ADVERTISEMENT

Students have adapted to online schooling and half of parents want more digital in school

According to the most recent NETendance survey released by the Academy of Digital Transformation, 82 % of Quebec parents whose children have had to stay home because of the pandemic feel that their children have adapted well to school learning done online. Half of the parents also believe that digital technology should play a greater role in their children's school learning.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

According to the most recent NETendance survey released by the Academy of Digital Transformation last week, 82 % of Quebec parents whose children have had to stay at home because of the pandemic feel that their children have adapted well to school learning done online. Half of parents (49 %) also believe that digital technology should be more important in their children's school learning. 

The shutter The trendy family The NETendance survey has been conducted for several years in Quebec. Its main purpose is to document the digital use of young people in primary and secondary school (6 to 17 years old). However, this is the first time that questions related to distance education and digital technology in the school context were included in the questionnaire. Three data collections were conducted during the months of March, July, and August 2021 with Internet and non-Internet parents.

This shows that:

  • 94 % of high school youth (ages 13-17) and 85 % of elementary school youth (ages 6-12) stayed home from school to do online learning at some point since the start of the pandemic;
  • 82 % of parent respondents (79 % of mothers and 84 % of fathers) feel that their children have adapted well to online academic learning;
  • Among boys, 19 % of their parents reported finding their youth's adjustment more difficult compared to 13 % of girls;
  • 29 % of parents said they were very comfortable supporting their child in their online learning, 47 % were somewhat comfortable. There were still 18 % who felt somewhat uncomfortable doing so.
  • 49 % of the parents who responded consider that digital technology should play a greater role in their children's learning at school. It should be noted that more parents of children aged 6 to 12 (54 %) than those with children aged 13 to 17 (43 %) think that digital technology should play a greater role in their children's school learning. 

Uses of electronic devices 

Almost all (98 %) of 6-17 year olds now use electronic devices, whether at home or elsewhere; 71 % of them even use three or more electronic devices. Smartphones have continued to grow among this young audience, with 84 % of teens now owning one and 65 % of 6- to 12-year-olds.

It is worth noting that the tablet, which was the most popular electronic device among youth in 2020, has seen its usage rate drop in one year, from 71 % in 2020 to 62 % in 2021 for all youth. This has probably been abandoned in favor of the smartphone, which young people can more easily carry around with them. On the other hand, the computer has possibly become the main tool for online schooling. Its use has remained stable (70 % in 2021 and 69 % in 2020).

It should also be noted that boys continue to outnumber girls in their use of video game consoles, with 78 % of boys compared to 54 % of girls.

Time spent on the Internet

The amount of time spent on the Internet by youth ages 6-17 remained fairly stable in 2021 compared to 2020 (42 % vs. 40 %). Looking more closely, 42 % of high school youth spend more than 15 hours per week on average on the Internet. In contrast, 66 % of elementary school youth spend 10 hours or less per week online.

What types of activities for youth online?


Video viewing (e.g., YouTube) remains the most popular activity among youth on the Internet with 72 % (84 % of 13- to 17-year-olds and 62 % of 6- to 12-year-olds). In contrast, this one is in decline for the second year in a row. It was 86 % in 2019. Watching series or movies on the Internet (e.g., Netflix) is considered another type of activity that 49 % of youth engage in (60 % of 13- to 17-year-olds and 40 % of 6- to 12-year-olds). An activity that is also declining.

Considering the activities more identified with a learning context, note that: 

  • 59 % of teens and 27 % of 6-12 year olds report using the Internet for school purposes, such as research. These figures were 76 % and 51 % in 2020.
  • 49 % (62 % in 2020) of adolescents and 17 % (27 % in 2020) of 6-12 year olds are in a school-based education program (full or part-time).
  • 31 % of youth visit educational sites (38 % in 2020).

Other popular activities among elementary school youth include:

  • Play online, alone or with friends (64 %)
  • Visit entertainment websites (50 %)
  • Communicate via video (e.g. FaceTime) (23 %)
  • Send messages by text messages (22 %)

Here are the main activities for high school youth

  • Play online, alone or with friends (71 %)
  • Send text messages (69 %)
  • Use social networks (viewing, posting, interaction) (63 %).
  • Visit entertainment websites (61 %)

All in all, the social aspect and interaction with young people is still very present.

Parental guidance

Ninety-three percent (93 %) of parents of children aged 6 to 12 apply rules to Internet use (both in terms of content consumed and screen time), compared with 74 % of parents of children aged 13 to 17.

Finally, 28 % of parents consider it very likely that their children will be bullied on the Internet in 2021, whether by peers or strangers. This is a marked increase of 13 % compared to 2020 when 15 % of parents shared this fear. Youth aged 6 to 12 years would be more at risk, with 35 % of parents of children in this age group considering it very likely that their children will be bullied, compared to 18 % of parents whose youth are aged 13 to 17 years. This statistic was already up sharply in 2020, compared to 2019.

The full report is available on the ATN website.

(Re)Read our report from last year as a comparison.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les élèves se sont adaptés à l’école en ligne et la moitié des parents veut plus de numérique à l’école

Selon la plus récente enquête NETendance rendue publique par l’Académie de la transformation numérique, 82 % des parents québécois dont les enfants ont dû demeurer à la maison à cause de la pandémie estiment que ceux-ci se sont bien adaptés aux apprentissages scolaires réalisés en ligne. La moitié des parents est également d'avis que le numérique devrait occuper plus de place dans les apprentissages scolaires de leurs enfants.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Selon la plus récente enquête NETendance rendue publique par l’Académie de la transformation numérique la semaine dernière, 82 % des parents québécois dont les enfants ont dû demeurer à la maison à cause de la pandémie estiment que ceux-ci se sont bien adaptés aux apprentissages scolaires réalisés en ligne. La moitié des parents (49 %) est également d’avis que le numérique devrait occuper plus de place dans les apprentissages scolaires de leurs enfants. 

Le volet La famille branchée de l’enquête NETendance est réalisé depuis plusieurs années au Québec. Il vise principalement à témoigner de l’usage du numérique chez les jeunes du primaire et du secondaire (6 à 17 ans). Cependant, il s’agit de la première fois où des questions en lien avec l’école à distance et le numérique en contexte scolaire étaient incluses dans le questionnaire. Trois collectes de données ont été réalisées durant les mois de mars, juillet et août 2021 auprès de parents internautes et non-internautes.

Il en ressort que :

  • 94 % des jeunes du secondaire (13 à 17 ans) et 85 % des jeunes du primaire (6 à 12 ans) sont demeurés à la maison pour y faire des apprentissages scolaires en ligne à un moment où un autre depuis le début de la pandémie;
  • 82 % des parents répondants (79 % des mères et 84 % des pères) trouvent que leurs enfants se sont bien adaptés aux apprentissages scolaires en ligne;
  • Chez les garçons, 19 % de leurs parents ont mentionné avoir trouvé l’adaptation de leurs jeunes plus difficile en comparaison à 13 % chez les filles;
  • 29 % des parents se sont dit très à l’aise pour soutenir leur enfant dans leur apprentissage en ligne, 47 % étaient plutôt à l’aise. On note quand même 18 % qui se sont sentis plutôt mal à l’aise pour le faire.
  • 49 % des parents répondants considèrent que le numérique devrait occuper une plus grande place dans les apprentissages scolaires de leurs jeunes à l’école. Mentionnons ici que les parents d’enfants âgés de 6 à 12 ans (54 %) sont plus nombreux que ceux ayant des jeunes de 13 à 17 ans (43 %) à penser que le numérique devrait occuper une plus grande place dans les apprentissages scolaires de leurs enfants. 

Usages des appareils électroniques 

La presque totalité (98 %) des jeunes de 6 à 17 ans utilisent désormais des appareils électroniques, que ce soit à la maison ou ailleurs; 71 % d’entre eux font même usage de trois appareils électroniques et plus. Le téléphone intelligent a continué sa progression chez ce jeune public : ce sont maintenant 84 % des adolescents qui en possèdent un et 65 % des 6 à 12 ans.

Mentionnons que la tablette électronique, qui était en 2020 l’appareil électronique le plus populaire auprès des jeunes, a vu son taux d’utilisation baisser en un an, passant de 71 % en 2020 à 62 % en 2021 pour l’ensemble des jeunes. Celle-ci a probablement été délaissée au profit du téléphone intelligent que les jeunes peuvent plus facilement transporter partout avec eux. Par ailleurs, l’ordinateur est possiblement devenu le principal outil pour l’école en ligne. Son usage est demeuré stable (70 % en 2021 et 69 % en 2020).

Soulignons aussi que les garçons continuent d’être plus nombreux que les filles à utiliser la console de jeu vidéo, soit 78 % des garçons comparativement à 54 % des filles.

Temps passé sur Internet

Le temps passé sur Internet par les jeunes de 6 à 17 ans est demeuré assez stable en 2021 par rapport à 2020 (42 % vs 40 %). En regardant de plus près, on observe que 42 % des jeunes du secondaire consacrent plus de 15 heures par semaine en moyenne sur Internet. De leur côté, les jeunes du primaire sont 66 % à y passer dix heures ou moins par semaine.

Quels types d’activités pour les jeunes en ligne?


L’écoute de vidéo (ex. YouTube) demeure l’activité la plus pratiquée par les jeunes sur Internet avec 72 % (84 % des 13 à 17 ans et 62 % des 6 à 12 ans). Par contre, celle-ci est en baisse pour la deuxième année consécutive. Elle était de 86 % en 2019. Visionner des séries ou des films sur Internet (ex. Netflix) est considéré comme un autre type d’activité à laquelle 49 % des jeunes s’adonnent (60 % des 13 à 17 ans et 40 % des 6 à 12 ans). Une activité qui est aussi en baisse.

Considérant les activités davantage identifiées à un contexte d’apprentissage, notons que : 

  • 59 % des adolescents et 27 % des 6 à 12 ans disent utiliser Internet dans un cadre scolaire, pour faire des recherches par exemple. Ces chiffres étaient de 76 % et de 51 % en 2020.
  • 49 % (62 % en 2020) des adolescents et 17 % (27 % en 2020) des 6 à 12 ans suivent un programme d’enseignement scolaire (à temps plein ou partiel).
  • 31 % des jeunes visitent des sites de nature éducative (38 % en 2020).

Les autres activités les plus populaires chez les jeunes du primaire sont les suivantes :

  • Jouer en ligne, seul ou avec des amis (64 %)
  • Visiter des sites Web de divertissement (50 %)
  • Communiquer par vidéo (ex. : FaceTime) (23 %)
  • Envoyer des messages par textos (22 %)

Voici les principales activités chez les jeunes du secondaire

  • Jouer en ligne, seul ou avec des amis (71 %)
  • Envoyer des messages textes (69 %)
  • Utiliser les réseaux sociaux (consultation, publication, interaction) (63 %).
  • Visiter des sites Web de divertissement (61 %)

Somme toute, le volet social et interaction avec des jeunes est toujours très présent.

Encadrement parental

Mentionnons que 93 % des parents d’enfants de 6 à 12 ans appliquent des règles d’encadrement liées à l’usage d’Internet (soit en terme de contenu consommé que de temps d’écran), comparativement à 74 % des parents de jeunes âgés de 13 à 17 ans.

Finalement, 28 % des parents considèrent qu’il est très probable que leurs enfants soient victimes d’intimidation sur Internet en 2021, que ce soit par des pairs ou par des personnes inconnues. Il s’agit d’une augmentation marquée de 13 % comparativement à 2020 alors que 15 % des parents partageaient cette crainte. Les jeunes âgés de 6 à 12 ans seraient plus à risque, alors que 35 % des parents d’enfants de ce groupe d’âge considèrent très probables les risques que leurs enfants soient victimes d’intimidation contre 18 % des parents dont les jeunes ont de 13 à 17 ans. Cette statistique était déjà en forte hausse en 2020, par rapport à 2019.

Le rapport complet est disponible sur le site Web de l’ATN.

(Re)Lire notre compte-rendu de l’année dernière en guise de comparatif.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :