ADVERTISEMENT

Distance teaching in the 1st cycle of elementary school (part 1)

How to make the online class motivating, to keep the attention of the youngest students and to make learning more active and engaging? Catherine Lapointe, 2nd year teacher, presents her experience.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Catherine Lapointe, with the collaboration of Martine Rioux

Distance education is a challenge for everyone, but the task is all the more complex with the youngest. How to make the online class motivating, to keep students' attention and make learning more active and engaging? Two elementary school teachers shared their advice with us. First, here are those of Catherine Lapointe, teacher in 2e year at the Campanile school (CSS des Découvreurs).

“Despite all the tips we can put in place, nothing will replace face-to-face teaching. Online education is an emergency practice in a pandemic context. It is not ideal. It is not natural. It is not easy, neither for the teachers, nor for the pupils, nor for the parents. Student motivation weakens everywhere when the novelty effect disappears. You have to constantly reinvent yourself. I still enjoy seeing my students. I find them good and committed. Solidarity and positive ”, wishes to clarify Catherine. 

Maintaining the link = ESSENTIAL

  • Allow students to arrive 5 minutes ahead of time. They chat, they present to each other toys, growing seeds, etc. It is perfect for maintaining a sense of belonging. It's like the 5 minutes before the bell rings. This also allows you to start on time for optimize the time allocated for teaching, because we are within the minimum thresholds then we are far from 5 hours of classroom instruction.
  • Greeting students by greeting them one by one. “We have a new student this morning. Margot's cat! "" I love the frame behind you Jules. »« You seem asleep Milo. It's okay? " 
  • Export the class climate and laugh. Jokes are not incidental to demonstrate our pleasure in being with them and to offer authentic teaching. A colleague even dressed up as a banana, others added a thematic day or a false substitute (dressing up).

The online class

  • Share your screen to help students find their bearings. Post the date or a calendar with the material to be taken out 5 minutes before class time. Visual support remains essential, even if it requires more planning and time. 
  • Get the students moving spelling out the words of the week. Active version: Jumping word, boxing words, dancing rope. Quiet, non-noisy version (for telecommuting parents or simultaneous distance learning siblings): just type gently in their hand or trace the letters in the air. 
  • Facilitate speaking. With the little ones, the option of raising their hand with the hand button is not easy (they look for it, they forget to remove it). Provide a small card / tablet with a question mark that the students can physically show on the screen when they want to speak. A reversible green and red patch can also be used to answer a yes or no question or to vote.
  • Opt for positive reinforcement. Instead of repeating over and over "Turn off your microphones", say "Thank you guys who leave their microphone off". It's simple, but effective.
  • Correct in a picture! An effective way to correct the phrase of the day or a math problem is to have students bring their erasable boards up to the camera and make a screenshot. It is then possible to review the photo and make audio or written feedback to some students afterwards or to the whole group. 
  • Keep some "candy" moments. Observe every day a false animal egg in a jar of water which cracks over time (way of introducing the oviparas) and buds. A time to present their kitty, their little sister, their LEGO or their father in pajamas!
  • Do not give homework. It is unrealistic and unnecessary. 

Consistency is reassuring

  • Use the same tools than in the classroom. Eg. : the stopwatch to locate in time, quiet music while waiting for everyone to enter the room.
  • Keep certain rituals. A song, a riddle of the day, rebuses, a photo, a riddle. Ritual also in the structure of the course. 
  • Make reading a ritual. To keep young readers awake. To allow them to share emotions, to make connections. Reading sharing is essential to maintain interest in reading at home. For example, share a crush every Friday.

Autonomy above all

  • Give each other clear goals. The little ones need it, if they want to gain autonomy. Explain and submit each day a list of independent work that they can tick themselves. This makes it possible to see the commitment of each one. 
  • Add pictograms everywhere. The little ones need it to find their way around and become more independent.
  • Also bet on a free project where the student chooses what he wants to create / present. Think of simple projects that he can do on his own, without the help of the parents: a children's project, for the children, made by the children. You can't ask the parent to do more. Some are single parents, have several children, few digital tools. 
  • Leave the choice of how to communicate : register, write, take a photo. 

Off screens

  • Allow time to play outside in the schedule. Twice a day and offer challenges outdoor educational programs to reduce the time spent on screens: create a mathematical hopscotch, count the birds.
  • Balance work plan tasks so that it is not fair with a digital tool. Some have to share with their brothers / sisters.

Kindness in relationships

  • Keep one word in mind: INDULGENCE
    • Towards the students: they are not all entitled to the same teaching conditions, some have obsolete devices, others make their Meet through noise, others go to the emergency childcare service.
    • Towards parents: they have a lot of responsibilities, not always means, not really time, their worries, their anxieties. 
    • Towards us teachers: take care of yourself and write it on a post-it that we keep not far away to remember it! 
  • Differentiate from parents by learning to " read »families with kindness, to better support them and know how to refer vulnerable families to the right person (TES, psychologist, management, etc.). 

When I teach my 22 students, 22 to 44 parents listen to me and watch me. - Catherine Lapointe

  • Communicate formally and predictably with parents once a week to give them the schedule for the week and give them the pulse of the class, tell them not to give up, to do what they can, that I am there and that it is my role to help. 
  • Be present for ad hoc communications with parents who write every day via the various means of communication. But you have to know how to dose. Too much is like not enough. You have to know how to find your post-it : Take care of yourself!
  • Invite parents to share their observations, name the good moves and the irritants. They are the eyes of the teachers at home. Sometimes that can give you great ideas for simple adaptations that will be beneficial for everyone. This can be done, for example, using a fill-in form. 

As of this writing, Catherine told us: “I miss my students. I am tired of the rhythm of the different remote schedules (mine and that of my children). But I'm staying the course! ".

If you also have any tips to share to make distance learning more enjoyable and effective with the little ones, don't hesitate to share them with the École branchée team.

To read tomorrow: Advice from Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, 4th year teacher at Externat St-Jean-Berchman.


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
3- Exploit the potential of digital technology for learning

To see the Framework.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Enseigner à distance au 1er cycle du primaire (1re partie)

Comment faire pour que la classe en ligne soit motivante, pour garder l’attention des plus jeunes élèves et rendre les apprentissages plus actifs et engageants? Catherine Lapointe, enseignante en 2e année, présente son expérience.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Catherine Lapointe, avec la collaboration de Martine Rioux

L’enseignement à distance est un défi pour tous, mais la tâche est d’autant plus complexe avec les plus jeunes. Comment faire pour que la classe en ligne soit motivante, pour garder l’attention des élèves et rendre les apprentissages plus actifs et engageants? Deux enseignantes du primaire nous ont partagé leurs conseils. Dans un premier temps, voici ceux de Catherine Lapointe, enseignante en 2e année à l’école du Campanile (CSS des Découvreurs).

« Malgré tous les trucs qu’on peut mettre en place, rien ne remplacera l’enseignement en présentiel. L’enseignement en ligne est une pratique d’urgence dans un contexte pandémique. Ce n’est pas l’idéal. Ce n’est pas naturel. Ce n’est pas facile, ni pour les profs, ni pour les élèves, ni pour les parents. La motivation des élèves se fragilise partout quand l’effet de nouveauté disparaît. Il faut se réinventer constamment. J’ai quand même du plaisir à voir mes élèves. Je les trouve bons et engagés. Solidaires et positifs », tient à préciser Catherine. 

Le maintien du lien = ESSENTIEL

  • Permettre aux élèves d’arriver 5 minutes avant le temps. Ils clavardent, ils se présentent des jouets, des semences qui poussent, etc. C’est parfait pour maintenir un sentiment d’appartenance. C’est comme le 5 minutes avant que la cloche sonne. Cela permet aussi de commencer à l’heure pour optimiser le temps prévu pour l’enseignement, car on est dans les seuils minimaux alors on est loin des 5 h d’enseignement en classe.
  • Accueillir les élèves en les saluant un à un. « On a un nouvel élève ce matin. Le chat de Margot! » « J’adore le cadre derrière toi Jules. »  «Tu sembles endormi Milo. Ça va? » 
  • Exporter le climat de classe et rigoler. Les blagues ne sont pas accessoires pour démontrer notre plaisir à être avec eux et offrir un enseignement authentique. Une collègue s’est même déguisée en banane, d’autres ajoutent une journée thématique ou faux suppléant (se déguiser).

La classe en ligne

  • Partager son écran pour aider les élèves à se situer. Afficher la date ou un calendrier avec le matériel à sortir 5 minutes avant l’heure du cours. Le support visuel reste essentiel, même si cela demande plus de planification et de temps. 
  • Faire bouger les élèves en épelant les mots de la semaine. Version active : Jumping mot, boxer les mots, la corde à danser. Version calme et non bruyante (pour les parents en télétravail ou les frères/soeurs en enseignement à distance en simultané) :  juste taper doucement dans leur main ou tracer les lettres dans les airs. 
  • Faciliter la prise de parole. Avec les petits, l’option de lever la main avec le bouton de la main n’est pas facilitant (ils le cherchent, ils oublient de l’enlever). Prévoir un petit carton/pastille avec un point d’interrogation que les élèves peuvent montrer physiquement à l’écran lorsqu’ils veulent prendre la parole. Une pastille réversible verte et rouge peut aussi être utilisée pour répondre à une question par oui ou non ou voter.
  • Opter pour le renforcement positif. Au lieu de répéter sans arrêt « Fermez vos micros », dire « Merci les cocos qui laissent leur micro fermé ». C’est simple, mais efficace.
  • Corriger en une image! Une façon efficace de corriger la phrase du jour ou un problème math, c’est de demander aux élèves d’approcher leur tableau effaçable de la caméra et de faire une capture d’écran. Il est ensuite possible de revoir la photo et de faire des rétroactions audios ou écrites à certains élèves après ou à tout le groupe. 
  • Se garder des moments « bonbon ». Observer chaque jour un faux œuf d’animal dans un bocal d’eau qui craque avec le temps (façon d’introduire les ovipares) et des bourgeons. Un temps pour présenter leur minou, leur petite sœur, leur LEGO ou leur père en pyjama!
  • Ne pas donner de devoirs. C’est irréaliste et inutile. 

La constance est rassurante

  • Utiliser les mêmes outils que dans la classe. Par ex. : le chronomètre pour se situer dans le temps, musique calme en attendant que tout le monde entre dans la salle.
  • Garder certains rituels. Une chanson, une devinette du jour, des rébus, une photo, une énigme. Rituel aussi dans la structure du cours. 
  • Faire de la lecture un rituel. Pour garder les jeunes lecteurs éveillés. Pour leur permettre de partager des émotions, de faire des liens. Le partage de lecture est essentiel pour maintenir l’intérêt à lire chez soi. Par exemple, partager un coup de cœur tous les vendredis.

L’autonomie avant tout

  • Se donner des objectifs clairs. Les petits en ont besoin, s’ils veulent gagner en autonomie. Expliquer et déposer chaque jour une liste des travaux autonomes qu’ils peuvent cocher eux-mêmes. Cela permet de voir l’engagement de chacun. 
  • Ajouter des pictos partout. Les petits en ont besoin pour se repérer et devenir plus autonomes.
  • Miser aussi sur un projet libre où l’élève choisit ce qu’ il veut créer/présenter. Penser à des projets simples qu’il peut faire seul, sans l’aide des parents : un projet d’enfant, pour les enfants, fait par les enfants. On ne peut pas demander au parent d’en faire plus. Certains sont monoparentaux, ont plusieurs enfants, peu d’outils numériques. 
  • Laisser le choix de la façon de communiquer : s’enregistrer, écrire, prendre une photo. 

Hors des écrans

  • Prévoir du temps pour jouer dehors dans l’horaire. Deux fois par jour et proposer des défis pédagogiques extérieurs pour diminuer le temps passé sur les écrans : créer une marelle mathématique, comptabiliser les oiseaux.
  • Équilibrer les tâches du plan de travail pour que ce ne soit pas juste avec un outil numérique. Certains doivent partager avec leurs frères/soeurs.

La bienveillance dans les relations

  • Garder un mot en tête : INDULGENCE
    • Envers les élèves : ils n’ont pas tous droit aux mêmes conditions d’enseignement, certains ont des appareils désuets, d’autres font leur Meet à travers le bruit, d’autres fréquentent le service de garde d’urgence.
    • Envers les parents : ils ont beaucoup de responsabilités, pas toujours de moyens, pas vraiment de temps, leurs soucis, leurs angoisses. 
    • Envers nous les profs : prendre soin de soi et l’écrire sur un post-it qu’on garde pas loin pour s’en souvenir! 
  • Différencier avec les parents en apprenant à « lire » les familles avec bienveillance, pour mieux les accompagner et savoir référer les familles vulnérables à la bonne personne (TES, psychologue, direction, etc.). 

Lorsque j’enseigne à mes 22 élèves, 22 à 44 parents m’écoutent et me regardent. – Catherine Lapointe

  • Communiquer de manière formelle et prévisible avec les parents une fois par semaine pour leur donner l’horaire de la semaine et leur donner le pouls de la classe, dire de pas lâcher, de faire ce qu’ils peuvent, que je suis là et que c’est mon rôle d’aider. 
  • Être présent pour les communications ponctuelles avec les parents qui écrivent à chaque jour via les différents moyens de communication. Mais il faut savoir doser. Trop c’est comme pas assez. Il faut savoir retrouver son post-it : Prendre soin de soi!
  • Inviter les parents à faire part de leurs observations, à nommer les bons coups et les irritants. Ils sont les yeux des enseignants à la maison. Parfois, ça peut donner de bonnes idées d’adaptations toutes simples qui seront bénéfiques pour tous. On peut le faire par exemple à l’aide d’un formulaire à remplir. 

Au moment d’écrire ces lignes, Catherine nous a confié : « Je m’ennuie de mes élèves. Je suis fatiguée par le rythme des différents horaires à distance (la mienne et celle de mes enfants). Mais je garde le cap! ».

Si vous avez aussi des conseils à partager pour rendre l’enseignement à distance plus agréable et efficace avec les plus petits, n’hésitez pas à les partager avec l’équipe de l’École branchée.

À lire demain: Les conseils de Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, enseignante de 4e année à l’Externat St-Jean-Berchman.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Nos prochaines formations en direct