ADVERTISEMENT

The parent-child contract for healthy technology use

Going back to school becomes an opportunity to return to a certain family routine. In many families, this is also the time to establish rules for children's screen time. The parent-child contract becomes a concrete tool to formalize these rules and allows a dialogue between parents and children around these rules.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

In collaboration with Martine Rioux

Going back to school becomes an opportunity to return to a certain family routine. For many families, it is also a time to establish rules for children's screen time. While 85% of parents of children aged 6 to 17 say they already have such rules, the parent-child contract becomes a concrete tool to formalize these rules and allows a dialogue between parents and children around these rules.

In fact, in Quebec, the most recent data from the NETendances survey indicate that almost nine in ten parents of young people aged six to 17 (85 %) say they have rules at home about how much time their young people can spend on the Internet, or about what sites they can visit. Rules about Internet use are used more often by parents of children aged six to 12 (93 %) than those of youth aged 13 to 17 (74 %).

The parent-child contract: a concrete tool 

The self-regulation of the use of digital devices does not develop without guidance for young people. But how can we support them as parents? The parent-child contract becomes a concrete tool to supervise the use of screens in the family.

For such a contract to be effective, it requires the creation of a constructive dialogue between parents and children, whether they are 5 or 15 years old. By creating a relational dynamic that involves questioning and openness to each other's points of view, it is possible to define the rules applicable to one's family reality without the young people feeling that they are simply being imposed. They participate in the discussion.

Moreover, rather than only regulating the time spent in front of the screens, it is also possible to regulate the uses (learning time vs. time for playing or socializing) and to establish other conditions of use.

The preparation of the contract becomes a concrete moment that encourages parent-child communication and allows everyone to express themselves on the use of screens. Together, parents and children can define the rules that are best for them. In this way, the parent-child contract has the potential to encourage the establishment of positive life rules and to act on the autonomy of young people towards healthy life habits, rather than being perceived as restrictive and limiting.

Procedure to discover and model to download

 Parents can learn about this process by reading the article Define the rules of life in the form of a parent-child contractpublished in the École branchée magazine on the family - Well-being, a lever for learning ... even at a distance

This practical guide for parents was produced in partnership with the Fédération des comités de parents du Québec (FCPQ) and the English Parents' Committee Association (EPCA) and is available free of charge in French and English with the financial support of the Quebec Ministry of Education.

To download it, visit www.ecolebranchee.com/famille or ecolebranche.com/family.

You can also find a contract template to customize: bit.ly/contratRDV.

In addition :

As a teacher, you can also co-construct a code of ethics for technology use in the classroom with your students. Read our article on this subject.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Stéphanie Dionne
Stephanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne is director of development and partnerships, facilitator and speaker. It contributes to the influence of players in the education sector and its ecosystem. In addition, it supports parents, teachers and workers in a mentality of co-education in order to allow young people to become fulfilled citizens in the digital age.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Retour en classe : le contrat parent-enfant pour une saine utilisation des technologies

Le retour à l’école devient une occasion de revenir à une certaine routine familiale. Dans plusieurs familles, cela est aussi le moment d’établir des règles encadrant le temps d’écran des enfants. Le contrat parent-enfant devient un outil concret pour officialiser celles-ci et permet un dialogue entre parents et enfants autour de ces règles.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

En collaboration avec Martine Rioux

Le retour à l’école devient une occasion de revenir à une certaine routine familiale. Dans plusieurs familles, cela est aussi le moment d’établir des règles encadrant le temps d’écran des enfants. Alors que 85 % des parents de jeunes âgées de 6 à 17 ans affirment avoir déjà telles règles, le contrat parent-enfant devient un outil concret pour officialiser celles-ci et permet un dialogue entre parents et enfants autour de ces règles.

En effet, au Québec, les plus récentes données de l’enquête NETendances indiquent que près de 9 parents de jeunes âgés de 6 à 17 ans sur 10 (85 %) mentionnent avoir, à la maison, des règles encadrant le temps que leurs jeunes peuvent passer sur Internet, ou bien à propos des sites qu’ils peuvent visiter. Les règles d’encadrement liées à l’usage de l’Internet sont davantage utilisées par les parents d’enfants de 6 à 12 ans (93 %) que ceux de jeunes âgés de 13 à 17 ans (74 %).

Le contrat parent-enfant : un outil concret 

L’autorégulation de l’utilisation des appareils numériques ne se développe pas sans un accompagnement chez les jeunes. Mais, comment les accompagner en tant que parents? Le contrat parent-enfant devient un outil concret pour encadrer l’utilisation des écrans dans la famille.

Pour que la mise en place d’un tel contrat soit efficace, il nécessite la création d’un dialogue constructif entre les parents et les enfants, et cela, qu’ils aient 5 ou 15 ans. En créant une dynamique relationnelle qui implique un questionnement et l’ouverture aux points de vue de chacun, il est possible définir les règles applicables à sa réalité familiale sans que les jeunes aient l’impression de se les faire imposer tout simplement. Ils participent à la discussion.

D’ailleurs, plutôt que d’encadrer uniquement le temps passé devant les écrans, il est aussi possible d’encadrer les usages (temps d’apprentissage vs temps pour jouer ou socialiser) et d’établir d’autres conditions d’utilisation.

La préparation du contrat devient alors un moment concret qui encourage la communication parent-enfant et permet à chacun de s’exprimer sur l’utilisation des écrans. Parents et enfants peuvent définir ensemble les règles qui conviennent le mieux pour eux. Ainsi, le contrat parents-enfant a le potentiel de favoriser la mise en place de règles de vie positives et agit sur l’autonomie des jeunes vers de saines habitudes de vie, plutôt que d’être perçu comme étant contraignant et limitatif.

Démarche à découvrir et modèle à télécharger

 Les parents peuvent s’initier à cette démarche en lisant l’article Définir ses règles de vie sous forme d’un contrat parent-enfant, publié dans le magazine École branchée sur la famille – Le bien-être, un levier pour l’apprentissage… même à distance

Ce guide pratique pour les parents a été réalisé en partenariat avec la Fédération des comités de parents du Québec (FCPQ) et English Parents’ Committee Association (EPCA) et est offert gratuitement en français et en anglais avec le soutien financier du ministère de l’Éducation du Québec.

Pour le télécharger, visitez www.ecolebranchee.com/famille ou ecolebranche.com/family.

Retrouvez aussi un modèle de contrat à personnaliser : bit.ly/contratRDV.

En complément :

Comme enseignant, vous pouvez aussi co-construire un code d’éthique de l’utilisation des technologies dans la classe avec vos élèves. Relisez notre article à ce sujet.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Stéphanie Dionne
Stéphanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne est directrice du développement et des partenariats, animatrice et conférencière. Elle contribue au rayonnement des acteurs du milieu de l'Éducation et de son écosystème. De plus, elle accompagnement les parents, les enseignants et les intervenants dans une mentalité de coéducation afin de permettre aux jeunes de devenir des citoyens épanouis à l'ère du numérique.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :