2 minutes to help the anxious student

Did you know that mindfulness-based interventions and breathing exercises can have a very significant impact on people's mental health, regardless of age?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Michèle Corbeil, psychologist and co-founder of Class-Zen

In November 2021, the World Health Organization (WHO) reported that globally, one in seven young people between the ages of 10 and 19 suffer from a mental disorder. This represents 13 % of this age group. The disorders include depression and anxiety. However, these numbers may be under-representative as many youth experience varying degrees of psychological distress without necessarily seeking help.

This is a reality that teachers experience on a daily basis. The psychological challenges have multiplied over time and can leave an unpleasant feeling of helplessness. There are solutions to help us better intervene with young people.

Did you know that mindfulness-based interventions and breathing exercises can have a very significant impact on people's mental health, regardless of age?

Just taking a few deep breaths can be extremely effective in lowering cortisol levels. And since cortisol and learning don't mix... why not?

Simply take two minutes with your students to do small exercises of refocusing, breathing, meditation, and returning to yourself. Whether it's after recess, before an exam, or after dinner, simply sit with your back straight, close your eyes and practice a breathing technique.

Here are some examples:

Cardiac coherence: 

This technique allows you to learn to control your breathing in order to regulate stress and anxiety. It is a question of balancing your breathing: five seconds on the inhale, five seconds on the exhale, which makes 6 breaths per minute. Ideally, the exercise is done 3 times a day, 6 breaths per minute, for 5 minutes. You can do the exercise for a shorter time for the little ones, say 2 or 3 minutes. You can find guides on YouTube or applications on the Internet to help you in the implementation of this breathing exercise.

The 4-7-8 breathing technique 

The 4-7-8 is an effective method because it provides more oxygen than normal breathing to the parasympathetic nervous system, which is very stressed. Here's how: inhale deeply to the count of 4; hold your breath to the count of 7; exhale to the count of 8. Repeat three times. Research shows that breathing exercises reduce stress and anxiety, help manage emotions such as anger and sadness, improve concentration and sleep.

Other refocusing techniques are offered free of charge on the Class-Zen.ca.

In addition :

(Re)read our Winter 2021-2022 issue of École branchée magazine: Teach the development of social and emotional skills

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

2 minutes pour aider l’élève anxieux

Saviez-vous que les interventions basées sur la pleine conscience et les exercices de respiration peuvent avoir un impact très important sur la santé mentale des gens, et ce peu importe l’âge?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Michèle Corbeil, psychologue et co-fondatrice de Classe-Zen

En novembre 2021, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) déclarait qu’au niveau planétaire, un jeune sur sept âgé de 10 à 19 ans souffrait d’un trouble mental. Cela représente 13 % de cette tranche d’âge. En termes de trouble, on parle entre autres de dépression et d’anxiété. Mais ces chiffres peuvent être sous représentatifs puisque plusieurs jeunes présentent de la détresse psychologique, à divers degrés, sans nécessairement consulter.

Cette réalité, les enseignants la vivent au quotidien. Les défis psychologiques se sont multipliés avec le temps et peuvent laisser un désagréable sentiment d’impuissance. Il existe des solutions pour nous aider à mieux intervenir auprès des jeunes.

Saviez-vous que les interventions basées sur la pleine conscience et les exercices de respiration peuvent avoir un impact très important sur la santé mentale des gens, et ce peu importe l’âge?

Juste le fait de prendre quelques respirations profondes peut être extrêmement efficace pour abaisser le taux de cortisol. Et comme cortisol et apprentissage ne font pas bon ménage… pourquoi s’en passer?

Il suffit tout simplement de prendre avec les élèves 2 minutes pour effectuer des petits exercices de recentrement, de respiration, de méditation, de retour à soi. Que ce soit au retour de la récréation, avant un examen, après le dîner, il suffit de s’asseoir le dos droit, de fermer les yeux et de pratiquer une technique de respiration.

Voici quelques exemples :

La cohérence cardiaque : 

Cette technique permet d’apprendre à contrôler sa respiration dans le but de réguler le stress et l’anxiété. Il s’agit d’équilibrer sa respiration : cinq secondes à l’inspiration, cinq secondes à l’expiration, ce qui fait 6 respirations par minute. On fait idéalement l’exercice 3 fois par jour, 6 respirations par minutes, pendant 5 minutes. On peut faire l’exercice moins longtemps pour les plus petits, disons 2 ou 3 minutes. Vous trouverez des guides sur YouTube ou des applications sur Internet pour vous aider dans la mise en place de cet exercice de respiration.

La technique de respiration 4-7-8 

Le 4-7-8 est une méthode efficace puisqu’elle procure plus d’oxygène qu’une respiration normale au système nerveux parasympathique, qui est très sollicité en présence du stress. Voici comment : inspirer profondément en comptant jusqu’à 4; retenez votre souffle en comptant jusqu’à 7; expirez en comptant jusqu’à 8. Répéter trois fois. Les recherches démontrent que les exercices de respiration diminuent le stress et l’anxiété, aident à gérer les émotions comme la colère, la tristesse, améliorent la concentration et le sommeil.

D’autres techniques de recentrement sont offertes gratuitement sur le site de Classe-Zen.ca.

En complément :

(Re)lisez notre numéro du magazine École branchée Hiver 2021-2022 : Enseigner le développement des compétences sociales et émotionnelles

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :