ADVERTISEMENT

A fully online school is born in Ontario

Since last September, a fully online school has welcomed some 2,400 children from the Conseil des écoles catholiques du Center-Est, in Ontario. Take a look at the Virtual Learning Academy.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Since last September, a fully online school has welcomed some 2,400 children from the Conseil des écoles catholiques du Center-Est, which covers the regions of Ottawa and Kingston in Ontario. Take a look at the Virtual Learning Academy.

If the pandemic accelerated the project, the director of education of the Council of Catholic Schools of the Center-East (CECCE), Marc Bertrand, assures that the idea of such an academy had already been in the crosshairs of his organization for two years. According to Bertrand, his school board now offers Ontario's largest virtual academy. L'Virtual Learning Academy (AAV) brings together 103 titular classes from kindergarten to 8e year. Some 110 teachers as well as 17 early childhood educators are part of the professional team.

One of the CECCE's goals behind this project is to provide a flexible school for parents. It is therefore possible for a child who is currently in class to come home and register for AAV. The reverse is also true, each child remaining linked to his school of origin. In all, 58 schools are linked to the AAV on the territory of the CECCE.

How it works?

Just because learning is online doesn't mean there is no routine. From the first to the 6e The schedule is from 9:15 a.m. to 2:45 p.m., with a morning and afternoon break, in addition to the lunch period. Juliana Ramsay, mother of three and president of the AAV Parents' Committee, tells us: “There are times that are synchronous with the teacher - 240 minutes a day - and others asynchronous. Friends can also discuss their work together, she adds. Yes, there has been a period of adjustment, but my children have adjusted since September. The same school subjects as the “face-to-face” school are taught at the AAV.

Courtesy of AAV

Learning to succeed

According to Marc Bertrand, the AAV formula allows teachers who wish to continue their teaching in a safe manner. The teacher-student ratio is the same as in class, i.e., for example, up to 23 students from first to thirde year.

According to the director of education, the success rate is roughly the same whether students are in class or at home, as far as elementary is concerned. In secondary school, it would even be a little higher.

Although 14 African or European students are enrolled in AAV at the moment, Mr. Bertrand indicates that his school is not yet ready to welcome students from outside his province in greater numbers. It will therefore be to follow in the coming years.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Une école entièrement en ligne voit le jour en Ontario

Depuis septembre dernier, une école entièrement en ligne accueille quelque 2 400 enfants du Conseil des écoles catholiques du Centre-Est, en Ontario. Regard sur l’Académie d’apprentissage virtuel.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Depuis septembre dernier, une école entièrement en ligne accueille quelque 2 400 enfants du Conseil des écoles catholiques du Centre-Est, qui couvre les régions d’Ottawa et de Kingston en Ontario. Regard sur l’Académie d’apprentissage virtuel.

Si la pandémie a accéléré le projet, le directeur de l’éducation du Conseil des écoles catholiques du Centre-Est (CECCE), Marc Bertrand, assure que l’idée d’une telle académie était déjà dans la mire de son organisation depuis deux ans. Selon M. Bertrand, son conseil scolaire offre désormais la plus grande académie virtuelle de l’Ontario. L’Académie d’apprentissage virtuel (AAV) regroupe 103 classes titulaires de la maternelle à la 8e année. Quelque 110 enseignants ainsi que 17 éducateurs de la petite enfance font partie de l’équipe professionnelle.

L’un des objectifs du CECCE derrière ce projet est de proposer une école flexible aux parents. Il est donc possible pour un enfant qui est actuellement en classe de revenir à la maison et de s’inscrire à l’AAV. L’inverse est aussi vrai, chaque enfant restant lié à son école d’origine. En tout, 58 écoles sont en lien avec l’AAV sur le territoire du CECCE.

Comment ça marche?

Ce n’est pas parce que l’apprentissage est en ligne qu’il n’y a aucune routine. De la première à la 6e année, l’horaire est de 9 h 15 à 14 h 45, avec une pause le matin et l’après-midi, en plus de la période de dîner. Juliana Ramsay, maman de trois enfants et présidente du comité de parents de l’AAV, nous raconte : « Il y a des moments synchrones avec l’enseignant – 240 minutes par jour – et d’autres asynchrones. Les amis peuvent aussi discuter ensemble de leurs travaux, ajoute-t-elle. Oui, il y a eu une période d’ajustement, mais mes enfants se sont adaptés depuis septembre. » Les mêmes matières scolaires que l’école « en présentiel » sont enseignées à l’AAV.

Gracieuseté de l’AAV

L’apprentissage de la réussite

D’après Marc Bertrand, la formule de l’AAV permet aux enseignants qui le souhaitent de poursuivre leur enseignement de manière sécuritaire. Le ratio enseignant-élèves est le même qu’en classe, soit, par exemple, jusqu’à 23 élèves de la première à la 3e année.

Selon le directeur de l’éducation, le taux de réussite est sensiblement le même que les élèves soient en classe ou à la maison, en ce qui concerne l’élémentaire. Au secondaire, il serait même un peu plus élevé.

Bien que 14 élèves africains ou européens sont inscrits à l’AAV en ce moment, M. Bertrand indique que son école n’est pas encore prête à accueillir des élèves de l’extérieur de sa province en plus grand nombre. Ce sera donc à suivre dans les prochaines années.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :