ADVERTISEMENT

15 candles for the event “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! "

On February 15, girls in Secondary 2 and 3 are invited to “shop” for their choice of career in science at the annual “Girls and science, an electrifying duo!” Event. », Which is celebrating its 15th anniversary this year.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

On February 15, girls in Secondary 2 and 3 are invited to “shop” for their choice of career in science at the annual “Girls and science, an electrifying duo!” Event. », Which is celebrating its 15th anniversary this year.

Girls and science, an electrifying duo! is an event that aims to introduce young girls from 2e and 3e secondary scientific and technological professions and the studies leading to them. All of this can be accomplished through group activities, demonstrations, workshops and, above all, “career shopping”, in order to better understand the multitude of university, professional and technical training courses which are open to them.

The event also allows participants approaching the decisive moment of career choices to meet women working in a field related to science, in a way role models to follow. It also includes two other components designed specifically for school workers and parents. Moreover, according to a recent survey conducted by Groupe Multi Réso, 94 % of former participants in the event consider that the activity is useful for girls aged 2e and 3e secondary. The activity increased interest in science in general in 62 % of the respondents and in 42 % of them in the targeted fields. What's more, 22.7 % say they intend to make a career in one of the targeted fields.

“It is wrong to believe that women are not interested in science. The truth is that they are not sufficiently exposed to it. We are sometimes asked why we only address girls. I understand very well, since Quebec does indeed need a greater number of young scientists, but we have chosen to work to increase the number of girls where they were and remain clearly under-represented ”, explains the president of the organizing committee of the event, Nancy Rancourt, engineer, director of member services and operations at RISQ.

Eloquent figures
Indeed, in 2011, there were still only 18 % of young women among undergraduate students enrolled in physical sciences, 15 % in computer sciences and 10 % in electrical and mechanical engineering.

Or when?
The 15e event edition Girls and science, an electrifying duo! will take place on Saturday, February 15, 2014 at Polytechnique Montréal, under the honorary chairmanship of the President of the Board of Directors of the Corporation de l'École Polytechnique de Montréal, Michèle Thibodeau-DeGuire. A civil engineering graduate from École Polytechnique de Montréal in 1963, Michèle Thibodeau-DeGuire practiced her profession as a structural engineer for nearly 20 years.

Satellite events will also be held in Quebec (Université Laval), Rimouski (Université du Québec à Rimouski) and Sherbrooke (Cégep de Sherbrooke). The event is presented by the Alcoa Foundation and Hydro-Québec, in collaboration with the École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) and Polytechnique Montréal.

To learn more, visit www.lesfillesetlessciences.ca

We have also obtained confirmation that it will be possible to attend the day, even if the registration period is over, in Montreal and Rimouski. The only condition: bring a cold lunch!

 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

15 bougies pour l’événement « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! »

Le 15 février prochain, les jeunes filles de 2e et 3e secondaire sont invitées à « magasiner » leur choix de carrière en science à l’occasion de l’événement annuel « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! », qui fête cette année son 15e anniversaire.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Le 15 février prochain, les jeunes filles de 2e et 3e secondaire sont invitées à « magasiner » leur choix de carrière en science à l’occasion de l’événement annuel « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! », qui fête cette année son 15e anniversaire.

Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! est un événement qui vise à faire connaître aux jeunes filles de 2e et 3e secondaire les professions scientifiques et technologiques et les études qui y mènent. Le tout s’accomplir par des activités de groupe, des démonstrations, des ateliers et, surtout, du « magasinage de carrières », pour mieux connaître la multitude de formations universitaires, professionnelles et techniques qui leur tendent les bras.

L’événement permet aussi aux participantes approchant du moment décisif des choix d’orientation de rencontrer des femmes exerçant dans un domaine lié aux sciences, en quelque sorte des modèles à suivre. Il comporte aussi deux autres volets conçus expressément pour les intervenants du milieu scolaire et les parents. D’ailleurs, selon un sondage récent mené par le Groupe Multi Réso, 94 % des anciennes participantes à l’événement considèrent que l’activité est utile pour les filles de 2e et 3e secondaire. L’activité a fait augmenter l’intérêt envers les sciences en général chez 62 % des répondantes et chez 42 % d’entre elles envers les domaines ciblés. Qui plus est, 22,7 % affirment avoir l’intention de faire une carrière dans l’un des domaines ciblés.

« Il est faux de croire que les femmes ne s’intéressent pas aux sciences. La vérité, c’est qu’elles n’y sont pas suffisamment exposées. On nous demande parfois pourquoi nous ne nous adressons qu’aux filles. Je comprends très bien, puisque le Québec a effectivement besoin d’une relève scientifique plus nombreuse, mais nous avons fait le choix de travailler à faire augmenter le nombre de filles là où elles étaient et demeurent nettement sous-représentées », explique la présidente du comité organisateur de l’événement, Nancy Rancourt, ingénieure, directrice Services aux membres et Exploitation au RISQ.

Des chiffres éloquents
En effet, en 2011, il n’y avait encore que 18 % de jeunes femmes parmi les étudiants de premier cycle inscrits en sciences physiques, 15 % en sciences de l’informatique et 10 % en génie électrique et en génie mécanique.

Où, quand?
La 15e édition de l’événement Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! aura lieu le samedi 15 février 2014 à Polytechnique Montréal, sous la présidence d’honneur de la présidente du conseil d’administration de la Corporation de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal, Michèle Thibodeau-DeGuire. Diplômée en génie civil de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal en 1963, Michèle Thibodeau-DeGuire a exercé sa profession d’ingénieure en structures pendant près de 20 ans.

Des événements satellites se tiendront également à Québec (Université Laval), Rimouski (Université du Québec à Rimouski) et Sherbrooke (Cégep de Sherbrooke). L’événement est présenté par la Fondation Alcoa et Hydro-Québec, en collaboration avec l’École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) et Polytechnique Montréal.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez www.lesfillesetlessciences.ca

Nous avons aussi obtenu confirmation qu’il sera possible d’assister à la journée, même si la période d’inscription est terminée, à Montréal et à Rimouski. Seule condition : apporter son lunch froid!

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :