves en difficulté, gagne vraiment à être exploité. 

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe Laurendeau
Depuis 25 ans, le biologiste, enseignant, conseiller pédagogique et maintenant technopédagogue a accumulé une expérience riche et diversifiée en éducation. Dans ses textes, Phylippe met à profit son bagage et sa passion pour les ressources numériques, les pratiques efficaces et la formation à distance.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :