What is going on in Ukraine?

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Nothing goes on in Ukraine. For several weeks, observers had feared the worst, but were hopeful of a diplomatic resolution to the standoff with Russia. Unfortunately, the armed conflict has started. The activity ideas and resources in this guide are designed to help you develop students' critical thinking skills and encourage them to seek information from a variety of sources.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

Nothing is going well in Ukraine. And it is normal to have a lot of questions about this difficult to understand war. Most teachers lack knowledge about the complex geopolitical and historical context of the conflict, which leads them to wonder if they should really address the issue in class, and if so, how. Despite this, many experts believe that it is important to do so, or to be prepared to answer questions, and that young people are capable of much more nuanced thinking than is commonly believed.

Russia attacked Ukraine last night. She carried out the threat she had brandished (waved) for several weeks. 7000 km from Montreal, a war broke out.

Flash News – The Curious

As teachers, in such a historical moment, it is important to remember not to impose one's personal view of the situation and to maintain an atmosphere of openness to the other. This is a good opportunity to approach the situation as a learner, not as an expert, and model your own strategies. Let's not forget that armed conflicts unfortunately take place every day in the world, but we hear more about this one since it is in Europe and we are "closer" to them. This is an opportunity to develop students' critical thinking skills and encourage them to seek information from multiple sources. The activity ideas and resources in this guide are intended to help you do just that.

* * *

Information since the start of the attacks, on February 24, 2022 in the morning, has been coming in drips. This report shot after the first strikes shows how complex it is to obtain the real information, on the one hand as on the other.

 

Moreover, we are witnessing a real war of disinformation exacerbated by social media. Agence Science-Presse has looked into the matter and gives tips on how not to contribute to it!

Ukraine: how to avoid sharing misinformation

You can also read this article from Radio-Canada: Propaganda, disinformation, misinformation: welcome to the war in “ streaming "

What's happening in Ukraine?

The MAJ team looked into the matter.

For 8 to 12 year olds: Why is Putin waging war on Ukraine? (Children's Diary)

And the RAD team too:

“Madam, will there be a 3rd World War? "Sir, why don't other countries intervene?" »

Like almost all teachers, you have probably been asked if a Third World War is going to happen, or why NATO, the UN and other countries of the world are not intervening in Ukraine. Read this editorial by Jonathan Le Prof on the subject: The invasion of Ukraine and the risk of WW3.

For younger students (8 to 12 years old): War in Ukraine: All eyes turn to NATO

You can also refer to this article published via our newsfeed which lists a lot of interesting resources to broach the subject with your students.


Suggested Activities

Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:

  • Locate Ukraine on a world map and name its neighboring countries;
  • Analyze a map of the European Union and locate Ukraine on it;
  • To better understand what is happening in Ukraine with the help of press articles;
  • To better understand the role of NATO in such a conflict;
  • Go back in time and also learn about the 2014 protests and the Orange Revolution (understand that as early as 2004, tensions already existed in Ukraine).

To get all the activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!

Collaborating with Laurie Couture, Audrey Miller and Véronique Lavergne

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Que se passe-t-il en Ukraine?

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Rien ne va plus en Ukraine. Depuis plusieurs semaines, les observateurs craignaient le pire, mais avaient espoir en la résolution diplomatique de l'impasse qui l'oppose à la Russie. Malheureusement, le conflit armé a débuté. Les idées d'activités et les ressources contenues dans ce guide visent à vous accompagner à développer l'esprit critique des élèves et les encourager à s'informer à plusieurs sources.

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Rien ne va plus en Ukraine. Et il est normal de se poser un tas de questions à propos de cette guerre difficile à comprendre. La plupart des enseignant(e)s manque de connaissances sur le contexte géopolitique et historique complexe du conflit, ce qui les amène à se demander s’ils devraient vraiment aborder la question en classe, et si oui, comment. Malgré cela, plusieurs spécialistes estiment qu’il est important de le faire, ou de se préparer à répondre aux questions, et que les jeunes sont capables de nuancer leur pensée beaucoup plus que ce qu’on croit généralement.

La Russie a attaqué l’Ukraine la nuit dernière. Elle a mis à exécution la menace qu’elle brandissait (agitait) depuis plusieurs semaines. À 7000 km de Montréal, une guerre a éclaté.

Flash Info – Le Curieux

En tant qu’enseignants(e), dans un tel moment historique, il est important de se rappeler de ne pas imposer sa vision personnelle de la situation et de maintenir un climat d’ouverture à l’autre. Il s’agit d’une bonne occasion d’aborder la situation comme un apprenant, et non comme un expert, et modeler ses propres stratégies. N’oublions pas que des conflits armés se déroulent malheureusement tous les jours dans le monde, mais qu’on entend plus parler de celui-ci puisqu’il se déroule en Europe et que nous sommes plus « près » d’eux. Il faut saisir l’occasion de développer l’esprit critique des élèves et les encourager à s’informer à plusieurs sources. Les idées d’activités et les ressources contenues dans ce guide visent à vous y accompagner.

* * *

Les informations depuis le début des attaques, le 24 février 2022 au matin, arrivent au compte-goutte. Ce reportage tourné après les premières frappes montre à quel point il est complexe d’obtenir les vraies informations, d’une part comme de l’autre.

 

D’ailleurs, on assiste à une véritable guerre de désinformation exacerbée par les médias sociaux. L’Agence Science-Presse s’est penchée sur la question et donne des trucs pour ne pas y contribuer!

Ukraine : comment éviter de partager de la désinformation

On peut aussi lire cet article de Radio-Canada : Propagande, désinformation, mésinformation : bienvenue à la guerre en « streaming »

Qu’est-ce qui se passe en Ukraine?

L’équipe de MAJ s’est penchée sur la question.

Pour les 8 à 12 ans : Pourquoi Poutine fait-il la guerre à l’Ukraine? (Journal des Enfants)

Et l’équipe de RAD aussi :

« Madame, y aura-t-il une 3e Guerre mondiale? » « Monsieur, pourquoi les autres pays n’interviennent pas? »

Comme presque tous les enseignants, vous vous êtes probablement fait demander si une troisième guerre mondiale allait avoir lieu, ou pourquoi l’OTAN, l’ONU et les autres pays du monde n’interviennent pas en Ukraine. Lisez cet éditorial de Jonathan Le Prof sur le sujet : L’invasion de l’Ukraine et le risque de 3e Guerre mondiale.

Pour des élèves plus jeunes (8 à 12 ans) : Guerre en Ukraine: Des regards se tournent vers l’OTAN

Vous pouvez également vous référer à cet article paru via notre fil d’actualités qui répertorie plein de ressources intéressantes pour aborder le sujet avec vos élèves.


Suggestions d’activités

Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :

  • Localiser l’Ukraine sur une carte du monde et nommer ses pays limitrophes;
  • Analyser une carte de l’Union européenne et localiser l’Ukraine sur celle-ci;
  • Mieux comprendre ce qui se passe en Ukraine à l’aide d’articles de presse;
  • Mieux comprendre le rôle de l’OTAN dans un tel conflit;
  • Revenir dans le passé et s’informer également sur les manifestations de 2014 et la révolution orange (comprendre que dès 2004, des tensions existaient déjà en Ukraine).

Pour obtenir toutes les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!

Collaboration de Laurie Couture, Audrey Miller et Véronique Lavergne

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir