ADVERTISEMENT

Let's demystify learning disabilities

Canada - According to Statistics Canada, a child on a school bus has a learning disability. Yet the public does not seem to be well informed about what learning disabilities really are. A look at the causes, detection and forms of help.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Canada - According to Statistics Canada, a child on a school bus has a learning disability. Yet the public does not seem to be well informed about what learning disabilities really are. A look at the causes, detection and forms of help.

According to the national definition adopted by Canadian Association for Learning Disabilities, the expression “learning disabilities” (LD) refers to a number of dysfunctions that can affect the acquisition, organization, retention, understanding or processing of verbal or non-verbal information. These dysfunctions affect learning in people who otherwise demonstrate moderate intellectual skills essential for thought or reasoning.

In other words, LDs are neurological disorders that affect an individual's ability to remember, understand, or communicate information. Oral and written language and mathematics are particularly affected. They also involve organizational and social deficits. It is important to remember that learning disability is not synonymous with intellectual disability.

According to Statistics Canada's report on Participation and Activity Limitation Survey in 2006, learning disabilities affect more children in Canada than all other disabilities combined. Moreover, 3.2 % of Canadian children would have a learning disability.

The severity of learning disabilities varies from person to person, but they never go away completely. The relation between the demands of the environment, the strengths and the needs of the person varies the degree. It is possible that a person has more than one learning disability. The main ones are: dyslexia, dyspraxia, non-verbal dysfunction syndrome, dyscalculia, central hearing disorder and language disorder.

Causes
First of all, LDs are not attributable to an economic, environmental or cultural factor. They are also not related to vision or hearing problems. Lack of motivation or poor quality education are also irrelevant. However, all of these factors can influence the size of the challenges people face.

Rather, LDs result from genetic or neurobiological factors, or from brain dysfunction following brain damage. Heredity can also be a cause of LDs. It is not uncommon for parents or a close family member to experience difficulties similar to the individual. The use of drugs and alcohol during pregnancy, premature birth or difficult childbirth can also cause learning disabilities.

Screening
There are several signs that can alert those around people who may have learning disabilities. For example, unsatisfactory academic performance as a result of many efforts that far exceed normal may be a clue. LDs are also manifested by marked difficulty in listening, communicating, reading or writing. People with learning disabilities also regularly have socio-emotional and behavioral problems.

However, these problems should not be an isolated occurrence because a person of average intelligence may at one time or another find it difficult to learn at the same pace as others. Rather, LDs are recurring problems.

It is very important that people with learning disabilities are detected as early as possible. Since from the moment one or more TAs are detected in an individual, regular evaluations must be made by professionals. This is why we ask parents, teachers, doctors and other stakeholders to be vigilant.

Interventions
Different forms of help are available for people with learning disabilities. Interventions must be implemented at home, at school, at work and in the community. These interventions must take into account the unique characteristics of each individual, including the age and severity of the problem. Those around the person must be open to the specific needs of the person.

In addition, the Canadian Association for Learning Disabilities has provided, since 1963, support, tools and practical solutions to people with learning disabilities, but also to their families.

People with LDs can be successful as long as they learn coping skills and strategies. Remember, it's never too late to get help, no matter what age.

By Marie-Christine Leblanc

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Démystifions les troubles d’apprentissage

Canada – Selon Statistique Canada, un enfant par autobus scolaire a un trouble d’apprentissage. Pourtant, la population ne semble pas bien informée sur ce que sont réellement les troubles d’apprentissage. Coup d’œil sur les causes, le dépistage et les formes d’aide.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Canada – Selon Statistique Canada, un enfant par autobus scolaire a un trouble d’apprentissage. Pourtant, la population ne semble pas bien informée sur ce que sont réellement les troubles d’apprentissage. Coup d’œil sur les causes, le dépistage et les formes d’aide.

Selon la définition nationale adoptée par l’Association canadienne des troubles d’apprentissage, l’expression « troubles d’apprentissage » (TA) fait référence à un certain nombre de dysfonctionnements pouvant affecter l’acquisition, l’organisation, la rétention, la compréhension ou le traitement de l’information verbale ou non verbale. Ces dysfonctionnements affectent l’apprentissage chez des personnes qui, par ailleurs, font preuve d’habiletés intellectuelles moyennes essentielles à la pensée ou au raisonnement.

En d’autres mots, les TA sont des troubles neurologiques qui affectent la capacité d’un individu à retenir, à comprendre ou à communiquer de l’information. Le langage oral et écrit et les mathématiques sont particulièrement touchés. Ils impliquent aussi des déficits sur les plans organisationnel et social. Il est important de retenir que trouble d’apprentissage n’est pas synonyme de déficience intellectuelle.

Selon le rapport de Statistique Canada sur l’Enquête sur la participation et les limitations d’activités de 2006, les troubles d’apprentissage touchent plus d’enfants au pays que tous les autres handicaps réunis. D’ailleurs, 3,2 % des enfants canadiens auraient un trouble d’apprentissage.

Le degré de gravité des troubles d’apprentissage varie d’une personne à l’autre, mais ils ne disparaissent jamais totalement. La relation entre les exigences du milieu, les forces et les besoins de la personne fait varier le degré. Il est possible qu’une personne ait plusieurs troubles d’apprentissage. Les principaux sont : la dyslexie, la dyspraxie, le syndrome des dysfonctions non verbales, la dyscalculie, le trouble auditif central et le trouble du langage.

Causes
Les TA ne sont, tout d’abord, pas attribuables à un facteur économique, environnemental ou culture. Ils ne sont pas liés non plus à des problèmes de vision ou d’audition. Le manque de motivation ou un enseignement de piètre qualité n’entrent pas en ligne de compte non plus. Toutefois, tous ces facteurs peuvent influencer la taille des défis auxquels les personnes font face.

Les TA découlent plutôt de facteurs génétiques ou neurobiologiques, ou encore d’un dysfonctionnement au cerveau à la suite d’un dommage cérébral. L’hérédité peut aussi être une cause des TA. Il n’est pas rare que les parents ou un membre de la famille proche éprouvent des difficultés semblables à l’individu. La consommation de drogues et d’alcool durant la grossesse, une naissance prématurée ou un accouchement difficile peuvent également causer des troubles d’apprentissage.

Dépistage
Il y a plusieurs signes qui peuvent alerter l’entourage des personnes susceptibles d’avoir des troubles d’apprentissage. Par exemple, un rendement scolaire non satisfaisant à la suite de nombreux efforts qui dépassent largement la normale peut être un indice. Les TA se manifestent aussi par une difficulté marquée à écouter, à communiquer, à lire ou à écrire. Les personnes ayant des troubles d’apprentissage ont aussi régulièrement des problèmes sur les plans socio-affectif et comportemental.

Toutefois, ces problèmes ne doivent pas être un évènement isolé parce qu’une personne d’intelligence moyenne peut avoir, à un moment ou à un autre, du mal à apprendre au même rythme que les autres. Les TA sont plutôt des problèmes récurrents.

Il est très important que les personnes ayant des troubles d’apprentissage soient dépistées le plus tôt possible. Puisqu’à partir du moment où un ou des TA sont dépistés chez un individu, des évaluations régulières doivent être faites par des professionnels. C’est pourquoi on demande aux parents, aux enseignants, aux médecins et aux autres intervenants d’être vigilants.

Interventions
Différentes formes d’aide sont disponibles pour les personnes ayant des troubles d’apprentissage. Les interventions doivent être mises en place à la maison, à l’école, au travail et dans le milieu communautaire. Ces interventions doivent tenir compte des caractéristiques propres à chaque individu, notamment l’âge et la gravité du problème. L’entourage de la personne doit être ouvert aux besoins spécifiques de la personne.

Par ailleurs, l’Association canadienne des troubles d’apprentissage fournit, depuis 1963, du soutien, des outils et des solutions pratiques aux personnes ayant des troubles d’apprentissage, mais aussi à leur famille.

Les personnes ayant un TA peuvent tout réussir dans la mesure où ils acquièrent des habiletés et des stratégies d’adaptation. Il ne faut pas oublier qu’il n’est jamais trop tard pour obtenir de l’aide, peu importe l’âge.

Par Marie-Christine Leblanc

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :