ADVERTISEMENT

Male role models for developing boys' desire to read

Reading with Son is a family literacy project that promotes the creation of male trios (dad, son, and student teacher) who share reading time at home. The idea was to build on the reading interests of boys with reading difficulties (or who are not motivated to read) to develop their desire to read... And it works!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

By Isabelle Carignan, TELUQ University ; Annie Roy-Charland, University of Moncton; France Beauregard, University of Sherbrooke ; Joanie Viau, TELUQ University , and Marie-Christine Beaudry, University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM)

We often hear that boys do not read or do not like to read. Boys do read, but not necessarily what the school environment suggests; boys will prefer to read documentaries, comic books or magazines, for example. This is why it is important for them to be able to choose the books they want to read and to vary the choices offered.

We are a group of multidisciplinary researchers interested in literacy, learning disabilities, family-school-community relationships and psychology. Literacy as a whole includes reading, writing, oral proficiency and many other variables such as values and culture.

Importance of a male role model for fistoons

The lack of a "positive" male role model for reading may explain why boys are less likely to read and may have negative perceptions of reading. Including the family in a literacy project, in a non-school setting, may influence students' perceptions of reading and develop their desire to read.

Some scientific studies show that by including fathers in family literacy programs, a positive influence emerges on children's literacy development, especially for boys. The family literacy is to develop reading skills in the home environment. With this in mind, we created the Reading with my son in 2008. Since then, 30 male trios have been created, but with the pandemic, this mode of operation was no longer possible.

This family literacy project promotes the creation of male trios (dad, son and teacher candidate) who share reading time at home.

3 hommes d’âge différent tiennent un certificat(Isabelle Carignan), Provided by the author

The goal of the project is to start from the reading interests of the son who has difficulty reading, or lacks motivation (8-9 years old), to develop his desire to read. Why at this age? Because this is the time when the gap between good readers and struggling readers widens.

The future teacher comes to the family environment on a voluntary basis with his bag of children's books, of different literary genres, related to the son's interests. The son is the leader: as master of the trio, he decides what will be read during the meetings. With Reading with my son, the 10 rights of the reader of the author Daniel PennacThese rights are contrary to what is generally advocated in schools. These rights go against what is generally advocated in the school environment:

  1. The right not to read
  2. The right to skip pages
  3. The right not to finish a book
  4. The right to reread
  5. The right to read anything
  6. The right to bovarianism (to dream!)
  7. The right to read anywhere
  8. The right to grapple
  9. The right to read aloud
  10. The right to remain silent

As adults, we allow ourselves all these rights.

In school, students are often required to read works that do not interest them. They must finish them and they must not skip pages. When they are older, around the middle of elementary school, they are often told that real reading is reading novelsThis is completely false. For example, reading a comic is extremely rich and complex. A real comic book reader reads the text and the illustration in each box, in interaction, to grasp all the subtleties. The same goes for the album (picture book): the text and the illustrations form a rich and inseparable whole for all ages. And often, the illustrations "speak" more than the text.

Course of the project

First meeting between all participants

This meeting normally takes place at the school with the principal, the remedial teacher (if applicable), the teacher, the male parents, the prospective teachers, the fistula and the researchers. At this time, questions are asked, roles are determined and trios are formed. The male trios exchange contact information and agree on a time and place (home or elsewhere) for a first trio meeting, depending on each person's availability.

Note that the fistons are told that they have been "chosen" to experience a reading project with their dad (or any other significant male figure).

Men's trios meetings

The method of operation is free and no preparation on the part of the parent or child is necessary before or after the meetings. The duration of each meeting varies between 45 minutes and two hours.

At the beginning of the project, the male trios met in the home setting every two weeks for an hour or two over a four-month period. We now recommend that the project run throughout the school year to allow for greater flexibility. In addition, a minimum of three meetings was initially planned; we now recommend between 6 and 8 meetings to encourage the creation of a positive dynamic and a relationship of trust within the trios.

In this egalitarian relationship, each member of the trio has a determined role:

  • the son chooses what will be read - or not - and decides how each meeting will take place;
  • the future teacher, as a resource person, brings in a variety of children's books related to the child's interests and follows the child's reading choices;
  • the father (or other significant male figure) participates in the reading of the works chosen by the son and guides the future teacher so that he understands his child's reading interests.

Last meeting between all participants

All participants meet at a restaurant, for example, so that the project is not associated with school. Unfortunately, boys often have a poor perception of reading because of school, as they associate it directly with assessment.

During this friendly meeting, everyone's impressions of the project are collected. The goal is also to document changes in the fist children and possible improvements to the project. At this time, the future teachers give the fist children a gift of children's books that are part of their preferences. The research team also gives a certificate to fistons, fathers (or other male figures) and future teachers acknowledging their participation in the project.

Positive impact of the project Reading with my son

The project was lived in Quebec, in Pennsylvania and in Ontario. According to the group interviews, the impact was positive for all members of the male trios.

Initially, the fistons seem to have developed a greater interest in reading because they can read what really interests them. Fistons also feel a greater sense of competence in reading after the project.

Second, father-child and family-school relationships are changing in a positive way. Dads (or other male figures) seem to have realized how important their role as a male reader role model for their son is, that they can have an influence on their child's academic success, and that it is rewarding to read and interact with their son.

In the third stage, the future teachers learned how to work with diverse family situations and the importance of establishing a good connection with the parent. Finally, they understood the relevance of allowing boys to make their own reading choices and the impact of a male reader model.

Reading with my son is therefore a simple and effective family literacy project that could be replicated in different countries and languages to develop boys' desire to read.

By Isabelle CarignanFull Professor, TELUQ University ; Annie Roy-CharlandProfessor of Psychology, University of Moncton; France BeauregardAssociate Professor of Family-School-Community Relations, University of Sherbrooke ; Joanie ViauManager, TELUQ University , and Marie-Christine BeaudryProfessor of French didactics, University of Quebec in Montreal (UQAM)

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read theoriginal article.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Des modèles masculins pour développer l’envie de lire chez les garçons

Lire avec fiston est un projet de littératie familiale qui favorise la création de trios masculins (papa, fiston et étudiant en enseignement) qui partagent un temps de lecture à la maison. Son était de partir des intérêts de lecture des garçons en difficulté de lecture (ou non motivés à lire) pour développer leur envie de lire... Et ça marche!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Par Isabelle Carignan, Université TÉLUQ ; Annie Roy-Charland, Université de Moncton; France Beauregard, Université de Sherbrooke ; Joanie Viau, Université TÉLUQ , et Marie-Christine Beaudry, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)

Nous entendons souvent que les garçons ne lisent pas ou n’aiment pas lire. Or, les garçons lisent, mais pas nécessairement ce que le milieu scolaire leur propose ; les garçons vont préférer lire des documentaires, des bandes dessinées ou des magazines, par exemple. De là l’importance qu’ils puissent choisir les livres qu’ils désirent lire et de varier les choix proposés.

Nous sommes un groupe de chercheures multidisciplinaires, intéressées notamment par la littératie, les difficultés d’apprentissage, la relation famille-école-communauté et la psychologie. La littératie dans son ensemble inclut la lecture, l’écriture, la compétence orale et plusieurs autres variables comme les valeurs et la culture.

Importance d’un modèle de lecteur masculin pour les fistons

L’absence d’un modèle masculin « positif » de lecture peut expliquer pourquoi les garçons sont moins portés à lire et peuvent avoir une perception négative de la lecture. Le fait d’intégrer la famille à l’intérieur d’un projet de littératie, dans un contexte non scolaire, peut influencer la perception que les élèves ont de la lecture et développer leur envie de lire.

Certaines études scientifiques démontrent qu’en intégrant le père dans les programmes de littératie familiale, une influence positive émerge sur le développement de la littératie des enfants, et plus particulièrement des garçons. La littératie familiale est notamment le fait de développer la compétence à lire dans le milieu familial. C’est dans cette visée que nous avons créé le projet Lire avec fiston en 2008. Depuis, 30 trios masculins ont vu le jour, mais, avec la pandémie, ce mode de fonctionnement n’était plus possible.

Ce projet de littératie familiale favorise la création de trios masculins (papa, fiston et étudiant en enseignement) qui partagent un temps de lecture à la maison.

3 hommes d’âge différent tiennent un certificat(Isabelle Carignan), Fourni par l’auteur

Le but du projet est de partir des intérêts de lecture du fiston en difficulté de lecture, ou en manque de motivation (8-9 ans), pour développer son envie de lire. Pourquoi à cet âge ? Parce que c’est le moment où le fossé se creuse entre les bons lecteurs et les lecteurs en difficulté.

Le futur enseignant se déplace dans le milieu familial de façon bénévole avec son sac de livres jeunesse, de genres littéraires différents, liés aux intérêts du fiston. Le fiston est le chef : en maitre d’œuvre du trio, il décide ce qui sera lu lors des rencontres. Avec Lire avec fiston, les 10 droits du lecteur de l’auteur Daniel Pennac, qui sont tirés de son œuvre « Comme un roman », sont respectés. Ces droits vont à l’encontre de ce qui est généralement prôné dans le milieu scolaire :

  1. Le droit de ne pas lire
  2. Le droit de sauter des pages
  3. Le droit de ne pas finir un livre
  4. Le droit de relire
  5. Le droit de lire n’importe quoi
  6. Le droit au bovarysme (de rêver !)
  7. Le droit de lire n’importe où
  8. Le droit de grappiller
  9. Le droit de lire à haute voix
  10. Le droit de nous taire

À l’âge adulte, nous nous autorisons tous ces droits.

À l’école, les élèves doivent souvent lire des œuvres qui ne les intéressent pas. Ils doivent les finir et ne doivent surtout pas sauter des pages. Quand ils sont plus grands, vers le milieu du primaire, on leur dit souvent que la vraie lecture est la lecture de romans, alors que c’est complètement faux. Par exemple, lire une bande dessinée est extrêmement riche et complexe. Un vrai lecteur de BD lit le texte et l’illustration de chaque case, en interaction, pour en saisir toutes les subtilités. Il en va de même pour l’album (livre d’images) : le texte et les illustrations forment un tout riche et indissociable pour tous les âges. Et souvent, les illustrations « parlent » plus que le texte.

Déroulement du projet

Première rencontre entre tous les participants

Cette rencontre a normalement lieu à l’école avec la direction d’école, l’orthopédagogue (le cas échéant), l’enseignant, les parents masculins, les futurs enseignants, les fistons et les chercheures. C’est à ce moment que les questions sont posées, que les rôles de chacun sont déterminés et que les trios sont formés. Les trios masculins échangent leurs coordonnées et s’entendent de l’heure et de l’endroit (maison ou ailleurs) pour une première rencontre en trio, selon les disponibilités de chacun.

Il est à noter que les fistons ont comme information qu’ils ont été « choisis » pour vivre un projet de lecture avec leur papa (ou toute autre figure masculine significative).

Rencontres des trios masculins

Le mode de fonctionnement est libre et aucune préparation de la part du parent ni de l’enfant n’est nécessaire avant ou après les rencontres. La durée de chaque rencontre varie entre 45 minutes et deux heures.

Au début du projet, les trios masculins se rencontraient dans le milieu familial, toutes les deux semaines, pendant une heure ou deux, sur une période de quatre mois. Nous recommandons maintenant de réaliser le projet pendant toute l’année scolaire pour permettre une plus grande flexibilité. De plus, au départ, un minimum de trois rencontres était prévu ; nous conseillons maintenant entre 6 et 8 rencontres pour favoriser la création d’une dynamique positive et d’une relation de confiance à l’intérieur des trios.

Dans cette relation égalitaire, chaque membre du trio a un rôle déterminé :

  • le fiston choisit ce qui sera lu – ou non – et décide comment se déroulera chacune des rencontres ;
  • le futur enseignant, en personne-ressource, apporte des œuvres jeunesse diversifiées liées aux intérêts du fiston et suit l’enfant dans ses choix de lecture ;
  • le père (ou toute autre figure masculine significative) participe à la lecture des œuvres choisies par le fiston et guide le futur enseignant pour qu’il saisisse bien les intérêts de lecture de son enfant.

Dernière rencontre entre tous les participants

Tous les participants se retrouvent dans un restaurant, par exemple, pour ne pas que le projet soit associé au scolaire. Malheureusement, les garçons ont souvent une mauvaise perception de la lecture à cause de l’école, car ils l’associent directement à l’évaluation.

Pendant cette rencontre amicale, les impressions de chacun sur le projet sont recueillies. Le but est également de documenter les changements constatés chez les fistons et les améliorations possibles du projet. À ce moment, les futurs enseignants remettent aux fistons, en cadeau, des œuvres jeunesse qui font partie de leurs préférences. L’équipe de recherche remet également une attestation valorisant la participation au projet aux fistons, aux pères (ou autres figures masculines) et aux futurs enseignants.

Retombées positives du projet Lire avec fiston

Le projet a été vécu au Québec, en Pennsylvanie et en Ontario. Selon les entrevues de groupe, les retombées ont été positives pour tous les membres des trios masculins.

Dans un premier temps, les fistons semblent avoir développé un plus grand intérêt à lire, car ils peuvent lire ce qui les intéresse réellement. Les fistons ressentent aussi un plus grand sentiment de compétence en lecture après le projet.

Dans un deuxième temps, les relations père-enfant et famille-école évoluent de façon positive. Les papas (ou autre figure masculine) semblent avoir compris à quel point leur rôle de modèle de lecteur masculin pour fiston est important, qu’ils peuvent avoir une influence sur la réussite scolaire de leur enfant et qu’il est gratifiant de lire et d’interagir avec leur fiston.

Dans un troisième temps, les futurs enseignants ont appris à travailler avec des situations familiales diversifiées et l’importance d’établir un bon lien avec le parent. Enfin, ils ont compris la pertinence de permettre aux garçons de faire leurs propres choix en matière de lecture et l’impact d’un modèle de lecteur masculin.

Lire avec fiston est donc un projet de littératie familiale simple et efficace qui pourrait être reproduit dans différents pays et différentes langues pour développer l’envie de lire chez les garçons.

Par Isabelle Carignan, Professeure titulaire, Université TÉLUQ ; Annie Roy-Charland, Professeure titulaire en psychologie, Université de Moncton; France Beauregard, Professeure associée en relation famille-école-communauté, Université de Sherbrooke ; Joanie Viau, Chargée d’encadrement, Université TÉLUQ , and Marie-Christine Beaudry, Professeure en didactique du français, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)

Cet article est republié à partir de The Conversation sous licence Creative Commons. Lire l’article original.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :