ADVERTISEMENT

Flexible accommodation: from classroom management to individual management

Flexible classroom layout is a trend that is increasingly being seen in schools. To talk about it, we met two specialists in the issue, Geneviève Marcoux and Isabelle Patenaude, who provide their advice.

You might also like:

Flexible classroom layout is a trend that is increasingly being seen in schools. To talk about it, we met two specialists in the issue, Geneviève Marcoux and Isabelle Patenaude, who provide their advice. 

First of all, to better understand this trend, Geneviève Marcoux, interim coordinator at the CS de Laval, suggests replacing the term “flexible planning” by “flexible environment”. Indeed, as Isabelle Patenaude, specialist at Brault & Bouthillier adds, it is a question of considering one's classroom as a living environment. 

An environment that must reflect the pedagogy above all

What we remember: the environment created from flexible furniture must above all reflect the teacher's pedagogy. Also, it should especially not be a competition of the finest class! Indeed, teachers who adopt it must avoid comparing themselves to others. In addition, everyone has their own level of tolerance for noise and movement in the classroom. Finally, what can work one year may have to be adapted the following year depending on the characteristics of the students in the group.

In short, it is about listening to the needs of young people, but also to your own needs as a professional. Also, it is necessary to favor a versatile and adaptable material. We also recommend that you take the time to clearly explain the expectations of young people in their use of each of the zones of a flexible class. 

Geneviève Marcoux and Isabelle Patenaude are reassuring: young people are able to adapt their behavior according to areas and tasks, just as they do at home, for example by reading lying in their bed, studying sitting on the floor, but by sitting upright at the table. 

So, ball, ball chair, swinging stool, transitional chair, rocking chair, floor chair, low desk, high desk, will they soon furnish your classroom?

Listen to the interview for all the advice! 

In addition, Carrefour education offers you its  flexible planning guide.

Also: Teachers in Quebec and French-speaking Canada benefit from CADRE21's free online training on the flexible planning pedagogy, produced in collaboration with UQÀM.

Produced with the support of Carrefour Education.

Carrefour éducation


Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Stéphanie Dionne
Stephanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne is director of development and partnerships, facilitator and speaker. It contributes to the influence of players in the education sector and its ecosystem. In addition, it supports parents, teachers and workers in a mentality of co-education in order to allow young people to become fulfilled citizens in the digital age.

L’aménagement flexible : de la gestion de classe à la gestion de l’individu

mis à jour le :

L’aménagement flexible des classes est une tendance qu’on rencontre de plus en plus dans les écoles. Pour en parler, nous avons rencontré deux spécialistes de la question, Geneviève Marcoux et Isabelle Patenaude, qui prodiguent leurs conseils. 

Tout d’abord, pour mieux comprendre cette tendance, Geneviève Marcoux, coordonnatrice par intérim à la CS de Laval, suggère de remplacer le terme « aménagement flexible » par « environnement flexible ». En effet, tel que le renchérit Isabelle Patenaude, spécialiste chez Brault & Bouthillier, il s’agit d’envisager sa classe comme un milieu de vie. 

Un environnement qui doit refléter la pédagogie avant tout

Ce qu’on retient : l’environnement créé à partir de mobilier flexible doit avant tout refléter la pédagogie de l’enseignant. Aussi, il ne doit surtout pas s’agir d’un concours de la plus belle classe! En effet, les enseignants qui l’adoptent doivent éviter de se comparer aux autres. De plus, chacun a son niveau de tolérance au bruit et au mouvement dans la classe. Enfin, ce qui peut fonctionner une année devra possiblement être adapté l’année suivante en fonction des caractéristiques des élèves du groupe.

Bref, il s’agit d’être à l’écoute des besoins des jeunes, mais aussi de ses propres besoins comme professionnel. Aussi, il faut privilégier un matériel polyvalent et adaptable. On conseille d’ailleurs de prendre le temps d’expliciter clairement les attentes envers les jeunes dans leur usage de chacune des zones d’une classe flexible. 

Geneviève Marcoux et Isabelle Patenaude se font rassurantes : les jeunes sont capables d’adapter leur comportement selon les zones et les tâches, tout comme ils le font à la maison, par exemple en lisant couchés dans leur lit, en étudiant assis par terre, mais en s’asseyant bien droit à table. 

Alors, ballon, chaise-ballon, tabouret oscillant, chaise transitionnelle, chaise berçante, chaise de sol, pupitre bas, pupitre haut meubleront-ils prochainement votre classe?

Écoutez vite l’entrevue pour tous les conseils! 

En complément, Carrefour éducation vous propose son  guide sur l’aménagement flexible.

Aussi : Les enseignants du Québec et du Canada francophone bénéficient de la formation en ligne gratuite du CADRE21 sur la pédagogie en aménagement flexible, réalisée en collaboration avec l’UQÀM.

Réalisé avec le soutien de Carrefour Éducation.

Carrefour éducation




ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : Nos abonnés connectés ne voient pas ces annonces!
Avatar
Stéphanie Dionne est directrice du développement et des partenariats, animatrice et conférencière. Elle est coach professionnelle certifiée en PNL et MBraining. Elle contribue au rayonnement des acteurs du milieu de l'Éducation et de son écosystème. De plus, elle accompagnement les parents, les enseignants et les intervenants dans une mentalité de coéducation afin de permettre aux jeunes de devenir des citoyens épanouis à l'ère du numérique.