Preschool and Elementary Teacher Training - An Innovative Partnership to Address the Labor Shortage

In order to counter the shortage of manpower among preschool and elementary school teachers, the Université TÉLUQ and the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR) are concluding a framework agreement to find solutions aimed at the development of skills of those who already have a bachelor's degree and who wish to obtain a diploma that will pave the way for a career in teaching.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

QUÉBEC, May 27, 2020 / CNW Telbec / - In order to counter the shortage of manpower among preschool and elementary school teachers, theTELUQ University and theUniversity of Quebec at Trois-Rivières (UQTR) enter into a framework agreement to find solutions aimed at developing the skills of people who already have a bachelor's degree and who wish to obtain a diploma paving the way for a career in teaching. What is more, these two constituents of the UQ network have vast expertise in the field of distance education.

TELUQ University, through the offer of the Specialized Graduate Diploma (DESS) in preschool and primary education, and UQTR, with its know-how and experience in training giving access to the teaching certificate of which master's degree in secondary education, are joining forces within the framework of an innovative partnership. This agreement is one of the new projects funded in the fall of 2019 by the Ministry of Education and Higher Education (MEES). It mobilizes the expertise of the two universities in order to collaborate in the development of a second cycle degree program which will be offered at a distance.

“This DESS aims to support non-legally qualified teachers so that they acquire, in particular, the tools to put in place the most effective teaching strategies in their class in order to guarantee students a quality education. The implementation of this program represents a first step towards offering a qualifying master's degree in preschool and elementary education throughout Quebec. Based on the formula validated at the Marguerite-Bourgeoys School Board as part of a pilot project, this master's program will be based on the establishment of partnerships with practice settings to allow large-scale deployment, ”explains Marc. -André Carle, director of teaching and research at TELUQ University.

For his part, Adel Omar Dahmane, dean of studies at the University of Quebec at Trois-Rivières, mentions that “this new program will allow eligible candidates to access a career in teaching more quickly and thus meet the needs that arise. are increasingly urgent in many schools in Quebec. For UQTR, it could also constitute a first step towards the development of a second cycle program intended to train preschool and primary teachers ”.

The University of Quebec at Trois-Rivières

The Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, a member of the Université du Québec network, was created on March 19, 1969. The UQTR campus today includes more than fifteen welcoming buildings, each year, nearly 14,500 students, more than half of whom come from other regions of Quebec.

TELUQ University

Founded in 1972 to make knowledge accessible, TÉLUQ is the only French-speaking university in North America to offer all of its programs at a distance. Each year, nearly 20,000 people choose the flexibility of TELUQ University for their university studies, from 1er to 3e cycle.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Formation des enseignants au préscolaire et au primaire – Partenariat novateur pour contrer la pénurie de main-d’œuvre

Afin de contrer la pénurie de main-d'œuvre chez les enseignants au préscolaire et au primaire, l'Université TÉLUQ et l'Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR) concluent un accord-cadre pour trouver des solutions visant le développement des compétences des personnes ayant déjà un baccalauréat et qui désirent obtenir un diplôme leur ouvrant la voie vers une carrière en enseignement.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

QUÉBEC, le 27 mai 2020 /CNW Telbec/ – Afin de contrer la pénurie de main-d’œuvre chez les enseignants au préscolaire et au primaire, l’Université TÉLUQ et l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR) concluent un accord-cadre pour trouver des solutions visant le développement des compétences des personnes ayant déjà un baccalauréat et qui désirent obtenir un diplôme leur ouvrant la voie vers une carrière en enseignement. Qui plus est, ces deux constituantes du réseau de l’UQ possèdent une vaste expertise dans le domaine de la formation à distance.

L’Université TÉLUQ, par l’offre du diplôme d’études supérieures spécialisées (DESS) en éducation préscolaire et enseignement primaire, et l’UQTR, avec son savoir-faire et son expérience dans la formation donnant accès au brevet d’enseignement dont la maîtrise en enseignement au secondaire, s’associent dans le cadre d’un partenariat novateur. Cette entente fait partie des projets inédits financés à l’automne 2019 par le ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur (MEES). Elle mobilise les expertises des deux universités afin de collaborer au développement d’un programme de grade de deuxième cycle qui sera offert à distance.

« Ce DESS vise à soutenir les enseignants non légalement qualifiés pour qu’ils acquièrent, notamment, les outils pour mettre en place les stratégies pédagogiques les plus efficaces dans leur classe afin de garantir aux élèves un enseignement de qualité. La mise en place de ce programme représente une première étape vers l’offre d’une maîtrise qualifiante en éducation préscolaire et en enseignement primaire sur tout le territoire québécois. Sur la base de la formule validée à la Commission scolaire Marguerite-Bourgeoys dans le cadre d’un projet pilote, ce programme de maîtrise reposera sur l’instauration de partenariats avec les milieux de pratique pour permettre un déploiement à large échelle », explique Marc-André Carle, directeur de l’enseignement et de la recherche à l’Université TÉLUQ.

Pour sa part, Adel Omar Dahmane, doyen des études à l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, mentionne que « ce nouveau programme permettra aux candidats admissibles d’accéder plus rapidement à une carrière en enseignement et ainsi de répondre aux besoins qui se font de plus en plus urgents dans de nombreuses écoles du Québec. Pour l’UQTR, il pourrait également constituer un premier pas vers le développement d’un programme de deuxième cycle destiné à former des enseignants au préscolaire et au primaire ».

L’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières

L’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, membre du réseau de l’Université du Québec, a été créée le 19 mars 1969. Le campus de l’UQTR regroupe aujourd’hui au-delà d’une quinzaine d’édifices accueillant, chaque année, près de 14 500 étudiants dont plus de la moitié provient d’autres régions du Québec.

L’Université TÉLUQ

Créée en 1972 afin de rendre le savoir accessible, la TÉLUQ est la seule université francophone en Amérique du Nord à offrir tous ses programmes à distance. Chaque année, près de 20 000 personnes choisissent la flexibilité de l’Université TÉLUQ pour y faire leurs études universitaires, du 1er au 3e cycle.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Nos prochaines formations en direct