Druid celebrates 25 years of Antidote

Press release - On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of its writing assistance software, Druide informatique highlights the milestones in Antidote's history and continues to invest in the future.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Press release - On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of its writing assistance software, Druide informatique highlights the milestones in Antidote's history and continues to invest in the future.

A quarter of a century of technological evolution

The first Antidote was released in 1996 on Windows and Mac. He progressed quickly, from correcting one sentence at a time to multiphrasing, then with prisms and their smart filters. It has also adapted to the evolution of tools, with Anti-Oups! for email, Antidote Mobile for Apple phones and tablets, and Antidote Web for Chromebook, Android and browsers. It has also been available in English since 2015, integrating both languages simply and elegantly. And for the past year, it has been offered on all these platforms at the same time with Antidote + plans.

Ever richer works

Antidote's dictionaries have grown over the years. Druide has continued to enrich the nomenclature, going from 100,000 to 133,000 words in French, depending on the development of the language and of society.

The exploration of the links between these words gave birth to innovative dictionaries, such as co-occurrences, synonyms, history and many others, even creating new links between French and English.

More and more intelligent search engines, such as multi-word search and search by criteria, have made it easier to work with data.

Deep learning at the service of Antidote

Druide continues to go further, inaugurating with Antidote 11 a neural correction engine, created with deep learning. Developed thanks to the Druid Fund for Text Analysis Research and the partnership with the team of researcher Yoshua Bengio, this fundamental technology will play an important role in Antidote's progress.

“In addition to what the corrector is already doing, one can imagine, one day, more effective punctuation, more advanced reformulation proposals, even real reorganizations of sentences and ideas. In short, corrections even closer to human intelligence, ”explains Éric Brunelle, president of Druide and principal designer of Antidote.

A new chair at UQAM

In the philanthropic vein of the Druide Fund and with a donation of one million dollars to the University of Quebec in Montreal, Druide will soon create a research chair for the success of literacy learning. This chair will be accompanied by an Antidote scholarship of 25,000 $ awarded each year to a student in remedial education at UQAM.

"We are convinced that the excellence of the work of the Chair will help educational communities throughout the Francophonie to counter learning difficulties in reading and writing", concludes André d'Orsonnens, Chairman of the Board and Head of the direction of Druid.

The 25 years of Antidote were highlighted in an event for which a video was specially prepared. This can be viewed on www.antidote.info/25ans.

About

Druide informatique produces and markets Antidote, the largest French and English writing assistance software, as well as Tap'Touche, the famous keyboard typing software. She also created the WebElixir service, which oversees the quality of websites. In addition to these applications, its sales team distributes the books of Éditions Druide, a subsidiary whose mission is to publish literature and reference works.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Druide célèbre les 25 ans d’Antidote

Communiqué - À l’occasion du 25e anniversaire de son logiciel d’aide à la rédaction, Druide informatique souligne les jalons de l’histoire d’Antidote et continue d’investir dans l’avenir.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Communiqué – À l’occasion du 25e anniversaire de son logiciel d’aide à la rédaction, Druide informatique souligne les jalons de l’histoire d’Antidote et continue d’investir dans l’avenir.

Un quart de siècle d’évolution technologique

Le premier Antidote est paru en 1996 sur Windows et Mac. Il a rapidement progressé, de la correction d’une phrase à la fois au multiphrase, puis avec les prismes et leurs filtres intelligents. Il s’est en plus adapté à l’évolution des outils, avec Anti-Oups! pour les courriels, Antidote Mobile pour les téléphones et les tablettes d’Apple, et Antidote Web pour Chromebook, Android et les navigateurs. Il est également disponible en anglais depuis 2015, intégrant les deux langues simplement et élégamment. Et depuis un an, il est offert sur toutes ces plateformes à la fois avec les forfaits Antidote+.

Des ouvrages toujours plus riches

Les dictionnaires d’Antidote se sont étoffés au cours des années. Druide n’a cessé d’enrichir la nomenclature, passant de 100 000 à 133 000 mots en français, suivant l’évolution de la langue et de la société.

L’exploration des liens entre ces mots a donné naissance à des dictionnaires innovateurs, comme les cooccurrences, les synonymes, l’historique et plusieurs autres, créant même des liens inédits entre le français et l’anglais.

Des moteurs de recherche de plus en plus intelligents, comme la recherche multimot et la recherche par critères, ont facilité le maniement des données.

L’apprentissage profond au service d’Antidote

Druide continue d’aller plus loin, inaugurant avec Antidote 11 un moteur de correction neuronal, créé avec l’apprentissage profond. Développée grâce au Fonds Druide pour la recherche en analyse de texte et au partenariat avec l’équipe du chercheur Yoshua Bengio, cette technologie fondamentale jouera un rôle important dans les progrès d’Antidote.

« En plus de ce que le correcteur fait déjà, on peut imaginer, un jour, une ponctuation plus efficace, des propositions de reformulation plus avancées, voire de véritables réorganisations de phrases et d’idées. En somme, des corrections encore plus près de l’intelligence humaine », explique Éric Brunelle, président de Druide et concepteur principal d’Antidote.

Une nouvelle chaire à l’UQAM

Dans la veine philanthropique du Fonds Druide et par un don d’un million de dollars à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, Druide créera bientôt une chaire de recherche pour la réussite des apprentissages en littératie. Cette chaire s’accompagnera d’une Bourse Antidote de 25 000 $ attribuée chaque année à une étudiante ou un étudiant en orthopédagogie de l’UQAM.

« Nous sommes persuadés que l’excellence des travaux de la chaire aidera les milieux éducatifs de toute la francophonie à contrer les difficultés d’apprentissage de la lecture et de l’écriture », conclut André d’Orsonnens, président du conseil et chef de la direction de Druide.

Les 25 ans d’Antidote ont été soulignés dans le cadre d’un évènement pour lequel une vidéo fut spécialement préparée. Celle-ci peut être visionnée sur www.antidote.info/25ans.

À propos

Druide informatique produit et commercialise Antidote, le plus grand logiciel d’aide à la rédaction du français et de l’anglais, ainsi que Tap’Touche, le célèbre logiciel d’apprentissage de la frappe au clavier. Elle a également créé le service WebElixir, qui veille à la qualité des sites Web. En plus de ces applications, son équipe commerciale distribue les livres des Éditions Druide, une filiale dont la mission est de publier de la littérature et des ouvrages de référence.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :