Using Discord to create a community of learners

Belgian teacher Quentin Carpentier dared to use the Discord app with his students, starting in 2018! What is Discord? It is an online communication platform, very popular in gaming communities, which tends to become more and more democratized. 

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Belgian teacher Quentin Carpentier dared to use the Discord app with his students, starting in 2018! What is Discord? It is an online communication platform, very popular in gaming communities, which tends to become more and more democratized. 

Quentin Carpentier was in Quebec City for the 40th AQUOPS conference. He took the opportunity to share its experience of pedagogical use of Discord. This software engineer turned teacher was already using this platform in his spare time. After surveying his students, he realized that he was far from being the only one! He then looked for a way to integrate the tool into the life of his class. 

When he talks about his experience, many think he solidified it during the pandemic, but that's not the case. He had begun his integration well before, as early as 2018. As a result, he has been able to provide some guidance to colleagues over the past few years.

What is Discord?

Discord is an online communication platform. It is very popular in gamer communities who use it to communicate with each other, whether by text, audio call or even video conference (including screen sharing). Available in mobile or computer versions, it allows you to create communication places, called Servers. A server can host members, who discuss together through different channels, each with a specific theme, and who can hold different roles. 

Those who are familiar with the principle of Teams or Slack platforms will recognize it quite easily. "The difference is that young people use Discord a lot outside of school hours. This platform is part of their world. I wanted to reach them where they were already, while centralizing information about my courses in one virtual place," says Quentin. 

The emergence of a community of autonomous learners

So he created a Discord server dedicated to the school uses of his students, about 80 young people from 15 to 18 years old. Channels were added (e.g. by class, by level, by subject). Rules have been defined (and you have to accept them before you can officially join the community). Roles have been defined and moderators are now identified in the channels. Tasks have been automated thanks to the robot that can be customized in the server (e.g. sending personalized messages, creating assignments). 

Exchanges on themes with students, assignment of tasks, deposit of documents, collaborative work, etc. Many possibilities are made possible by "hijacking" the platform. However, for the teacher, the biggest revelation is the emergence of a community of autonomous learners that has resulted. 

"There is an instantaneous mutual aid effect that was created in our Server. Kids were asking questions and spontaneously answering each other in the Help channel. They even asked me to have the higher level students retain access to the previous levels' help channels so they could help the younger students. I have graduate students who continue to interact in these channels to help others. I am a spectator to their discussions," says Quentin. He says he always keeps a close eye on the conversations to make sure the information being passed on is accurate and not misleading to students. 

He acknowledges that setting up the server was time consuming. However, it engaged the students in a collective project that became useful for their school life later on. They have actively participated in defining life in the community and have taken ownership of it. And when things go wrong (because yes, they did), the consequences are known to the young people (such as exclusion from the server, which deprives the student of a privileged source of information and communication).

"Discord can be misperceived by school leadership. Of course, it won't replace the other more official platforms that have been put in place in recent years, but it can be used to engage young people and make them more autonomous in their learning. Motivation, caring, respect, playfulness, open discussions... these are examples of the benefits," concludes the teacher.

Other uses related to education are also possible. The Math Guilda Belgian school tutoring organization, has just contacted him to set up a Discord server to reach its customers.

The presentation is available here for all.

Have you tried this platform with your students? Share your experience with us.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Utiliser Discord pour créer une communauté d’apprenants

L’enseignant belge Quentin Carpentier a osé utiliser l’application Discord avec ses élèves, et ce dès 2018! Qu’est-ce que Discord? Il s’agit d’une plateforme de communication en ligne, très populaire dans les communautés de joueurs, qui tend à se démocratiser de plus en plus. 

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’enseignant belge Quentin Carpentier a osé utiliser l’application Discord avec ses élèves, et ce dès 2018! Qu’est-ce que Discord? Il s’agit d’une plateforme de communication en ligne, très populaire dans les communautés de joueurs, qui tend à se démocratiser de plus en plus. 

Quentin Carpentier était de passage dans la ville de Québec à l’occasion du 40e colloque de l’AQUOPS. Il en a profité pour partager son expérience d’utilisation pédagogique de Discord. Cet ingénieur logiciel devenu enseignant utilisait déjà cette plateforme dans ses loisirs. Après un sondage auprès de ses élèves, il a réalisé qu’il était loin d’être le seul! Il a alors cherché une manière d’intégrer l’outil à la vie de sa classe. 

Lorsqu’il parle de son expérience, plusieurs pensent qu’il l’a concrétisée pendant la pandémie, mais ce n’est pas le cas. Il avait commencé son intégration bien avant, soit dès 2018. Il a donc pu prodiguer quelques conseils à des collègues au cours des dernières années.

Qu’est-ce que Discord?

Discord est une plateforme de communication en ligne. Elle est très populaire dans les communautés de joueurs qui l’utilisent pour échanger entre eux, que ce soit par écrit, en appel audio ou même en visioconférence (incluant le partage d’écran). Disponible en version mobile ou sur ordinateur, elle permet de créer des lieux de communication, appelés Serveurs. Un serveur peut accueillir des membres, qui discutent ensemble à travers différents canaux ayant chacun un thème précis, et qui peuvent tenir différents rôles. 

Ceux qui connaissent le principe des plateformes Teams ou Slack s’y reconnaîtront assez facilement. « À la différence que les jeunes utilisent beaucoup Discord en dehors des heures de classe. Cette plateforme fait partie de leur univers. J’ai voulu les rejoindre là où ils étaient déjà, tout en centralisant l’information au sujet de mes cours dans un seul lieu virtuel », indique Quentin. 

L’émergence d’une communauté d’apprenants autonomes

Il a donc créé un serveur Discord dédié aux usages scolaires de ses élèves, environ 80 jeunes de 15 à 18 ans. Des canaux ont été ajoutés (ex. par classe, par niveau, par sujet). Des règlements ont été déterminés (il faut d’ailleurs les accepter avant de pouvoir rejoindre officiellement la communauté). Des rôles ont été définis et des modérateurs sont maintenant identifiés dans les canaux. Des tâches ont été automatisées grâce au robot qu’il est possible de personnaliser dans son serveur (ex. envoi de message personnalisé, création de devoirs). 

Échanges sur des thématiques avec des élèves, assignation de devoirs, dépôt de documents, travaux collaboratifs, etc. Plusieurs possibilités sont permises en « détournant » la plateforme. Cependant, pour l’enseignant, la plus grande révélation est l’émergence d’une communauté d’apprenants autonomes qui en a découlé. 

« Il y a un effet d’entraide instantané qui s’est créé dans notre Serveur. Les jeunes posaient des questions et se répondaient spontanément dans le canal Aide. Ils m’ont même demandé à ce que les élèves des niveaux supérieurs conservent l’accès aux canaux d’aide des niveaux précédents pour pouvoir aider les élèves plus jeunes. J’ai des élèves diplômés qui continuent d’interagir dans ces canaux pour aider les autres. Je suis le spectateur de leurs discussions », mentionne Quentin. Il précise qu’il jette toujours un œil attentif aux conversations pour s’assurer que l’information transmise est exacte et n’induit pas les élèves en erreur. 

Il reconnaît que la mise en place du serveur a demandé beaucoup de temps. Par contre, elle a permis d’engager les élèves dans un projet collectif qui est devenu utile pour leur vie scolaire par la suite. Ils ont participé activement à définir la vie dans la communauté et ils se l’ont appropriée. Et quand ça ne va pas (car oui, ça lui est arrivé), les conséquences sont connues des jeunes (comme l’exclusion du serveur, qui prive l’élève d’une source d’information et de communication privilégiée).

« Discord peut être mal perçue de la part des directions scolaires. Elle ne remplacera bien sûr pas les autres plateformes plus officielles qui ont été mises en place dans les dernières années, mais il y a une utilisation intéressante qu’il est possible d’en faire pour engager les jeunes et les rendre plus autonomes dans leurs apprentissages. Motivation, bienveillance, respect, ludification, discussions ouvertes… voici des exemples de retombées », conclut l’enseignant.

D’autres usages en lien avec l’éducation sont aussi possibles. La Guilde des maths, un organisme de tutorat scolaire belge, vient d’ailleurs de le contacter afin de configurer un serveur Discord pour rejoindre sa clientèle.

La présentation est disponible ici pour tous.

Avez-vous essayé cette plateforme avec vos élèves? Partagez-nous votre expérience.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :