ADVERTISEMENT

Resources to develop its power to act against climate change

To encourage young people to participate in the fight against climate change, the Government of Canada recently launched the Youth Climate site.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

To encourage young people to participate in the fight against climate change, the Government of Canada recently launched the Youth Climate site.

Young Canadians between the ages of 8 and 15 are invited to participate in the fight against climate change via the new site Youth climate. Here is the portrait of this interactive platform as well as that of other sites of the same kind.

Clean and easy to navigate, the new Canadian government site offers several educational activities concerning this global challenge. Of games and information capsules encourage young people to introspect their own knowledge, while making them aware of the impact of their daily actions and those of those around them.

These young people will now be empowered and equipped to talk about these issues to their loved ones in order to make them aware of the simple actions that can be taken at home, at school and in the community. Catherine McKenna, Canadian Minister for the Environment and Climate Change, believes that by positioning themselves early on this issue, they will become important players in the fight against climate change.

 

Other platforms that generate interest

In the same vein, " Rafale's corner », Integrated into the site of the Quebec government's Ministry of Sustainable Development, the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change, provides young people and teachers with an impressive bank of games and interactive tools to develop knowledge about the environment and climate change.

The site Small experiments suggests, for its part, activities to be carried out in class in order to understand and, above all, to visualize various elements related to global warming.

To complete this overview, several relevant videos are presented on the Greenpeace Canada website. Strongly invested in exposing environmental issues, this organization even offers training to people wishing to get involved at this level.

 

To follow these organizations on a regular basis, join them on social media:

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Felipe Antaya
Felipe Antaya
Pursuing studies in educational technology, Felipe Antaya has worked for several years in the field of education at the secondary and college level. Holder of a master's degree in Quebec studies and a bachelor's degree in philosophy, he has also worked in the field of written media.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Des ressources pour développer son pouvoir d’action contre les changements climatiques

Pour inciter les jeunes à participer à la lutte contre les changements climatiques, le gouvernement du Canada lançait récemment le site Climat jeunes.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Pour inciter les jeunes à participer à la lutte contre les changements climatiques, le gouvernement du Canada lançait récemment le site Climat jeunes.

Les jeunes Canadiens âgés entre 8 et 15 ans sont invités à participer à la lutte contre les changements climatiques via le nouveau site Climat jeunes. Voici le portrait de cette plateforme interactive ainsi que celui d’autres sites du même genre.

Épuré et facile à naviguer, le nouveau site du gouvernement canadien propose plusieurs activités éducatives concernant ce défi planétaire. Des jeux et des capsules d’information amènent les jeunes à faire une introspection de leurs propres connaissances, tout en leur faisant prendre conscience des impacts de leurs gestes quotidiens et de ceux de leur entourage.

Ces jeunes seront désormais responsabilisés et outillés pour parler de ces questions à leurs proches afin de les sensibiliser aux gestes simples qui peuvent être posés à la maison, à l’école et dans la collectivité. Catherine McKenna, ministre canadienne de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique, estime d’ailleurs qu’en se positionnant tôt sur cet enjeu, ils deviendront des acteurs importants dans la lutte contre les changements climatiques.

 

D’autres plateformes qui suscitent l’intérêt

Dans la même veine, « Le coin de Rafale », intégré au site du ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques du gouvernement du Québec, met à la disposition des jeunes et des enseignants une impressionnante banque de jeux et d’outils interactifs pour développer des connaissances au sujet de l’environnement et des changements climatiques.

Le site Petites expériences suggère pour sa part des activités à réaliser en classe afin de comprendre et surtout, de visualiser divers éléments en lien avec le réchauffement de la planète.

Pour compléter ce tour d’horizon, plusieurs vidéos pertinentes sont présentées sur le site de Greenpeace Canada. Fortement investie dans l’exposition des problèmes environnementaux, cette organisation offre même des formations aux personnes désirant s’impliquer à ce niveau.

 

Pour suivre ces organismes sur une base régulière, rejoignez-les sur les médias sociaux :

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Felipe Antaya
Felipe Antaya
Poursuivant des études en technologie éducative, Felipe Antaya travaille depuis plusieurs années dans le milieu de l’éducation au niveau secondaire et collégial. Titulaire d’une maîtrise en études québécoises et d’un baccalauréat en philosophie, il a aussi œuvré dans le milieu des médias écrits.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :