3D technology for teaching young people with autism to read?

Software showcasing virtual animals performing different three-dimensional actions would enable young people with autism to develop essential reading skills, according to an eSchool News report.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

Software showcasing virtual animals performing different three-dimensional actions could help young people with autism develop essential reading skills, according to a report byeSchool News.

Mary-Elizabeth Langston, the teacher education manager at Audubon Park School in Florida, explains that a three-dimensional image that a student can interact with through sound and movement creates a lasting impression compared to a static image that has little meaning for the child.

The software and hardware needed to develop the skills needed to enter second year cost almost US $ 1,000 $. Since its acquisition in October, teachers at Audubon Park School say they haven't noticed any notable improvements. Nonetheless, Langston says she sees a difference in the way students form sounds and words. She also says she noticed that they have more eye contact with others and a willingness to learn that was not there before.

Other projects

In addition, the article recalls that in 2007, the Spectrum project has achieved good success. For older autistic students, it was about building virtual buildings using Google SketchUp 3D, but it was not aimed at reading skills.

A few years ago, an experiment using virtual reality was carried out with young people with autism from 7 to 12 years old. In this case, it was about teaching them to have safe behaviors, such as crossing the street, without this going through teaching or conversation, reported Internetactu.net. "At the start of the training, the subjects reached level 2 of the game, at the end, they mastered level 9, which featured more numerous and faster vehicles", we can read. Once in a real situation, we could see that they had really acquired new skills.

This article concludes with this optimistic quote from psychologist Simon Baron Cohen of the University of Cambridge. “I predict that many of the children of this new generation of autism will be able to find ways to thrive, using their digital technology skills to find work, friends and even innovate. (…) Still, these opportunities will mainly concern individuals with autism, but who have normal linguistic and intellectual faculties, which is far from representing a small group. For those who are more severely affected, who suffer from delayed language acquisition and have learning difficulties, the digital age may have less to offer. But I have no doubts that even for this subgroup, new computer education methods will be able to break through the wall that separates autism from society. "

Read also :

Cinema in a TED classroom, fiction? No, reality!

ICT and learning disabilities: student needs first!

Technological help to write more and better

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

La technologie 3D pour apprendre à lire aux jeunes autistes?

Un logiciel présentant des animaux virtuels exécutant différentes actions en trois dimensions permettrait à de jeunes autistes de développer des compétences essentielles en lecture, selon un reportage d’eSchool News.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Un logiciel présentant des animaux virtuels exécutant différentes actions en trois dimensions permettrait à de jeunes autistes de développer des compétences essentielles en lecture, selon un reportage d’eSchool News.

Mary-Elizabeth Langston, la responsable de la formation des enseignants à l’école Audubon Park, en Floride, y explique qu’une image en trois dimensions avec laquelle l’élève peut interagir par le son et le mouvement crée une impression durable comparativement à une image statique qui a peu de signification pour l’enfant.

Le logiciel et le matériel nécessaire au développement des compétences nécessaires pour entrer en deuxième année coûtent près de 1000 $ US. Depuis son acquisition en octobre, les enseignants  de l’école Audubon Park disent ne pas avoir noté d’améliorations notables. Néanmoins, Mme Langston affirme voir une différence dans la manière dont les élèves forment les sons et les mots. Elle dit aussi avoir remarqué qu’ils ont davantage de contacts visuels avec les autres et une volonté d’apprendre qui était inexistante auparavant.

D’autres projets

Par ailleurs, l’article rappelle qu’en 2007, le projet Spectrum a obtenu un bon succès. Il s’agissait, pour des élèves autistes plus âgés, de construire des bâtiments virtuels grâce à Google SketchUp 3D, mais il ne visait pas les compétences en lecture.

Il y a quelques années, une expérience utilisant la réalité virtuelle a été réalisée auprès de jeunes autistes de 7 à 12 ans. Dans ce cas, il s’agissait de leur apprendre à avoir des comportements sécuritaires, comme traverser la rue, sans que cela passe par l’enseignement ou la conversation, rapportait Internetactu.net. « Au début de l’entraînement, les sujets atteignaient le niveau 2 du jeu, à la fin, ils maîtrisaient le niveau 9, qui mettait en scène des véhicules plus nombreux et rapides », peut-on lire. Une fois dans une situation réelle, on a pu constater qu’ils avaient réellement acquis de nouvelles compétences.

Cet article se conclut par cette citation optimiste du psychologue Simon Baron Cohen, de l’Université de Cambridge. « Je prévois que nombre des enfants de cette nouvelle génération d’autistes pourront trouver les moyens de s’épanouir, utilisant leurs compétences dans la technologie numérique pour trouver du travail, des amis et même innover. (…) Reste que ces opportunités concerneront essentiellement les individus atteints d’autisme, mais qui possèdent des facultés linguistiques et intellectuelles normales, ce qui est loin de représenter un petit groupe. Pour ceux qui sont plus sévèrement atteints, qui souffrent de retard dans l’acquisition du langage et rencontrent des difficultés d’apprentissage, l’ère numérique pourrait avoir moins à offrir. Mais je suis convaincu que même pour ce sous-groupe, les nouvelles méthodes d’enseignement informatique seront en mesure de percer le mur qui sépare l’autisme de la société. »

À lire aussi :

Le cinéma dans une classe TED, fiction? Non, réalité!

TIC et troubles d’apprentissages : les besoins des élèves d’abord!

Une aide technologique pour écrire plus et mieux

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :