Academos demystifies vocational training for young people with the Breathtaking Careers campaign

Academos launched on October 10 the second edition of the Breathtaking Professions web campaign, the objective of which is to introduce young people to vocational training (VET) professions while connecting them with the world of work.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Montreal, October 10, 2018. - Academos, the benchmark in mentoring for young people in Quebec, today launches the second edition of the web campaign Breathtaking jobs, whose objective is to introduce young people to vocational training (VET) professions while connecting them with the world of work.

Even though the number of enrollments in vocational training has been on the rise for several years, the demand for these graduates is greater than ever in many sectors with a serious shortage of skilled labor.

According to Statistics Canada, in the first quarter of 2018, in Quebec, there were 13,040 vacant positions in the manufacturing sector, 10,825 in health care and social assistance and 8,945 in retail trade. And it is estimated that these numbers will only increase over the next few years.

Not to mention that according to Emploi Québec, 39 % of the jobs that will be created by 2021 will require vocational (secondary) or technical (college) training, hence the importance of focusing now on the promotion of vocational training trades. .

“During the first edition of the Breathtaking jobs campaign, we wanted to show the captivating side of vocational training jobs through content that was both fun and informative, to which the young people responded very well. This year, we have decided to repeat the initiative by producing even more content, which features seven professionals passionate about their profession ”, - Catherine Légaré, President and Founder ofAcademos.

Intended for young Quebecers, and more particularly for upper secondary school students, the microsite Breathtaking jobs launched today includes:

  • Two blog articles presenting five good reasons for choosing professional training as well as an interview with a jeweler;

  • Six videos showing the portrait of a chef, a heavy equipment mechanic, a high-pressure welder, an executive assistant, a beneficiary attendant and a costume designer, all mentors on Academos;

  • The quiz Are you made for a breathtaking job? aiming to introduce young people to different aspects of vocational training.

The teamAcademos will be at the National Education Fair, which will be held at Place Bonaventure on October 11 and 12, to present the campaign. This will also be deployed on the web and mobile application Academos as well as on the web and social media.

Academos would like to thank the Ministry of Education and Higher Education for the financial support provided for this campaign.

AboutAcademos
Founded in 1999, Academos is a non-profit organization that connects young people aged 14 to 30 with the reality of the world of work through a virtual mentoring app. From their cell phone, tablet or computer, young people can chat for free with nearly 3,000 passionate professionals. The goal: to help them find the job of their dreams! Academos is financially supported by the Secrétariat à la jeunesse of the Government of Quebec to promote academic perseverance and facilitate career choice. The Montreal-based organization is also supported by several financial partners, including Alcoa, ArcelorMittal, Agropur, Belairdirect, LaSalle College, The Counseling Foundation of Canada, Desjardins, École de technologie supérieure (ETS) de Montréal, Finance Montréal, the Alcoa Foundation, the Arconic Foundation, the Desjardins Foundation, Investissement Québec, the Insurance Pros and Ubisoft.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Academos démystifie la formation professionnelle auprès des jeunes avec la campagne Des métiers à couper le souffle

0

Montréal, le 10 octobre 2018. – Academos, la référence en mentorat pour les jeunes au Québec, lance aujourd’hui la deuxième édition de la campagne web Des métiers à couper le souffle, dont l’objectif est de faire découvrir les métiers de la formation professionnelle (FP) aux jeunes tout en les connectant avec le monde du travail.

Même si le nombre d’inscriptions en formation professionnelle est en hausse depuis plusieurs années, la demande pour ces diplômés est plus forte que jamais dans de nombreux secteurs en grave pénurie de main-d’oeuvre qualifiée.

Selon Statistique Canada, au premier trimestre de 2018, au Québec, on comptait 13 040 postes vacants dans le secteur manufacturier, 10 825 dans celui des soins de santé et assistance sociale et 8 945 dans celui du commerce de détail. Et on estime que ces chiffres ne feront qu’augmenter au cours des prochaines années.

Sans compter que selon Emploi Québec, 39 % des emplois qui seront créés d’ici 2021 exigeront une formation professionnelle (secondaire) ou technique (collégiale), d’où l’importance de miser dès maintenant sur la promotion des métiers de la formation professionnelle.

« Lors de la première édition de la campagne Des métiers à couper le souffle, nous avons voulu montrer le côté captivant des métiers de la formation professionnelle grâce à des contenus à la fois ludiques et informatifs, ce à quoi les jeunes ont très bien répondu. Cette année, nous avons décidé de répéter l’initiative en produisant encore plus de contenus, qui mettent en vedette sept professionnels passionnés par leur métier », – Catherine Légaré, présidente-fondatrice d’Academos.

Destiné aux jeunes Québécois et Québécoises, et plus particulièrement aux élèves du deuxième cycle du secondaire, le microsite Des métiers à couper le souffle lancé aujourd’hui comprend :

  • Deux articles de blogue présentant cinq bonnes raisons de choisir la formation professionnelle ainsi qu’une entrevue avec une joaillière;

  • Six vidéos montrant le portrait d’un chef cuisinier, d’un mécanicien d’équipement lourd, d’un soudeur haute-pression, d’une adjointe de direction, d’une préposée aux bénéficiaires et d’une costumière, tous mentors sur Academos;

  • Le quiz Es-tu fait pour un métier à couper le souffle? visant à faire découvrir aux jeunes différents aspects de la formation professionnelle.

L’équipe d’Academos sera présente au Salon national de l’éducation, qui se tiendra à la Place Bonaventure les 11 et 12 octobre prochains, afin de présenter la campagne. Celle-ci sera également déployée sur l’application web et mobile Academos ainsi que sur le web et les médias sociaux.

Academos tient à remercier le ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur pour le soutien financier accordé pour cette campagne.

À propos d’Academos
Fondé en 1999, Academos est un organisme à but non lucratif qui connecte les jeunes de 14 à 30 ans avec la réalité du monde du travail grâce à une application de mentorat virtuel. À partir de leur cellulaire, de leur tablette ou de leur ordinateur, les jeunes peuvent dialoguer gratuitement avec près de 3 000 professionnels passionnés. L’objectif : les aider à trouver le métier de leurs rêves! Academos est soutenu financièrement par le Secrétariat à la jeunesse du gouvernement du Québec pour favoriser la persévérance scolaire et faciliter le choix de carrière. L’organisme basé à Montréal est également épaulé par plusieurs partenaires financiers, dont Alcoa, ArcelorMittal, Agropur, Belairdirect, le Collège LaSalle, The Counselling Foundation of Canada, Desjardins, l’École de technologie supérieure (ETS) de Montréal, Finance Montréal, la Fondation Alcoa, la Fondation Arconic, la Fondation Desjardins, Investissement Québec, les Pros de l’Assurance et Ubisoft.

Commentaires