Facial recognition: more risks than benefits?

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Paradox in the digital world: San Francisco, a temple of technological innovation, became the first American city to ban the use of facial recognition tools by the police and other local government agencies. It is because several concerns have been raised regarding the protection of privacy and respect for civil liberties. In addition, according to several groups, the risks associated with this technology are too great in relation to the benefits that could be derived from it. A look at a technology with major ethical implications.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

Paradox in the digital world: San Francisco, a temple of technological innovation, became the first American city to ban the use of facial recognition tools by the police and other local government agencies. It is because several concerns have been raised regarding the protection of privacy and respect for civil liberties. In addition, according to several groups, the risks associated with this technology are too great in relation to the benefits that could be derived from it. Several failures have been put forward concerning, in particular, women and people of color:

“A pilot project carried out at a music festival last year identified 12 suspects among 40,000 faces… except that only two were really on the suspect list. "

Source: Agence Science-Presse, May 17, 2019

The use of facial recognition in China is currently very questionable. For example, pedestrians can be fined if they did not cross the street in the right place. And even worse, in this same country, facial recognition would be used for racial profiling.

"The American daily The New York Times recently reported that Chinese authorities are using this technology to track members of the Uighur Muslim minority. The system is programmed to search only for people with physical characteristics characteristic of members of this minority. "

Source: Radio-Canada, May 15, 2019

On the more positive side, big companies like Apple (to unlock the iPhone), Facebook (to automatically identify us on photos or videos) and JetBlue (to speed up boarding at the airport) are using recognition. facial in order to make life easier for users and make the customer experience more enjoyable.

In short, a majority agree on the fact that facial recognition is not yet developed at the present time, but that, put in good hands and well regulated, this technology could become an interesting asset, among other things in cases of missing children. or to combat sex trafficking.

“This technology will improve and could prove to be a useful tool for public safety if used responsibly and with the utmost care. "

Source: Radio-Canada, May 15, 2019

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Reconnaissance faciale : plus de risques que de bénéfices?

Paru / Mis à jour le

Paradoxe dans l'univers du numérique : San Francisco, temple de l'innovation technologique, est devenue la première ville américaine à bannir l'utilisation d'outils de reconnaissance faciale par la police et d'autres agences du gouvernement local. C'est que plusieurs inquiétudes auraient été soulevées relativement à la protection de la vie privée et au respect des libertés civiques. De surcroît, selon plusieurs groupes, les risques associés à cette technologie sont trop grands relativement aux bénéfices qu'on pourrait en tirer. Regard sur une technologie aux grandes implications éthiques.

Paradoxe dans l’univers du numérique : San Francisco, temple de l’innovation technologique, est devenue la première ville américaine à bannir l’utilisation d’outils de reconnaissance faciale par la police et d’autres agences du gouvernement local. C’est que plusieurs inquiétudes auraient été soulevées relativement à la protection de la vie privée et au respect des libertés civiques. De surcroît, selon plusieurs groupes, les risques associés à cette technologie sont trop grands relativement aux bénéfices qu’on pourrait en tirer. Plusieurs ratés ont été mis de l’avant concernant, tout particulièrement, les femmes et les gens de couleur :

« Un projet-pilote mené lors d’un festival de musique l’an dernier a identifié 12 suspects parmi 40 000 visages… sauf que seulement deux étaient vraiment sur la liste des suspects. »

Source : Agence Science-Presse, 17 mai 2019

L’utilisation de la reconnaissance faciale en Chine est très questionnable actuellement. Par exemple, les piétons peuvent recevoir une amende s’ils n’ont pas traversé la rue au bon endroit. Et encore pire, dans ce même pays, la reconnaissance faciale servirait à faire du profilage racial.

« Le quotidien américain The New York Times a rapporté récemment que les autorités chinoises se servent de cette technologie pour repérer les membres de la minorité musulmane des Ouïgours. Le système est programmé pour ne chercher que les personnes arborant les caractéristiques physiques caractéristiques des membres de cette minorité. »

Source : Radio-Canada, 15 mai 2019

D’un côté plus positif, de grosses compagnies comme Apple (pour déverrouiller le iPhone), Facebook (pour nous identifier automatiquement sur des photos ou des vidéos) et JetBlue (pour accélérer l’embarquement à l’aéroport) se servent de la reconnaissance faciale dans le but de faciliter la vie des utilisateurs et rendent l’expérience client plus agréable.

Bref, une majorité s’entend sur le fait que la reconnaissance faciale n’est pas encore au point présentement, mais que mise entre bonnes mains et bien réglementée, cette technologie pourrait devenir un atout intéressant entre autres dans les cas de disparition d’enfants ou pour combattre le trafic sexuel.

« Cette technologie va s’améliorer et pourrait se révéler un outil utile pour la sécurité publique si elle est utilisée de manière responsable et avec le plus grand soin. »

Source : Radio-Canada, 15 mai 2019

Les pistes pédagogiques sont réservées aux enseignant(e)s abonnés à SCOOP!, par l’École branchée.

si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) ou apprenez-en plus ici!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!