ADVERTISEMENT

A MOOC on the use of ICT for primary school workers

In early summer 2014, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) inaugurated, in collaboration with the Institute of Education of the University of London, a first MOOC on teaching and use of ICT at primary level. Both theoretical and practical, this MOOC takes place on the Coursera platform.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

In early summer 2014, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) inaugurated, in collaboration with the Institute of Education of the University of London, a first MOOC focusing on the teaching and use of ICT in primary education. Both theoretical and practical, this MOOC takes place on the Coursera platform.

Entitled " ICT in Primary Education: Transforming children's learning across the curriculum », The MOOC (massive open online course, a completely free course) is intended as a place of exchange between the various actors of the primary environment. It is therefore aimed at both teachers, school administrators, professionals and anyone interested in the use and teaching of ICT to children. The stories of practice, the sharing of experiences and the case studies come from many countries and enrich the learning.

For its first edition, the MOOC recorded more than 7,000 registrations from nearly 70 countries. Although there is no other session planned soon, it is possible to subscribe to a list to be informed of its next holding.

Developed under the direction of Diana Laurillard, of theInstitute of Education from the University of London, based on the work of UNESCO Institute for the Application of Information Technologies in Education, the course has four main objectives:

  • help the primary sector to integrate ICT in education;
  • develop the use of ICT in primary education;
  • support the various stakeholders in the obstacles they encounter;
  • innovate pedagogically using ICT.

The school of 21e century, the positive impacts that ICTs can have on teaching and knowledge development, their use as an agent of change in education and ways to overcome the obstacles that they can create in everyday life are among the topics covered in the course.

The animation of the MOOC is notably provided by eight specialists from all over the world, including Florian Meyer, from the University of Sherbrooke. It takes about four to ten hours of work per week to complete the various activities of the course. Although it is taught in English, French subtitles make it easy for learners to follow.

For more information on the content covered and the different modalities, you can consult the page of the Classes.

 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic leblanc
A graduate in sociology, Dominic Leblanc is an educational advisor in the Programs and Educational Development Department of the Cégep régional de Lanaudière in L'Assomption.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Un MOOC sur l’utilisation des TIC pour les intervenants du primaire

Au début de l’été 2014, l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) inaugurait, en collaboration avec l’Institut d’éducation de l’Université de Londres, un premier MOOC portant sur l’enseignement et l’utilisation des TIC au primaire. À la fois théorique et pratique, ce MOOC se déroule sur la plateforme Coursera.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Au début de l’été 2014, l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) inaugurait, en collaboration avec l’Institut d’éducation de l’Université de Londres, un premier MOOC portant sur l’enseignement et l’utilisation des TIC au primaire. À la fois théorique et pratique, ce MOOC se déroule sur la plateforme Coursera.

Intitulé « ICT in Primary Education: Transforming children’s learning across the curriculum », le MOOC (massive open online course, un cours totalement gratuit) se veut un lieu d’échange entre les différents acteurs du milieu primaire. Il s’adresse donc à la fois aux enseignants, aux directions d’établissements, aux professionnels ainsi qu’à toute personne intéressée par l’utilisation et l’enseignement des TIC auprès des enfants. Les récits de pratique, les partages d’expériences et les études de cas proviennent de nombreux pays et enrichissent les apprentissages.

Pour sa première édition, le MOOC a enregistré plus de 7 000 inscriptions provenant de près de 70 pays. Bien qu’il n’y ait pas d’autre session prévue prochainement, il est possible de s’inscrire sur une liste pour être informé de sa prochaine tenue.

Développé sous la direction de Diana Laurillard, de l’Institute of Education de l’Université de Londres, sur la base des travaux de l’Institut de l’UNESCO pour l’application des technologies de l’information à l’éducation, le cours a quatre objectifs principaux :

  • aider le milieu primaire à intégrer les TIC dans l’enseignement;
  • développer l’usage des TIC dans l’enseignement primaire;
  • soutenir les différents intervenants dans les obstacles qu’ils rencontrent;
  • innover sur le plan pédagogique à l’aide des TIC.

L’école du 21e siècle, les impacts positifs que peuvent avoir les TIC sur l’enseignement et le développement du savoir, leur utilisation comme agent de changement dans le domaine de l’éducation et les façons de surmonter les obstacles qu’elles peuvent engendrer au quotidien figurent parmi les thèmes abordés dans le cours.

L’animation du MOOC est notamment assurée par huit spécialistes provenant de partout sur la planète, dont Florian Meyer, de l’Université de Sherbrooke.  Il faut compter environ quatre à dix heures de travail par semaine afin de compléter les différentes activités du cours. Bien qu’il soit dispensé en anglais, des sous-titres en français permettent aux apprenants de le suivre facilement.

Pour plus d’informations concernant le contenu abordé et les différentes modalités, vous pouvez consulter la page du cours.

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic Leblanc
Diplômé en sociologie, Dominic Leblanc est conseiller pédagogique au Service des programmes et du développement pédagogique du Cégep régional de Lanaudière à L'Assomption.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :