ADVERTISEMENT

SOS DEVOIRS serving 6 to 12 year olds

Montreal - SOS DEVOIRS, a homework help tool, is added to the web portal of Montreal public libraries.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Montreal - SOS DEVOIRS, a homework help tool, is added to the web portal of Montreal public libraries.

OUR DUTIES is a new interactive area aimed at young people aged 6 to 12. This new service, launched last Monday, is part of the measures intended for Montreal families that were announced last March by Mayor Gérald Tremblay.

Among other things, the SOS DEVOIRS zone allows young people to chat between 4 p.m. and 5 p.m. and thus help each other at homework time. It is also a place of accompaniment where young people will find support in their research. Moreover, there is a section where all research topics are classified from A to Z.

The directory includes around a hundred subjects chosen according to the themes of the primary school program established by the Ministry of Education, Recreation and Sport of Quebec.

Each topic is accompanied by a brief description of the topic as such, books and DVDs available in the library, a Did you know? Box, tips and tricks, a quiz, and finally, a section where you can find several other resources to browse on the web.

The interactive environment of SOS DEVOIRS also allows young people to create content themselves. They will be able to recommend books or resources to their peers.

Toolbox is a section that aims to improve the efficiency and quality of student research. For example, if a young person does not know where to start when to search for a presentation, a detailed working method is offered to guide him or her.

“Integrated into our education system and adapted to the tastes of young people, SOS DEVOIRS is fun, interactive and linked to development 2.0 and the social web. […] Young people will soon be able to define SOS DEVOIRS as the new cool site ”, underlined, in a communicated, Helen Fotopulos, responsible for culture, heritage, design and the status of women on the executive committee of the City of Montreal.

Ms. Fotopulos launched SOS DEVOIRS in collaboration with Lyn Thériault, responsible for social and community development, family and seniors.

New sections coming soon
According to the press release, in addition to SOS DEVOIRS, three new areas will soon emerge: Reading, Seeing and Listening, Wow Montreal and Parent-Teachers.

In the Read, see and listen area, young people will introduce others to reading favorites. Digital works will be available and it will even be possible to make virtual meetings with Quebec authors.

Wow Montreal will consist of a directory of outings, activities, shows and walks to do in Montreal. The Parent-Teacher Zone, for its part, will offer a variety of tools and ideas to awaken young people to reading.

The City of Montreal has invested 168,000 $ in the initial development of the web portal intended for 6 to 12 year olds. It will inject 162,000 $ annually to enrich it over the next few years.

By Marie-Christine Leblanc

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

SOS DEVOIRS au service des 6 à 12 ans

Montréal – SOS DEVOIRS, un outil d’aide aux devoirs, s’ajoute au portail web des bibliothèques publiques de Montréal.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Montréal – SOS DEVOIRS, un outil d’aide aux devoirs, s’ajoute au portail web des bibliothèques publiques de Montréal.

SOS DEVOIRS est une nouvelle zone interactive qui s’adresse aux jeunes âgés de 6 à 12 ans. Ce nouveau service, lancé lundi dernier, s’inscrit dans les mesures destinées aux familles montréalaises qui ont été annoncées en mars dernier par le maire Gérald Tremblay.

La zone SOS DEVOIRS permet, entre autres, aux jeunes de clavarder entre 16h et 17h et ainsi, s’entraider à l’heure des devoirs. C’est aussi un lieu d’accompagnement où les jeunes vont trouver du soutien dans leurs recherches. D’ailleurs, il y a une section où tous les sujets de recherche sont classés de A à Z.

Le répertoire comprend une centaine de sujets choisis en fonction des thématiques du programme des écoles primaires établi par le ministère de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport du Québec.

Chacun des sujets est accompagné d’une brève description du sujet en tant que tel, des livres et DVD disponibles en bibliothèque, un encadré Savais-tu?, des trucs et astuces, un jeu-questionnaire, et finalement, une section où se retrouvent plusieurs autres ressources à parcourir sur le web.

L’environnement interactif de SOS DEVOIRS permet aussi aux jeunes de créer eux-mêmes du contenu. Ils pourront recommander des livres ou des ressources à leurs pairs.

Coffre à outils est une section qui vise à améliorer l’efficacité et la qualité des recherches effectuées par les élèves. Par exemple, si un jeune ne sait pas par où commencer quand il doit faire une recherche pour un exposé, une méthode de travail détaillée est proposée pour l’orienter.

« Intégré à notre système d’éducation et adapté aux goûts des jeunes, SOS DEVOIRS est ludique, interactif et en lien avec le développement 2.0 et le web social. […] Les jeunes auront tôt fait de définir SOS DEVOIRS comme le nouveau site cool », a souligné, dans un communiqué, Helen Fotopulos, responsable de la culture, du patrimoine, du design et de la condition féminine au comité exécutif de la Ville de Montréal.

Mme Fotopulos a procédé au lancement de SOS DEVOIRS en collaboration avec Lyn Thériault, responsable du développement social et communautaire, de la famille et des aînés.

Nouvelles sections à venir
Selon le communiqué, outre SOS DEVOIRS, trois nouvelles zones verront le jour sous peu : Lire, voir et écouter, Wow Montréal et Parents-enseignants.

Dans la zone Lire, voir et écouter, les jeunes feront découvrir aux autres des coups de cœurs de lecture. Des œuvres numériques seront disponibles et il sera même possible de faire des rencontres virtuelles avec des auteurs québécois.

Wow Montréal consistera en un répertoire de sorties, d’activités, de spectacles et de promenades à faire à Montréal. La zone Parents-enseignants, quant à elle, offrira une panoplie d’outils et d’idées pour éveiller les jeunes à la lecture.

La Ville de Montréal a investi 168 000 $ dans le développement initial du portail web destiné aux 6 à 12 ans. Elle injectera 162 000 $ annuellement pour l’enrichir au cours des prochaines années.

Par Marie-Christine Leblanc

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct