ADVERTISEMENT

Guidance approach: favor simple projects for guaranteed success!

In its integration of the guidance-oriented approach, Otapi high school notes that large-scale projects are attractive, but are not guarantees of success. Return on two real-life cases and their results. Today, a simple project combining geography and IT.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

In its integration of the guidance-oriented approach, Otapi high school notes that large-scale projects are attractive, but are not guarantees of success. Return on two real-life cases and their results. Today, a simple project combining geography and IT.

The guidance approach allows students to develop a better knowledge of themselves and the world of work through multidisciplinary projects. However, it is sometimes difficult to complete such projects, in particular because of their scale. Simplicity is therefore essential. Here are two examples from Otapi High School, in Manwan in the Lanaudière region: the first is simple and short, while the second is more complex and long. The results speak for themselves.

Spanning one stage, the first project in question allowed students from 1time secondary school to master the particularities of a capital of their choice in order to present it to their peers. They first learned about the characteristics of a capital and developed a research outline with their geography teacher. The outline was then given to the computer teacher, who supervised the students in their research on the Internet so that they collect data and collate it properly in a Microsoft Word document. Subsequently, he taught them the basics of Microsoft Power Point presentation software, useful for their oral presentation planned in French lessons.

The goal of this joint geography-computer project was to allow students to discover skills or personal talents that were sometimes unsuspected, or even gaps on which to work in order to later be able to work in fields related to these fields of work.

Tomorrow we will see another example following the guidance approach, for which we have seen a little big this time, as well as the importance of leadership in the realization of larger projects.

In your community, do you have any examples of projects carried out using the guidance-oriented approach that have been successful? Others who present challenges to be achievable? Please feel free to participate using the comments module below.

 

Editor's note: To watch: Symposium on the Guidance Approach : March 26, 27 and 28, 2014 at the Hilton Quebec

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Felipe Antaya
Felipe Antaya
Pursuing studies in educational technology, Felipe Antaya has worked for several years in the field of education at the secondary and college level. Holder of a master's degree in Quebec studies and a bachelor's degree in philosophy, he has also worked in the field of written media.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Approche orientante : favoriser les projets simples pour un succès assuré!

Dans son intégration de l’approche orientante, l’école secondaire Otapi fait le constat que les projets d’une grande ampleur séduisent, mais ne sont pas gages de succès. Retour sur deux cas vécus et leurs résultats. Aujourd’hui, un projet simple combinant géographie et informatique.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Dans son intégration de l’approche orientante, l’école secondaire Otapi fait le constat que les projets d’une grande ampleur séduisent, mais ne sont pas gages de succès. Retour sur deux cas vécus et leurs résultats. Aujourd’hui, un projet simple combinant géographie et informatique.

L’approche orientante permet aux élèves de développer une meilleure connaissance d’eux-mêmes et du monde du travail par l’entremise de projets multidisciplinaires. Or, il est parfois ardu de mener à terme de tels projets, notamment en raison de leur ampleur. La simplicité est donc de mise. Voici d’ailleurs deux exemples vécus à l’École secondaire Otapi, à Manwan dans la région de Lanaudière : le premier est simple et court, alors que le second est plus complexe et long. Les résultats parlent d’eux-mêmes.

S’échelonnant sur une étape, le premier projet dont il est question a permis aux élèves de 1ère secondaire de maîtriser les particularités d’une capitale de leur choix pour en faire la présentation à leurs pairs. Ils ont, dans un premier temps, pris connaissance des caractéristiques d’une capitale et ont élaboré un canevas de recherche avec leur enseignante de géographie. Le canevas a ensuite été remis à l’enseignant d’informatique, qui a encadré les élèves dans leur recherche sur Internet afin qu’ils collectent des données et les colligent adéquatement dans un document Microsoft Word. Par la suite, il leur a enseigné les rudiments du logiciel de présentation Microsoft Power Point, utile pour leur présentation orale prévue en cours de français.

Ce projet commun géographie-informatique avait comme but de permettre aux élèves de se découvrir des aptitudes ou des talents personnels parfois insoupçonnés, ou encore des lacunes sur lesquelles travailler pour pouvoir plus tard œuvrer dans des domaines liés à ces champs de travail.

Nous verrons demain un autre exemple suivant l’approche orientante, pour lequel on a vu un peu grand, cette fois, ainsi que l’importance du leadership dans la réalisation de projets de plus grande ampleur.

Dans votre milieu, avez-vous des exemples de projets réalisés selon l’approche orientante qui ont été des succès? D’autres qui présentent des défis pour être réalisables?  N’hésitez pas à participer à l’aide du module de commentaires plus bas.

 

NDLR : À surveiller : Colloque sur l’Approche Orientante : 26, 27 et 28 mars 2014 au Hilton Québec

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Felipe Antaya
Felipe Antaya
Poursuivant des études en technologie éducative, Felipe Antaya travaille depuis plusieurs années dans le milieu de l’éducation au niveau secondaire et collégial. Titulaire d’une maîtrise en études québécoises et d’un baccalauréat en philosophie, il a aussi œuvré dans le milieu des médias écrits.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :