Adapt distance education to the level of study

What are the differences between primary, secondary or post-secondary education when students are not in class? Here is a summary of the elements to adapt, according to Serge Gérin-Lajoie, professor at TÉLUQ.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Second part (see part 1) of our account of the words of Serge Gérin-Lajoie, professor at TELUQ University, during his appearance on the program “Ça s'explicable” on Radio-Canada radio on September 16, which we have could complete thanks to his notes (thank you!).

Primary, secondary, or post-secondary, what differences?

Essentially, what changes according to the level of education is the nature of the supervision, accompaniment and support, estimates Mr. Gérin-Lajoie. The younger the pupils, the more structured the supervision must be. We must also think about involving the parents and those around the children to keep them on the right track. “Just as lessons and homework in elementary school are usually done under the supervision of an adult or a family member, remotely, it's the same thing,” he adds. It is essential that the teacher has constant and regular contact with the children to show them new things, to provide feedback, but also to check their progress. In this sense, synchronous meetings are practically unavoidable.

As the levels of education progress, young people mature and are able to be more independent. The accompaniment and support of students must be a little more open, while being structured. Even in a distance university course, the pedagogical scenario foresees what will be done by the students to learn, but also all the interventions that will be made by the teacher to ensure that they progress, remain motivated and succeed.

Thus, what changes in distance education according to the level of education is the rigidity of the structure, the accompaniment and the support, summarizes Mr. Gérin-Lajoie.

Define synchronous and asynchronous vocabulary

The notions of synchronous and asynchronous refer to the use of students' time to learn, as well as to the means of communication recommended for exchanges between a teacher and his students. 

Synchronous teaching means that the teacher and the pupils communicate and exchange at the same time, therefore generally face-to-face in a classroom or a physical place. 

In distance learning, we talk synchronous teaching when organizing sessions on platforms like Zoom, Teams, Meet, Skype, etc. We can also suggest activities where the students exchange at a distance using text messages for example.

For the professor of the TELUQ education department, synchronous distance education is interesting in situations where the teacher must maintain an ongoing relationship with the children, especially in preschool and elementary school. However, this type of education offers less flexibility since it implies that all the actors must meet at the same time, which is much more restrictive.  

When we speak asynchronous distance education, the pupils are called upon to walk at their own pace. The teacher ensures to offer support, accompaniment, to answer their questions, to provide the resources and didactic materials necessary to progress. This can be through a website containing all the documents, videos, instructions, audio clips, hyperlinks, among others. Asynchronous communications and exchanges are spread over time by the use of email, a discussion forum, a blog, a collaborative wall of the Padlet type, etc. Asynchronous distance education imposes much less time constraints at this level.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Maryline Barrette Dubé
A graduate of a bachelor's degree in public communication, a “marketer” for more than 15 years, Maryline has been working to promote École branchée's activities and to publicize the organization's mandate since 2018. She is a devoted mother, an assumed epicurean. and IPA lover who, in her spare time, enjoys blog.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Adapter l’enseignement à distance au niveau d’études

Quelles sont les différences entre l'enseignement du primaire, du secondaire ou du post-secondaire lorsque les élèves ne sont pas en classe? Voici un résumé des éléments à adapter, selon Serge Gérin-Lajoie, professeur à la TÉLUQ.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Deuxième partie (voir la 1re partie) de notre compte-rendu des propos de Serge Gérin-Lajoie, professeur à l’Université TÉLUQ, lors de son passage à l’émission « Ça s’explique » à la radio de Radio-Canada le 16 septembre dernier, que nous avons pu compléter grâce à ses notes (merci!).

Primaire, secondaire, ou post-secondaire, quelles différences?

Essentiellement, ce qui change selon les ordres d’enseignement, c’est la nature de l’encadrement, de l’accompagnement et du soutien, estime M. Gérin-Lajoie. Plus les élèves sont jeunes, plus l’encadrement doit être structuré. On doit penser aussi à impliquer les parents, l’entourage des enfants pour les garder sur la bonne voie. « Tout comme les leçons et les devoirs au primaire se font généralement sous la supervision d’un adulte ou d’un membre de la famille, à distance c’est la même chose »  ajoute-t-il. Il est essentiel que l’enseignant ait un contact constant et régulier avec les enfants pour leur montrer de nouvelles choses, fournir de la rétroaction, mais également vérifier leur progression. Dans ce sens, les rencontres synchrones sont pratiquement incontournables.

Au fil des ordres d’enseignement, les jeunes mûrissent et sont en mesure d’être plus autonomes. L’accompagnement et le soutien des élèves doit être un peu plus ouvert, tout en étant structuré. Même dans un cours universitaire à distance, le scénario pédagogique prévoit ce qui sera fait par les étudiants pour apprendre, mais aussi toutes les interventions qui seront faites par l’enseignant pour s’assurer qu’ils cheminent, restent motivés et réussissent.

Ainsi, ce qui change dans l’enseignement à distance selon les ordres d’enseignement, c’est la rigidité de la structure, de l’accompagnement et du soutien, résume M. Gérin-Lajoie.

Définir le vocabulaire synchrone et asynchrone

Les notions de synchrone et asynchrone réfèrent à l’utilisation du temps des élèves pour apprendre, ainsi qu’aux moyens de communication préconisés pour les échanges entre un enseignant et ses élèves. 

Un enseignement synchrone signifie que l’enseignant et les élèves communiquent et échangent en même temps, donc généralement en présentiel dans une salle de classe ou un lieu physique. 

En formation à distance, on parle d’enseignement synchrone lorsqu’on organise des séances sur des plateformes comme Zoom, Teams, Meet, Skype, etc. On peut aussi suggérer des activités où les élèves échangent à distance en utilisant des messages-textes par exemple.

Pour le professeur du département d’éducation de la TÉLUQ, l’enseignement à distance synchrone est intéressant dans des situations où l’enseignant doit entretenir une relation continue avec les enfants, notamment au préscolaire et au primaire. Toutefois, ce type d’enseignement offre moins de flexibilité puisqu’il implique que tous les acteurs doivent se rencontrer en même temps, ce qui est beaucoup plus contraignant.  

Lorsqu’on parle d’enseignement à distance asynchrone, les élèves sont appelés à cheminer à leur rythme. L’enseignant s’assure d’offrir du soutien, de l’accompagnement, de répondre à leurs questions, de fournir les ressources et matériels didactiques nécessaires pour cheminer. Ce peut être par le biais d’un site Web contenant tous les documents, vidéos, consignes, capsules audios, hyperliens, entre autres. Les communications et échanges asynchrones sont étalés dans le temps par l’utilisation du courriel, d’un forum de discussion, d’un blogue, d’un mur collaboratif de type Padlet, etc. L’enseignement à distance asynchrone impose beaucoup moins de contraintes de temps à ce niveau.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Maryline Barrette Dubé
Diplômée d’un baccalauréat en communication publique, « marketer » depuis plus de 15 ans, Maryline oeuvre au rayonnement des activités de l’École branchée et à faire connaître le mandat de l’organisation depuis 2018. C'est une maman dévouée, épicurienne assumée et amateure de IPA qui, dans ses temps libres, aime bloguer.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!