It's the end for Carrefour education

The Carrefour education website will be inactive as of July 30. The Quebec Ministry of Education (MEQ) recently announced that its content will be transferred to the new open school platform. For Quebec schools, this is the end of an era.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The Carrefour education website will be inactive as of July 30. The Quebec Ministry of Education (MEQ) recently announced that its content will be transferred to the new open school platform. For Quebec schools, this is the end of an era.

The history of Carrefour education started in 1998, when the MEQ gave Télé-Québec the mandate to develop a "crossroads of French-language educational resources available on the Internet". The objective was then to "promote the pedagogical integration of information and communication technologies (ICT) in preschool education and in primary and secondary education".

The first version of the Carrefour education site was put online in the fall of 1999. Then, a first major overhaul took place in 2002.

In 2006, responsibility for Carrefour education was transferred from Télé-Québec to GRICS by the Ministère de l'Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport. The mandate was then "to continue the development and deployment of Carrefour education and to update its mission and objectives". Following another major overhaul, the third version of Carrefour education was put online in the spring of 2009.

Over time, Carrefour education had become the benchmark for commented websites to help teachers locate free, relevant and validated resources to facilitate and enrich the development of students' skills. Thematic files and news articles (several of which in partnership with École branchée) were also published regularly.

“In addition to its little orange owl, I would like people to remember this special relationship between Carrefour education and the world of education in Quebec. The team has changed over time, but has always been driven by the same passion to enrich and facilitate the work of education stakeholders, for the benefit of young people ”, wrote Phylippe laurendeau, current editor of Carrefour education, in a recent newsletter. 

For her part, Julie Couture, technopedagogue and editor at Carrefour education, wrote : “This past year will have demonstrated the importance of supporting them on a daily basis in order to offer resources adapted to the reality experienced by those working in the school network. The rest of the journey will be aboard a new plane, the Open School. As the education environment is constantly evolving and digital educational resources on the increase, the grouping will facilitate access to teachers ”. 

Indeed, according to the ad done on 1er June 2021, the content of Carrefour education will be transferred to open school. No timeline has yet been announced. Put online to provide a showcase for digital educational resources during the pandemic, the Open School was primarily intended for parents. A Teacher space has since been added and the desire of the Ministry of Education now seems to make this portal the new national platform for educational resources.

The link with École branchée

The stories of École branchée and Carrefour education are closely linked. In fact, from the start in 1999, several articles from the École branchée news feed, which was then called Infobourg, were published on the site.

Source: Internet Archive Wayback Machine 

“I grew up professionally alongside the Carrefour education team,” says École branchée general manager Audrey Miller. “In 1999, the home page of Carrefour education was already broadcasting Infobourg news! Throughout the 2000s, I learned a lot thanks to André Cotte, a veteran of digital education, with whom I co-edited the news and files published jointly by Infobourg and Carrefour Éducation. " 

Over time, the relationship between the two organizations continued. “I have fond memories of several people who worked at Carrefour and with whom I worked more closely, such as Julie Beaupré, Joanne Tremblay, Mélanie Luneau, the pair Johanne Duguay and Anne-Marie Legault, then Phylippe Laurendeau. It must be said that when I took the mandate to relaunch École branchée in 2012, Carrefour education was its main partner… and its only source of income! The relationship between our two organizations is part of who we are today. It is a great upheaval to see this page of history turn, ”says École branchée general manager Audrey Miller, who says she is ready to collaborate with the team that will take over.

Testimonials

Following the announcement of the closure of the Carrefour education site, several testimonies were published on social networks.

“… I don't have the impression of having been there for Carrefour, but rather of having been supported by Carrefour education throughout my teaching career in elementary, preschool, then college. […] I have become not only a better teacher, but also a more creative person ”. 
Anik Routhier, content creation collaborator from 2000 to 2021 

“Over the years, inspiring people […] have led Carrefour education to become a major source of information and support for teaching and learning. "
Colette Angers, associate from 2004 to 2021

“Dear Carrefour education, […] I am sad that you are leaving. But I will keep the memory that you were for me a motivating work environment, a place of learning, and above all a support tool in my daily practice. "
Jérémy Van Ranst, edimester from 2015 to 2020

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

C’est la fin pour Carrefour éducation

Le site Web Carrefour éducation sera inactif à partir du 30 juillet prochain. Le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec (MEQ) a annoncé récemment que son contenu sera transféré sur la nouvelle plateforme éducative l’École ouverte. Pour le milieu scolaire québécois, il s’agit de la fin d’une époque.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Le site Web Carrefour éducation sera inactif à partir du 30 juillet prochain. Le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec (MEQ) a annoncé récemment que son contenu sera transféré sur la nouvelle plateforme éducative l’École ouverte. Pour le milieu scolaire québécois, il s’agit de la fin d’une époque.

L’histoire de Carrefour éducation a débuté en 1998 alors que le MEQ avait confié à Télé-Québec le mandat de développer un « carrefour des ressources éducatives francophones offertes sur Internet ». L’objectif était alors de « favoriser l’intégration pédagogique des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) à l’éducation préscolaire et à l’enseignement primaire et secondaire ».

La première version du site de Carrefour éducation avait été mise en ligne à l’automne 1999. Puis, une première refonte majeure avait eu lieu en 2002.

En 2006, la responsabilité de Carrefour éducation a été transférée de Télé-Québec vers la GRICS par le ministère de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport. Le mandat était alors « de poursuivre le développement et le déploiement de Carrefour éducation et d’actualiser sa mission et ses objectifs ». À la suite d’une autre refonte majeure, la troisième version de Carrefour éducation était mise en ligne au printemps 2009.

Avec le temps, Carrefour éducation était devenu la référence en matière de sites Web commentés pour aider les enseignants à repérer des ressources gratuites, pertinentes et validées pour faciliter et enrichir le développement des compétences des élèves. Des dossiers thématiques et des articles d’actualité (dont plusieurs en partenariat avec l’École branchée) étaient aussi publiés régulièrement.

« Outre son petit hibou orangé, j’aimerais qu’on se souvienne de cette relation privilégiée entre Carrefour éducation et le monde de l’éducation québécois. L’équipe a changé au fil du temps, mais a toujours été animée de la même passion d’enrichir et de faciliter le travail des intervenants de l’éducation, et ce, pour le bien des jeunes », a écrit Phylippe Laurendeau, actuel édimestre de Carrefour éducation, dans une récente infolettre. 

Pour sa part, Julie Couture, technopédagogue et édimestre à Carrefour éducation, écrivait : « Cette dernière année aura démontré l’importance de les épauler au quotidien afin d’offrir des ressources adaptées à la réalité vécue par les intervenants du réseau scolaire. La suite du périple se fera à bord d’un nouvel avion, l’École ouverte. Le milieu de l’éducation étant en constante évolution et les ressources éducatives numériques en augmentation, le regroupement facilitera l’accès aux enseignants ». 

En effet, selon l’annonce faite le 1er juin 2021, les contenus de Carrefour éducation seront transférés vers l’École ouverte. Aucun échéancier n’a été annoncé pour le moment. Mis en ligne afin d’offrir une vitrine aux ressources éducatives numériques pendant la pandémie, l’École ouverte était d’abord destinée aux parents. Un espace Enseignant a depuis été ajouté et la volonté du ministère de l’Éducation semble désormais de faire de ce portail la nouvelle plateforme nationale de ressources éducatives.

Le lien avec l’École branchée

Les histoires de l’École branchée et de Carrefour éducation sont intimement liées. En effet, dès le début en 1999, plusieurs articles du fil de nouvelles de l’École branchée, qui s’appelait alors l’Infobourg, sont repris sur le site.

Source : Internet Archive Wayback Machine 

« J’ai grandi professionnellement aux côtés de l’équipe de Carrefour éducation », raconte la directrice générale de l’École branchée, Audrey Miller. « En 1999, la page d’accueil de Carrefour éducation diffusait déjà les nouvelles de l’Infobourg! Tout au long des années 2000, j’ai appris énormément grâce à André Cotte, un vétéran du numérique éducatif, avec qui je coéditais les nouvelles et dossiers publiés conjointement par Infobourg et Carrefour Éducation. » 

Avec le temps, la relation entre les deux organismes s’est poursuivie. « J’ai de bons souvenirs de plusieurs personnes qui ont oeuvré à Carrefour et avec qui j’ai travaillé de plus près, comme Julie Beaupré, Joanne Tremblay, Mélanie Luneau, le tandem Johanne Duguay et Anne-Marie Legault, puis Phylippe Laurendeau. Il faut dire que lorsque j’ai pris le mandat de relancer l’École branchée en 2012, Carrefour éducation était son partenaire principal… et sa seule source de revenu! La relation entre nos deux organisations fait partie de ce que nous sommes aujourd’hui. C’est un grand bouleversement de voir cette page d’histoire se tourner », raconte la directrice générale de l’École branchée, Audrey Miller, qui se dit prête à collaborer avec l’équipe qui prendra le relais.

Des témoignages

À la suite de l’annonce de la fermeture du site de Carrefour éducation, plusieurs témoignages ont été publiés sur les réseaux sociaux.

« … je n’ai pas l’impression d’avoir été là pour Carrefour, mais plutôt d’avoir été accompagnée par Carrefour éducation tout au long de ma carrière d’enseignante au primaire, au préscolaire, puis au collégial. […] je suis devenue non seulement une meilleure pédagogue, mais aussi une personne plus créative ». 
Anik Routhier, collaboratrice à la création de contenu de 2000 à 2021 

« Au fil des ans, des personnes inspirantes […] ont amené Carrefour éducation à devenir une source majeure d’information et de soutien pour l’enseignement et l’apprentissage. »
Colette Angers, collaboratrice de 2004 à 2021

« Cher Carrefour éducation, […] je suis triste que tu t’en ailles. Mais je garderai le souvenir que tu fus pour moi un milieu de travail motivant, un endroit d’apprentissage, et surtout un outil d’aide dans ma pratique au quotidien. »
Jérémy Van Ranst, édimestre de 2015 à 2020

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct