ADVERTISEMENT

Laval Hotel School

For two years, École hôtelière de Laval has been learning to become a conscious entrepreneurial community school (ECEC). The teaching team is therefore called upon to set up a pedagogy focused more on the development of the person, to ensure that each student becomes an entrepreneur of himself, equipped to build himself in all conscience.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Annie Roberge, educational advisor 
and Martin Vallée, deputy director 
Laval hotel school 

Laval Hotel School (ÉHL) is without a doubt a professional training center on a human level. Thanks to its reasonable size and its tightly knit community, the ÉHL offers the young people and adults in learning who frequent it a unique and caring environment, both in terms of professional development as well as in terms of what the student experiences. pupil outside of school. 

Teachers are firmly committed to their mission of teaching and integrating their students into the labor market. The success of the latter, as well as the reduction in the dropout rate during the programs are constant concerns of the entire school team. What is more, the leadership of the management team, in continuity with the strengths developed throughout the history of the school, is expressed through the gradual implementation of educational innovations, now of a conscious entrepreneurial nature. , in connection with new information technologies. 

In fact, for the past two years, ÉHL has been learning to become a mindful entrepreneurial community school (ECEC). The teaching team is therefore called upon to set up a pedagogy focused more on the development of the person, to ensure that each student becomes an entrepreneur of himself, equipped to build himself in all conscience. Therefore, teachers develop and provide learners with educational activities with a conscious entrepreneurial flavor through which various skills, attitudes, strengths and conscious entrepreneurial qualities are developed (young person's exit profile). These will allow students, eventually, to set up entrepreneurial projects themselves where they will be initiatorsdirectors and managers and which, we are already seeing, will have an impact in the community. 

The philosophy of the ECEC is in harmony with the vision of the changes that ÉHL wishes and must make to adequately equip students to facilitate their integration into the 21st century labor market and, above all, to succeed in their lives. They need a frame of reference, model teachers who question them and encourage them to undertake each in their own way, each taking one more step to trust each other, to risk, to try, sometimes to start again… and to succeed. Obviously, it is the acquired experience linked to the progress made that matters much more than a strictly academic result. We are convinced of the relevance of learning more globally. Awareness of oneself, of one's potential and of the impact, through one's actions, on one's living environment is of great importance.

An important lever of the ECEC is the establishment of a micro-chamber of commerce, a governance (committee) made up of enterprising students. The challenge to be taken up in ensuring the sustainability of this entity at the Center comes from the fact that training in the various programs is given over the course of one year, with new entries of young people and adults at the end of August and in March. New people are thus added to the committee along the way, to replace graduates who leave, in order to continue entrepreneurial work. It generates enthusiasm and commitment. The transition went well this year, which bodes well for the future. 

The micro-room, called the CPRENT (Cuisine, Pastry, Catering, Entrepreneurial or Entrepreneurial) has the following mandate: 

  • To encourage students to become more involved in school life; 
  • To organize events in the school and in different environments with our partners;
  • To convey opinions and opinions to other students and to all staff, and management included;  
  • To support the development of our conscious entrepreneurial community school of which we are very proud.

This conscious entrepreneurial pedagogy was introduced, slowly but surely, as part of moments of reflection and discussion during meetings between the members of the governance team, made up of teachers from the five training programs offered to students. This Team is now working to develop the entrepreneurial spirit among their colleagues in the same way. And the best part is that everyone wants to try to take up this rewarding challenge! 

Photos taken during the job fair, organized by the micro-chamber of commerce, on April 2, 2019 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Classé dans :

L’École hôtelière de Laval

Depuis deux ans, l’École hôtelière de Laval apprend à devenir une école communautaire entrepreneuriale consciente (ECEC). L’équipe-enseignante est de ce fait appelée à mettre en place une pédagogie axée davantage sur le développement de la personne, pour faire en sorte que chaque élève devienne un entrepreneur de soi, équipé pour se construire en toute conscience.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Annie Roberge, conseillère pédagogique 
et Martin Vallée, directeur adjoint 
École hôtelière de Laval 

L’École hôtelière de Laval (ÉHL) est sans contredit un centre de formation professionnelle à hauteur humaine. Par sa taille raisonnable et sa communauté, tissée serrée, l’ÉHL offre aux jeunes et aux adultes en apprentissage qui la fréquentent un environnement unique et attentionné, à la fois en termes de développement professionnel de même qu’au niveau de ce que vit l’élève en dehors de l’école. 

Les enseignantes et enseignants sont solidement engagés dans leur mission d’enseignement et d’intégration au marché du travail de leurs élèves. La réussite de ces derniers, de même que la diminution du taux de décrochage en cours de programmes sont des préoccupations constantes de l’ensemble de l’équipe-école. Qui plus est, le leadership de l’équipe de direction, en continuité avec les forces développées tout au long de l’histoire de l’école, s’exprime par l’implantation graduelle d’innovations pédagogiques, désormais d’ordre entrepreneuriale consciente, en lien avec les nouvelles technologies de l’information. 

En effet, depuis deux ans, l’ÉHL apprend à devenir une école communautaire entrepreneuriale consciente (ECEC). L’équipe-enseignante est de ce fait appelée à mettre en place une pédagogie axée davantage sur le développement de la personne, pour faire en sorte que chaque élève devienne un entrepreneur de soi, équipé pour se construire en toute conscience. Dès lors, les enseignants élaborent et proposent aux apprenants des activités pédagogiques à saveur entrepreneuriale consciente au moyen desquelles se développent  diverses compétences, attitudes, forces et qualités entrepreneuriales conscientes (profil de sortie du jeune). Celles-ci permettront aux élèves, éventuellement, de mettre eux-mêmes sur pied des projets entrepreneuriaux où ils seront initiateursréalisateurs et gestionnaires et qui, nous l’apercevons déjà, auront un impact dans la communauté. 

La philosophie de l’ECEC est en harmonie avec la vision des changements que l’ÉHL souhaite et doit opérer pour outiller adéquatement les élèves afin de faciliter leur intégration au marché du travail du XXIe siècle et, surtout, réussir leur vie. Ils ont besoin d’un cadre de référence, d’enseignants modèles qui les questionnent et les poussent à s’entreprendre chacun à leur manière, chacun faisant un pas de plus pour se faire confiance, risquer, essayer, recommencer parfois… et réussir. C’est l’expérience acquise lié au chemin parcouru qui importe, évidemment, bien plus qu’un résultat strictement scolaire.  Nous sommes persuadés de la pertinence d’apprendre plus globalement. La conscience de soi, de son potentiel et de l’impact, de par ses actions, sur son environnement de vie à une grande importance.

Un levier important de l’ECEC est la mise sur pied d’une microchambre de commerce, une gouvernance (comité) formée d’élèves entreprenants. Le défi à relever pour assurer la pérennité de cette entité au Centre vient du fait que les formations dans les différents programmes se donnent dans l’intervalle d’une année, avec des entrées de nouveaux jeunes et adultes à la fin août et en mars. De nouvelles personnes viennent ainsi s’ajouter au comité en cours de route, pour remplacer les finissants qui quittent, afin de poursuivre le travail entrepreneurial. Cela génère de l’enthousiasme et de l’engagement. La transition s’est bien déroulée cette année, ce qui augure bien pour la suite des choses. 

La microchambre, baptisée le CPRENT (Cuisine, Pâtisserie, Restauration ENTreprenantes ou ENTrepreneuriales) a pour mandat : 

  • D’amener les élèves à s’engager davantage dans la vie de l’école; 
  • D’organiser des événements dans l’école et dans différents milieux avec nos partenaires;
  • De transmettre des opinions et des avis aux autres élèves et à l’ensemble du personnel, et la direction incluse;  
  • De soutenir le développement de notre école communautaire entrepreneuriale consciente et dont nous sommes très fiers.

Cette pédagogie entrepreneuriale consciente a été introduite, lentement mais sûrement, dans le cadre  de moments de réflexion et d’échanges lors de rencontres entre les membres de l’équipe  de gouvernance, formé d’enseignants issus des cinq programmes de formation offerts aux élèves. Cette Équipe voit maintenant à développer de la même manière l’esprit d’entreprendre auprès de leurs collègues. Et le plus beau, c’est que tous désirent essayer de relever cet enrichissant défi ! 

Photos prises lors du salon de l’emploi, organisé par la microchambre de commerce, le 2 avril 2019 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo ainsi que la programmation de nos services chaque semaine!



À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.