ADVERTISEMENT

AQUOPS 2013 - Minister Marie Malavoy visits delegates

The visit of the Minister of Education, Recreation and Sport of Quebec, Ms. Marie Malavoy, marked the conclusion of the 31st edition of the AQUOPS annual conference, which was held from March 26 to 28, 2013 in Quebec.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

The visit of the Minister of Education, Recreation and Sport of Quebec, Ms. Marie Malavoy, marked the conclusion of the 31e edition of the AQUOPS annual conference, which was held from March 26 to 28, 2013 in Quebec City.

About a hundred delegates gathered to welcome him and hear him during the closing activity of the event. His visit had only been arranged the day before. Despite this, she delivered a speech that did not fail to delight many of the people present.

His message mainly focused on 3 axes: free software in education, his decision to interrupt the program to massively equip Quebec's classes with interactive whiteboards and the promotion of a new online dictionary emphasizing Quebec culture.

Minister Marie Malavoy, accompanied by the outgoing president of AQUOPS, Mr. Mario Morin, and the new president, Mr. Patrick Beaupré. Photo: A. Miller.

From the outset, she expressed her support for the integration of technologies in education. "They are wonderful, but they can be dangerous." Hence the importance that must be given to digital citizenship education. She recalls these disastrous cases related to cyberbullying. She remembers: “In my time, we used to shout names and curse each other, but it ended there. Today, with digital technology and social networks, it can go much further. Many young people struggle to survive because of this. »She took the opportunity to greet the digital citizenship program of the Lester-B.-Pearson School Board. She is also in favor of free software, which offers accessibility to all and promotes collaboration, an orientation that AQUOPS shares.

Secondly, she took the time to explain that the technological equipment of schools should not be done by considering that all needs are the same everywhere. According to her, the interactive whiteboard is a very interesting tool, but not necessarily the right one for all environments. This is why she advocates a reflection to arrive at another solution. On this, all seem to agree, provided that this solution comes quickly!

Finally, she invited to discover Usito, a new online dictionary adapted to Quebec culture, which has been produced since 2001 by teams from the University of Sherbrooke and various partners, mainly from the public sector. According to the website of the tool, the content base comes, among other things, from Computerized treasury of the French language and Large terminological dictionary, both accessible free of charge. The annual subscription to Usito is calculated according to the number of students in the establishment.

Ms. Malavoy then left the delegates for a short meeting with various players in free software in education in Quebec.


Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

AQUOPS 2013 – La ministre Marie Malavoy rend visite aux congressistes

La visite de la ministre de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport du Québec, Mme Marie Malavoy, a marqué la conclusion de la 31e édition du colloque annuel de l’AQUOPS, qui s’est tenu du 26 au 28 mars 2013 à Québec.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

La visite de la ministre de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport du Québec, Mme Marie Malavoy, a marqué la conclusion de la 31e édition du colloque annuel de l’AQUOPS, qui s’est tenu du 26 au 28 mars 2013 à Québec.

Une centaine de congressistes se sont rassemblés pour l’accueillir et l’entendre lors de l’activité de clôture de l’événement. Sa visite avait été organisée la veille seulement. Malgré cela, elle a prononcé une allocution qui n’a pas manqué de ravir plusieurs des gens présents.

Son message a principalement porté sur 3 axes : le logiciel libre dans l’éducation, sa décision d’interrompre le programme d’équipement massif des classes du Québec en tableaux interactifs et la promotion d’un nouveau dictionnaire en ligne mettant l’accent sur la culture québécoise.

La ministre Marie Malavoy, en compagnie du président sortant de l’AQUOPS, M. Mario Morin, et du nouveau président, M. Patrick Beaupré. Photo : A. Miller.

D’entrée de jeu, elle a exprimé son soutien à l’intégration des technologies dans l’éducation. « Elles sont merveilleuses, mais elles peuvent être dangereuses ». D’où l’importance qui doit être accordée à l’éducation à la citoyenneté numérique. Elle rappelle ces désastreux cas liés à la cyberintimidation. Elle se rappelle : « Dans mon temps, on se criait des noms, on s’injuriait, mais ça se terminait là. Aujourd’hui, avec le numérique et les réseaux sociaux, ça peut aller beaucoup plus loin. De nombreux jeunes peinent à survivre à cause de cela. » Elle en profite à cet effet pour saluer le programme de citoyenneté numérique de la Commission scolaire Lester-B.-Pearson. Elle se montre également favorable aux logiciels libres, qui proposent l’accessibilité à tous et font la promotion de la collaboration, une orientation que l’AQUOPS partage.

Dans un deuxième temps, elle a pris le temps d’expliquer que l’équipement technologique des écoles ne doit pas se faire en considérant que tous les besoins sont pareils partout. Selon elle, le tableau interactif est un outil très intéressant, mais pas nécessairement le bon pour tous les milieux. C’est pourquoi elle prône une réflexion pour en arriver à une autre solution. Là-dessus, tous semblent être d’accord, à condition que cette solution vienne vite!

Enfin, elle a invité à découvrir Usito, un nouveau dictionnaire en ligne adapté à la culture québécoise, qui a été réalisé depuis 2001 par des équipes de l’Université de Sherbrooke et différents partenaires, principalement du secteur public. Selon le site de l’outil, la base des contenus provient entre autres du Trésor de la langue française informatisé et du Grand dictionnaire terminologique, tous deux accessibles gratuitement. L’abonnement annuel à Usito se calcule selon le nombre d’élèves dans l’établissement.

Mme Malavoy a ensuite quitté les congressistes pour une courte rencontre avec différents acteurs du logiciel libre en éducation au Québec.


Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :