ADVERTISEMENT

Ideas for classroom activities to fill short periods

What if you are a supply teacher and no lesson plan is left? How to fill in off-peak periods in class? Here are some ideas for activities to provide to substitute teachers or to use to fill in short periods.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

What if you are a supply teacher and no lesson plan is left? How to fill in off-peak periods in class? You need to improvise and use short-lived online resources that will not just keep your students busy, but open their horizons, challenge them, and engage their thinking and imagination. All so that they learn while having fun without having to provide them with too many explanations.

Here are some ideas for online activities to provide to substitute teachers or to use to fill short periods in the classroom. Also find several ideas in each issue of our professional periodicall.

650 ideas for learning with current events in the classroom

To fill a moment in a period, a whole period or to carry out a larger project, the SCOOP! of the École branchée are a great source of ideas. In addition, they are based on current events, which does not fail to capture the attention of students.

Denis Robitaille from the Académie Ste-Thérèse uses the SCOOP guides! to create rich and meaningful learning contexts from current events.

" I find them very well done, they present the objectives, give us the references, leads to deepen the subjects and obviously a starting context. They can become very interesting for a person with little experience, and are great activities when we need a back-up. In addition, the summary of new guides saves us time to see if they are relevant to our needs. "

Escape Games (Breakout Edu)

Escape games combine fun and education while promoting the development of skills such as collaboration, communication, stress management and logical thinking. Several turnkey scenarios are available on the French-speaking escape games site.

If you are not yet familiar with this trend, we invite you to view our educational meetings with Julie chadonnet and Carolyne Lafleur-Fortin.

Learning activities aimed at creative uses of technologies

Our guide to techno-creative activities for children of the 21st century produced by Margarida Romero and Viviane Vallerand includes 15 activity sheets that allow the development of learning in different areas including languages, mathematics, the social universe, the arts and the development of the person while advocating the creative use of technologies. These activities are designed to develop 5 key skills: critical thinking, collaboration, creativity, problem solving and computational thinking.

Some banks of educational activities

  • Alloprof games, which allow you to practice school notions while having fun.
  • PedagoNet offers activity books, puzzles, learning games, teaching aids and other helpful resources. The documents are freely downloadable, adaptable, photocopiable.
  • The B@P (Educational activities bank) is a directory of activities specializing in Francophone identity construction, produced by the Canadian Association for French Language Education (ACELF). The 650 or so free activities are divided by theme and aim to get students to reflect on their personal and cultural identity while developing their sense of communication, commitment and leadership.
  • The Cultural class offers a multitude of quality resources and dynamic initiatives to integrate the cultural dimension into school, in all disciplines, from preschool to high school.
  • Our Information Network for Educational Success (RIRE) offers a selection of educational games. Each resource includes a short summary.
  • Educatall provide a variety of activities and educational resources to support you in the education of children.
  • Thot Cursus is a site dedicated to the promotion of training and the use of digital tools for education and culture which offers in particular a educational video directory and a serious games directory on a multitude of subjects and for all ages.

Know of other great online resources? Share them with us by writing to us at info@ecolebranchee.com.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Des idées d’activités en classe pour combler de courtes périodes

Que faire si vous êtes suppléant-e et qu’aucun plan de leçon n’a été laissé? Comment combler des périodes creuses en classe? Voici quelques idées d’activités à fournir aux enseignants suppléants ou à utiliser pour combler de courtes périodes.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Que faire si vous êtes suppléant et qu’aucun plan de leçon n’a été laissé? Comment combler des périodes creuses en classe? Il vous faut improviser et utiliser des ressources en ligne de courte durée, qui ne serviront pas uniquement occuper vos élèves, mais qui ouvriront leurs horizons, leur donneront un défi et mettront en jeu leur raisonnement et leur imagination. Le tout afin qu’ils apprennent en s’amusant sans toutefois devoir leur fournir trop d’explications.

Voici quelques idées d’activités en ligne à fournir aux enseignants suppléants ou à utiliser pour combler de courtes périodes en classe. Trouvez aussi plusieurs idées dans chaque parution de notre périodique professionnel.

650 idées pour apprendre avec l’actualité en classe

Pour combler un moment dans une période, toute une période ou pour réaliser un projet de plus grande ampleur, les activités SCOOP! de l’École branchée sont une grande source d’idées. De plus, elles sont basées sur l’actualité, ce qui ne manque pas de capter l’attention des élèves.

Denis Robitaille de l’Académie Ste-Thérèse utilise les guides SCOOP! pour créer des contextes d’apprentissage riches et signifiants à partir de l’actualité.

« Je les trouve très bien faits, ils présentent les objectifs, nous donnent les références, des pistes pour approfondir les sujets et évidemment un contexte de départ. Ils peuvent devenir très intéressants pour une personne avec peu d’expérience, et constituent de très belles activités quand nous avons besoin d’un suppléant. De plus, le résumé des nouveaux guides nous fait économiser du temps afin de voir s’ils sont pertinents pour nos besoins. »

Les jeux d’évasion (Breakout Edu)

Les jeux d’évasion combinent plaisir et pédagogie tout en favorisant le développement d’aptitudes telles la collaboration, la communication, la gestion du stress et l’esprit logique. Plusieurs scénarios clés en main sont disponibles sur le site des jeux d’évasion francophones.

Si vous ne connaissez pas encore cette tendance, on vous invite à visionner nos rendez-vous pédagogiques avec Julie Chadonnet et Carolyne Lafleur-Fortin.

Des activités d’apprentissage visant des usages créatifs des technologies

Le guide d’activités technocréatives pour les enfants du 21e siècle réalisé par Margarida Romero et Viviane Vallerand comprend 15 fiches d’activités qui permettent de développer des apprentissages dans différents domaines dont les langues, les mathématiques, l’univers social, les arts et le développement de la personne tout en prônant l’usage créatif des technologies. Ces activités sont conçues pour développer 5 compétences clé : pensée critique, collaboration, créativité, résolution de problèmes et pensée informatique.

Quelques banques d’activités pédagogiques

  • Les jeux d’Alloprof, qui permettent de pratiquer de notions scolaires tout en s’amusant.
  • PedagoNet offre des cahiers d’activités, des énigmes, des jeux d’apprentissage, des outils pédagogiques et d’autres ressources utiles. Les documents sont librement téléchargeables, adaptables, photocopiables.
  • La B@P (Banque d’activités pédagogiques) est un répertoire d’activités spécialisé en construction identitaire francophone, produit par l’Association canadienne d’éducation de langue française (ACELF). Les quelques 650 activités gratuites sont divisées par thème et ont pour but d’amener les élèves à réfléchir sur leur identité personnelle et culturelle tout en développant leur sens de la communication, de l’engagement et du leadership.
  • La Classe culturelle offre une multitude de ressources de qualité et d’initiatives dynamiques permettant d’intégrer la dimension culturelle à l’école, dans toutes les disciplines, du préscolaire au secondaire.
  • Le Réseau d’information pour la réussite éducative (RIRE) propose une sélection de jeux éducatifs. Chaque ressource comprend un court résumé.
  • Educatout fournir une panoplie d’activités et de ressources pédagogiques pour vous accompagner dans l’éducation des enfants.
  • Thot Cursus est un site dédié à la promotion de la formation et de l’utilisation des outils numériques pour l’éducation et la culture qui offre notamment un répertoire de vidéos éducatives ainsi qu’un répertoire de jeux sérieux sur une multitude de sujets et pour tous les âges.

Vous connaissez d’autres ressources en ligne intéressantes? Partagez-les avec nous en nous écrivant à info@ecolebranchee.com.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :