ADVERTISEMENT

AGE: Intergenerational discussions and learning in the digital age

In place for nearly 20 years, ApprentissÂge, a transgenerational co-education program allowing the pairing of retirees and 5th year students from Wilfrid-Bastien school in Montreal, almost disappeared due to the pandemic. Fortunately, he was able to reinvent himself for the 2020-2021 school year.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

ApprentissÂGE has been in place for almost 20 years, a transgenerational co-education program allowing the pairing of retirees and students of 5e year of Wilfrid-Bastien school in Montreal, almost disappeared due to the pandemic. Fortunately, he was able to reinvent himself for the 2020-2021 school year.

"The Apprenticeship program (Learn with Elders in English) does not purport to solve the problem of retiree loneliness by pairing them online with 5th grade students. Nonetheless, our small contribution can certainly make a difference. The online formula allows us to keep the program on a solid footing, ”says Pierre Poulin, teacher behind the project.

While in the years gone by, the Apprenticeship project took the form of intergenerational meetings in class, we had to start from scratch. Mr. Pierre succeeded in recruiting retirees fairly comfortable with technology and interested in video communication to maintain the project. Some of the participants are also retired teachers or from other professions who wanted to establish contact with young people. It is important to salute them here for their commitment: Renée, Estelle (Quebec), Marie, Serge, Louise, Jean-Pierre (Montreal) and Françoise (Guatemala).

Concretely, the students of Mr. Pierre's class and the ApprentisSAGES meet for about 40 minutes at least once a week. Everyone introduces themselves, brings up discussion topics, proposes projects. Calligraphy and painting workshops have also taken place recently.

“The exchanges are enriching for both young people and retirees. They promote the sharing of knowledge and skills on both sides. The ApprentisSAGES are even invited to the online classroom platform. They can thus see and improve student activities, interact with parents, etc. "

Intergeneration

Pierre Poulin is a great believer in the benefits of intergenerational exchanges and he has seen the positive results over the past 20 years. However, this type of project remains uncommon in schools here and elsewhere.

In order to create international bridges with French-speaking volunteers and to benefit from support, the program has been associated for several years with the global movement called Learn With Grandma, co-founded by Valérie Wood-Gaiger and Sugata Mitra, famous researcher at the head of the program A Hole in the Wall.

So Mr. Poulin was pleasantly surprised when he was invited to present the program during a international event on how to break isolation as a pandemic last November. The event was presented by World Learning and Digital Communication Network SouthEast Europe Hub. Guest speakers came from Canada, USA, India, Serbia, etc.

Retirees who would like to participate in the project are invited to contact the school principal, Isabelle Massé.


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article

5- Collaborate using digital technology
12- Innovate and be creative with digital technology

To see the Framework.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ApprentissÂGE : Discussions intergénérationnelles et apprentissage à l’ère du numérique

Publié le :

En place depuis près de 20 ans, ApprentissÂge, un programme de coéducation transgénérationnelle permettant le jumelage entre retraités et élèves de 5e année de l’école Wilfrid-Bastien de Montréal, a failli disparaître en raison de la pandémie. Heureusement, il a su se réinventer pour l’année scolaire 2020-2021.
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

En place depuis près de 20 ans, ApprentissÂGE, un programme de coéducation transgénérationnelle permettant le jumelage entre retraités et élèves de 5e année de l’école Wilfrid-Bastien de Montréal, a failli disparaître en raison de la pandémie. Heureusement, il a su se réinventer pour l’année scolaire 2020-2021.

« Le programme ApprentissÂGE (Learn with Elders en anglais) ne prétend pas résoudre le problème de la solitude des retraités en les jumelant en ligne avec des élèves de 5e année. Néanmoins, notre petite contribution peut certainement faire une différence. La formule en ligne nous permet de maintenir le programme sur des bases solides », indique Pierre Poulin, enseignant à l’origine du projet.

Alors que dans les années passées, le projet ApprentissÂGE prenait la forme de rencontres intergénérationnelles en classe, il a fallu repartir de zéro. M. Pierre a réussi à recruter des retraités assez à l’aise avec les technologies et intéressés par la visiocommunication pour maintenir le projet. Certains des participants sont d’ailleurs des enseignants à la retraite ou issus d’autres professions qui avaient le goût d’établir un contact avec des jeunes. Il est important de les saluer ici pour leur engagement : Renée, Estelle (Québec), Marie, Serge, Louise, Jean-Pierre (Montréal) et Françoise (Guatemala).

Concrètement, les élèves de la classe de M. Pierre et les ApprentisSAGES se réunissent pendant environ 40 minutes au moins une fois par semaine. Chacun se présente, amène des thématiques de discussion, propose des projets. Des ateliers de calligraphie et de peinture ont aussi eu lieu dernièrement.

« Les échanges sont enrichissants autant pour les jeunes que les retraités. Ils favorisent le partage de connaissance et de compétences de part et d’autre. Les ApprentisSAGES sont même invités sur la plateforme de classe en ligne. Ils peuvent ainsi voir et bonifier les activités des élèves, échanger avec les parents, etc. »

Intergénération

Pierre Poulin croit énormément aux bienfaits des échanges entre générations et il en a constaté les retombées positives au cours des 20 dernières années. Néanmoins, ce genre de projet demeure peu commun dans les écoles d’ici et d’ailleurs.

Afin de créer des ponts internationaux avec des bénévoles francophones et de bénéficier de soutien, le programme est associé depuis quelques années au mouvement mondial appelé Learn With Grandma, cofondé par Valérie Wood-Gaiger et Sugata Mitra, célèbre chercheur à la tête du programme A Hole in the Wall.

C’est ainsi que M. Poulin a été agréablement surpris lorsqu’il a été invité à présenter le programme lors d’un événement international portant sur les façons de briser l’isolement en tant de pandémie en novembre dernier. L’événement était présenté par World Learning et Digital Communication Network SouthEast Europe Hub. Les conférenciers invités provenaient du Canada, des États-Unis, de l’Inde, de la Serbie, etc.

Les retraités qui aimeraient participer au projet sont invités à communiquer avec la directrice de l’école, Isabelle Massé.


Dimension(s) de la compétence numérique en lien avec cet article

5- Collaborer à l’aide du numérique
12- Innover et faire preuve de créativité avec le numérique

Voir le Cadre de référence.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!