5 disciplines in which you can use programming (other than math!)

Here are ideas for integrating programming in 5 school subjects. And no, we don't even talk about math! And yes, we are talking about physical education!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Here are ideas for integrating programming in 5 school subjects. And no, we don't even talk about math! And yes, we are talking about physical education!

In collaboration with Kids Code Jeunesse
by Sharmin Alam

"Programming is for computer programmers only", "Creative people don't program", "Programming is boring" ...

Here are some misconceptions about programming that are false, but widespread. In fact, programming can be a fun and creative activity, and teachers can enrich their classic curriculum with a little code. Including programming in lessons can help students develop critical thinking, problem solving, creativity and communication skills.

Here are some ideas for this. 

1. Art

It is well known that art promotes brain activity, creativity, problem solving and motor skills. In addition, art can improve physical, emotional and mental well-being. Art: bit is an application that connects with micro: bit to allow students to express their creativity through programming. They can design their own animations using block programming and physical computing.

2. Social studies

We can think of teaching students about different cultures of the world using the programming language Scratch. This platform will allow students to use blocks of code to participate in virtual cultural activities, such as the Quebec Winter Carnival or a visit to London in England. Scratch projects are informative and goal-oriented. They help students expand their cultural horizons through programming.

3. Writing

Before learning to write code, students should learn to write simple, clear instructions. Through activities disconnected, students will understand that writing instructions for a computer is very different from writing for humans. Unplugged projects allow students to practice this new style of writing while learning the basics of Html and CSS. For example, students become familiar with logical operators (AND, OR and NOT) adding toppings on a pizza. Each unplugged activity encourages students to view programming as a language and poses challenges for them to improve their fluency in that language.

4. Science

Science explains to children the world around them, helps them create ideas, make decisions and solve problems. When kids are learning about radio waves, now is a great time to bring micro: bits to class. A micro: bit, a small pocket computer, is a versatile and interactive tool for understanding the basics of physical computing. The micro: bit radio function can be used to send messages from one device to another. Students have the chance to gain hands-on experience of radio waves through play. Micro: bit basketball. As they pass an LED bullet to each other, they learn about the impact distance and other obstacles can have on radio communications.

5. Physical education

Programming can encourage students to get up and be active. They can create their own Fitbit to follow their activity and stay motivated. Indeed, the micro: bits can be programmed to be used as pedometers which count and follow the number of steps taken, thanks to vibrations. This simple, interactive and educational project can motivate students to be more active in their gym classes and outdoors. Consult the instructions step by step for this project.

Carrefour education offers you resources on the tools presented in this article:

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

5 disciplines dans lesquelles on peut utiliser la programmation (autres que les maths!)

Robotique et programmation

Voici des idées d’intégration de la programmation dans 5 disciplines scolaires. Et non, on ne parle même pas de maths! Et oui, on parle d’éducation physique!

En collaboration avec Kids Code Jeunesse
par Sharmin Alam

« La programmation est réservée aux programmeurs/programmeuses informatiques », « Les personnes créatives ne programment pas », « La programmation, c’est ennuyeux »…

Voici quelques idées reçues sur la programmation, fausses, mais répandues. En réalité, la programmation peut constituer une activité amusante et créative, et les enseignant(e)s peuvent enrichir leur curriculum classique d’un peu de code. Inclure la programmation dans les cours peut aider les élèves à développer des compétences de réflexion critique, de résolution de problèmes, de créativité et de communication.

Voici quelques idées à cet effet. 

1. L’art

C’est bien connu, l’art favorise l’activité cérébrale, la créativité, la résolution de problèmes et les compétences motrices. De plus, l’art peut améliorer le bien-être physique, émotionnel et mental. Art:bit est une application qui se connecte avec micro:bit pour permettre aux élèves d’exprimer leur créativité à travers la programmation. Ils peuvent concevoir leurs propres animations en utilisant la programmation par blocs et l’informatique physique.

2. Les études sociales

On peut penser à enseigner aux élèves différentes cultures du monde à l’aide du langage de programmation Scratch. Cette plateforme permettra aux élèves d’utiliser des blocs de code pour participer à des activités culturelles virtuelles, telles que le Carnaval de Québec ou une visite à Londres en Angleterre. Les projets Scratch sont informatifs et axés sur des objectifs. Ils aident les élèves à élargir leurs horizons culturels grâce à la programmation.

3. L’écriture

Avant d’apprendre à écrire du code, les élèves devraient apprendre à écrire des instructions simples et claires. Grâce à des activités débranchées, les élèves comprendront que rédiger des instructions pour un ordinateur est très différent de la rédaction destinée à des humains. Les projets débranchés permettent aux élèves de pratiquer ce nouveau style d’écriture tout en apprenant les bases du HTML et du CSS. Par exemple, les élèves se familiarisent avec les opérateurs logiques (AND, OR et NOT) en ajoutant des garnitures sur une pizza. Chaque activité débranchée encourage les élèves à considérer la programmation comme une langue et leur pose des défis visant à améliorer leur maîtrise de cette langue.

4. La science

La science explique aux enfants le monde qui les entoure, les aide à créer des idées, à prendre des décisions et à résoudre des problèmes. Lorsque les enfants découvrent les ondes radio, c’est le moment idéal pour apporter des micro:bits en classe. Un micro:bit, petit ordinateur de poche, est un outil polyvalent et interactif qui permet de comprendre les bases de l’informatique physique. La fonction radio du micro:bit peut être utilisée pour envoyer des messages d’un appareil à un autre. Les élèves ont ainsi la chance d’acquérir une expérience pratique des ondes radio par le jeu Basketball micro:bit. En se passant une balle DEL les uns aux autres, ils et elles découvrent l’incidence que peuvent avoir la distance et les autres obstacles sur les communications radio.

5. L’éducation physique

La programmation peut encourager les élèves à se lever et à être actifs. Ils et elles peuvent créer leurs propres Fitbit pour suivre leur activité et rester motivés. En effet, les micro:bits peuvent être programmés pour être utilisés comme des podomètres qui comptent et suivent le nombre de pas effectués, grâce à des vibrations. Ce projet simple, interactif et éducatif peut motiver les élèves à être plus actifs lors de leurs cours de gym comme à l’extérieur. Consultez les instructions pas à pas pour ce projet.

Carrefour éducation vous propose des ressources sur les outils présentés dans cet article :


Recevez gratuitement chaque semaine l'École branchée Hebdo pour ne rien manquer de l’actualité pédagogique!



🤩 Vous avez envie de publier vous aussi à l'École branchée? N'hésitez surtout pas! Découvrez ici comment faire!



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : NOS ABONNÉS NE VOIENT PAS CES ANNONCES