80 % of young Quebecers demotivated at school since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic

The Academos organization today unveils the results of a survey which shows that the COVID-19 pandemic and the closure of schools have led to a significant drop in the academic motivation of students in Quebec.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Montreal, May 29, 2020. - The organism Academos today unveils the results of a survey which shows that the COVID-19 pandemic and the closure of schools have led to a significant drop in the academic motivation of students in Quebec.

According to the survey answered by 950 students aged 14 to 30 living in all regions of the province, 43 % of young people say they are "much less motivated" and 37 % "less motivated" in school since the start of their year. crisis. Fourteen percent of respondents are "as motivated" as before, and only 6 % are "more motivated" or "much more motivated" since the start of the pandemic.

On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being "not at all motivated" and 10 being "extremely motivated", the motivation of young people went from 7/10 before confinement to 4.1 / 10 since, on average.

This decrease in motivation affects high school, CEGEP and university students just as much, CEGEPs being slightly more affected: 84 % of them are “much less” or “less” motivated by their studies since confinement, compared to 79 % of high school youth and 77 % of university students.

Among the factors that negatively influence the academic motivation of students since the closure of schools, we find distractions at home (65 % of respondents), lack of human contact (63 %), lack of concrete goals (45 %) , lack of organization on their own (37 %), lack of organization on the part of schools (35 %), lack of communication on the part of teachers (26 %) and family problems (13 %).

“Since the start of the pandemic, we have been very concerned about the impact the crisis will have on school perseverance and the educational success of young people. The results of our survey confirm what we feared: students struggle to stay motivated with homeschooling, and this may translate into an increase in school dropouts if we do not find solutions very quickly, ”said Catherine Légaré, president and founder of Academos.

Striking testimonies

“Staying home locked up every day with my homework demotivates me downright and I'm exhausted from stressful distance learning. "

 - AN 18-YEAR-OLD CÉGEP STUDENT

“I have lost contact with my teachers and I have the impression that certain assignments are useless, given that they do not teach us anything necessary for CEGEP and that my grades are not affected. "

- A 17-YEAR-OLD SECONDARY STUDENT

“I feel less motivated to finish my studies, because I don't have my friends to motivate each other. In addition, the workload is more important, which makes my studies more difficult. "

 - An 18-year-old college student

“I feel empty, I don't want to do anything. It motivated me to go to the library and see other people studying around me. "

 - A 24-year-old university student

“I feel like I'm working in a vacuum. The teachers don't know how to evaluate us. I learn everything on my own. Not only am I taken home, but I am also being taken away from my freedom to decide how I spend my days. "

 - A 17-year-old high school student

Virtual mentoring as an academic motivation tool

Since the start of the crisis, Academos has adapted its services in an attempt to break the isolation of young people and encourage them to remain motivated in these difficult times.

In addition to the 3,000 volunteer mentors who are always available on the Academos application to discuss their work with young people, the organization now receives an inspiring professional every week on its Facebook page to answer questions from young people directly, in a series entitled Contagious Passion.

“More than ever, the intergenerational solidarity that is at the heart of mentoring can bring hope to young people. Having a professional project is a crucial element of motivation for students' academic perseverance, and talking to a caring mentor can be an excellent way for young people to stay motivated in their studies, especially in this period of uncertainty, ”said Catherine. The station.

In fact, 52 % of respondents to the Academos survey said that feeling that their studies will help them to practice their future profession helps them to stay motivated at school.

The survey took place online from May 19 to 26, 2020. For more information on the methodology and the sample, see the academos.qc.ca/motivation-covid-19.

About Academos

Founded in 1999, Academos is a non-profit organization that connects young people aged 14 to 30 with the reality of the world of work through a virtual mentoring application that allows them to interact for free with nearly 3,000 professionals passionate about their work. job.

Academos is financially supported by the Secrétariat à la jeunesse of the Government of Quebec to promote academic perseverance and facilitate career choice. The Montreal-based organization is also supported by several financial partners, including Aéro Montréal, Alcoa, ArcelorMittal, belairdirect, LaSalle College, Desjardins, the École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) de Montréal, Finance Montréal, Intact Assurance, Investissement Québec , Insurance Pros, Ubisoft and VIA Rail Canada.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

80 % des jeunes québécois démotivés à l’école depuis le début de la pandémie de COVID-19

Source : Academos

mis à jour le :

Montréal, le 29 mai 2020. – L’organisme Academos dévoile aujourd’hui les résultats d’un sondage qui montre que la pandémie de COVID-19 et la fermeture des écoles ont entraîné une baisse importante de la motivation scolaire des élèves au Québec.

Selon le sondage auquel ont répondu 950 étudiants âgés de 14 à 30 ans et vivant dans toutes les régions de la province, 43 % des jeunes se disent « beaucoup moins motivés » et 37 % « moins motivés » à l’école depuis le début de la crise. Quatorze pour cent des répondants sont « autant motivés » qu’avant, et seuls 6 % sont « plus motivés » ou « beaucoup plus motivés » depuis le début de la pandémie.

Sur une échelle de 0 à 10, 0 étant « aucunement motivé » et 10 étant « extrêmement motivé », la motivation des jeunes est passée de 7/10 avant le confinement à 4,1/10 depuis, en moyenne.

Cette baisse de motivation affecte tout autant les étudiants du secondaire, du cégep et de l’université, les cégépiens étant légèrement plus touchés : 84 % d’entre eux sont « beaucoup moins » ou « moins » motivés par leurs études depuis le confinement, par rapport à 79 % des jeunes du secondaire et 77 % des universitaires.

Parmi les facteurs qui influencent négativement la motivation scolaire des étudiants depuis la fermeture des écoles, on retrouve les distractions à la maison (65 % des répondants), le manque de contacts humains (63 %), le manque de buts concrets (45 %), le manque d’organisation de leur propre part (37 %), le manque d’organisation de la part des établissements scolaires (35 %), le manque de communication de la part des enseignants (26 %) et les problèmes familiaux (13 %).

« Depuis le début de la pandémie, nous sommes très inquiets des impacts qu’aura la crise sur la persévérance scolaire et la réussite éducative des jeunes. Les résultats de notre sondage confirment ce que nous craignions : les élèves peinent à demeurer motivés avec l’école à la maison, et cela risque de se traduire en une hausse du décrochage scolaire si nous ne trouvons pas des solutions très rapidement », a souligné Catherine Légaré, présidente-fondatrice d’Academos.

Des témoignages frappants

« Le fait de rester chez moi enfermée tous les jours avec mes devoirs me démotive carrément et je suis épuisée de l’apprentissage stressant à distance. »

 – UNE ÉTUDIANTE AU CÉGEP DE 18 ANS

« J’ai perdu le contact avec mes enseignants et j’ai l’impression que certains travaux sont inutiles, compte tenu qu’ils ne nous enseignent rien de nécessaire pour le cégep et que mes notes ne sont pas affectées. »

– UNE ÉTUDIANTE AU SECONDAIRE DE 17 ANS

« Je me sens moins motivée à finir mes études, car je n’ai pas mes amis pour qu’on se motive mutuellement. De plus, la charge de travail est plus importante, ce qui fait que mes études sont plus difficiles. »

 – Une étudiante au cégep de 18 ans

« Je me sens vide, je n’ai pas envie de faire quoi que ce soit. Ça me motivait d’aller à la bibliothèque et de voir d’autres personnes étudier autour de moi. »

 – Un étudiant à l’université de 24 ans

« J’ai l’impression de travailler dans le vide. Les profs ne savent pas comment ils doivent nous évaluer. J’apprends tout par moi-même. Non seulement je suis prise chez moi, mais en plus on m’enlève ma liberté de décider comment j’occupe mes journées. »

 – Une étudiante au secondaire de 17 ans

Le mentorat virtuel comme outil de motivation scolaire

Depuis le début de la crise, Academos a adapté ses services afin de tenter de briser l’isolement des jeunes et de les encourager à demeurer motivés en ces temps difficiles.

En plus des 3 000 mentors bénévoles qui sont toujours disponibles sur l’application Academos pour discuter avec les jeunes au sujet de leur métier, l’organisme reçoit désormais chaque semaine sur sa page Facebook un professionnel inspirant pour répondre aux questions des jeunes en direct, dans une série intitulée Passion contagieuse.

« Plus que jamais, la solidarité intergénérationnelle qui se trouve au coeur du mentorat peut être porteuse d’espoir pour les jeunes. Avoir un projet professionnel est un élément de motivation crucial pour la persévérance scolaire des élèves, et parler à un mentor bienveillant peut être un excellent moyen pour les jeunes de demeurer motivés dans leurs études, particulièrement en cette période d’incertitudes », a mentionné Catherine Légaré.

D’ailleurs, 52 % des répondants au sondage d’Academos ont affirmé que de sentir que leurs études les aideront à exercer leur future profession les aidait à demeurer motivés à l’école.

Le sondage s’est déroulé en ligne du 19 au 26 mai 2020. Pour plus d’informations sur la méthodologie et l’échantillon, consultez le academos.qc.ca/motivation-covid-19.

À propos d’Academos

Fondé en 1999, Academos est un organisme à but non lucratif qui connecte les jeunes de 14 à 30 ans avec la réalité du monde du travail grâce à une application de mentorat virtuel qui leur permet de dialoguer gratuitement avec près de 3 000 professionnels passionnés par leur métier.

Academos est soutenu financièrement par le Secrétariat à la jeunesse du gouvernement du Québec pour favoriser la persévérance scolaire et faciliter le choix de carrière. L’organisme basé à Montréal est également épaulé par plusieurs partenaires financiers, dont Aéro Montréal, Alcoa, ArcelorMittal, belairdirect, le Collège LaSalle, Desjardins, l’École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) de Montréal, Finance Montréal, Intact Assurance, Investissement Québec, les Pros de l’Assurance, Ubisoft et VIA Rail Canada.



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : Nos abonnés connectés ne voient pas ces annonces!