ADVERTISEMENT

Happy World Teachers' Day!

October 5th is World Teachers' Day. It has been held every year since 1994, when it was created by UNESCO, and celebrates teachers all over the world. “Its aim is to mobilize support for teachers and ensure that teachers continue to provide for the needs of future generations. "

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

October 5 is World Teachers' Day. It has been held every year since 1994, when it was created by UNESCO, and celebrates teachers all over the world. “Its aim is to mobilize support for teachers and ensure that teachers continue to provide for the needs of future generations. "

The theme chosen this year is "Take action for teachers!" "" Teachers define our collective capacity to innovate, to invent, to find solutions for the future. Nothing will ever replace a good teacher. Nothing is more important than supporting them, ”says Irina Bokova, Director-General of UNESCO. Moreover, according to the Secretary-General of the United Nations, Ban Ki-moon, there is a shortage of about two million additional teachers in the world to achieve the Millennium Development Goal, aimed at making universal primary education of by 2015.

The official UNESCO website offers a nice poster to download. In addition, it offers a virtual card service through which young people and adults can send a note to their teacher to show them their gratitude for their work.

Closer to home, in Quebec, a group of educational establishments in the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region offers the " Thank you table ". The initiative invites people everywhere to participate: “Has a teacher made a positive impact on your life? helped make you who you are? made a significant difference in your child's journey? Thank him on THE TABLE OF THANKS! », Can we read on the site.

On the occasion of this day, the Commission scolaire de Montréal recognizes the work of the members of its teaching staff by proposing watch some video clips made in their honor.

At the pan-Canadian level, Prime Minister Stephen Harper this week presented the Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence in Teaching and Excellence in Early Childhood Education. As explained in the press release, “94 teachers and educators from across Canada received awards, and 27 of them traveled to Ottawa to receive their Certificate of Excellence (a national award) from the Prime Minister and attend three days of celebration and professional development activities. In addition to the certificates of excellence, 67 certificates of honor will be awarded regionally. "

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Bonne journée mondiale des enseignants!

Le 5 octobre, c’est la journée mondiale des enseignants. Elle a lieu chaque année depuis 1994, date de sa création par l'UNESCO, et célèbre les enseignant(e)s partout dans le monde. « Son but est de mobiliser du soutien en faveur des enseignant(e)s et d'assurer que ces derniers continueront à subvenir aux besoins des générations futures. »

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Le 5 octobre, c’est la journée mondiale des enseignants. Elle a lieu chaque année depuis 1994, date de sa création par l’UNESCO, et célèbre les enseignant(e)s partout dans le monde. « Son but est de mobiliser du soutien en faveur des enseignant(e)s et d’assurer que ces derniers continueront à subvenir aux besoins des générations futures. »

Le thème retenu cette année est « Agissons pour les enseignantes et les enseignants! » « Les enseignants définissent notre capacité collective à innover, à inventer, à trouver des solutions pour l’avenir. Rien ne remplacera jamais un bon enseignant. Rien n’est plus important que de les soutenir », indique Irina Bokova, directrice générale de l’UNESCO. D’ailleurs, selon le secrétaire général des Nations Unies, Ban Ki-moon, il manque environ deux millions d’enseignants supplémentaires dans le monde pour atteindre l’objectif du Millénaire pour le développement, visant à rendre l’enseignement primaire universel d’ici à 2015.

Le site officiel de l’UNESCO propose une belle affiche à télécharger. De plus, il offre un service de cartes virtuelles grâce auxquelles jeunes et adultes peuvent envoyer un mot à leur enseignant(e) pour leur témoigner leur gratitude devant leur travail.

Plus près de nous, au Québec, un regroupement d’établissements d’enseignement de la région du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean propose le « Tableau aux mercis ». L’initiative invite les gens de partout à participer : « un enseignant a marqué positivement votre vie? a participé à faire de vous celui ou celle que vous êtes? a fait une différence significative dans le parcours de votre enfant? Remerciez-le sur LE TABLEAU AUX MERCIS! », peut-on lire sur le site.

À l’occasion de cette journée, la Commission scolaire de Montréal reconnaît le travail des membres de son personnel enseignant en proposant de visionner quelques capsules vidéo réalisées en leur honneur.

Au niveau pan-canadien, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a remis cette semaine les Prix du Premier ministre pour l’excellence dans l’enseignement et l’excellence en éducation de la petite enfance. Tel qu’expliqué dans le communiqué, « 94 enseignants et éducateurs de partout au Canada ont reçu un prix, et 27 d’entre eux se sont rendus à Ottawa pour recevoir leur certificat d’excellence (un prix national) des mains du Premier ministre et assister à trois journées d’activités de célébration et de perfectionnement professionnel. En plus des certificats d’excellence, 67 certificats d’honneur seront remis à l’échelle régionale. »

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :