ADVERTISEMENT

Objectification: naming and identifying learning to better classify it in memory (Part 2)

Emotional memory and procedural memory are often called upon in the creation of memories. Here is a way to get around this automatism and instead stimulate semantic memory.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

We know it is impossible to remember everything. However, emotional memory (which I liked) and procedural memory (the actions taken) are often called upon in the creation of memories. Here is a way to get around this automatism and stimulate students' semantic memory.

In the last post, we have seen that emotional and procedural memories act by default to encode the information received. But, how can this knowledge of encoding help us in our daily teaching? How can we prevent the knowledge presented in class from being classified under the categories of emotions or action since this is not helpful, even harmful, when the time comes to search for these notions in memory? How to guide this encoding?

Objectification

Objectivation, which takes the form of a few sentences at the end of the lesson, helps guide the type of memory that will be used to encode the concepts learned in the course. Well used, objectification helps guide the type of memory to use and promotes semantic memory (by concept) instead of emotional memory (by quality of experiences, positive or negative) or procedural (by actions taken).

Objectivation is to identify and name the concepts to remember so that they are properly classified in memory. I see objectification a bit like ranking (but less repetitive and much faster). In order to find our things properly when we need them, they must still be stored in a logical place that we will find easily. Objectification, like classification, is done in two stages. The first is to select the essential information, the second is to name it with a vocabulary that will favor its association with the right cognitive patterns.

The selection

Of all the information that the student has received during the day or during the period, the most important must be targeted: the concepts taught. The pupil listened to instructions, did various exercises, corrections, took notes, handled material… Without a clear guide, he will remember what he did and if he liked the activity, and the concepts taught will be classified in memory according to these aspects. We must therefore name the learning objective. It is possible to obtain this information from the students by questioning, having it written down, having it underlined or using any other method that you have chosen. The important thing is to name what was learned during the day or the period.  

Tidying up

Once you've selected the important items to remember, you need to know where to put them. To this end, the language chosen is important and must emphasize the concepts and objectives. The words chosen must therefore represent the concepts to be remembered in the context in which they will be used.

Know what we have learned

Once the objectification is done with the students, they will be able to identify the concepts well, to better integrate them as concepts. In addition, if this information is put forward, the students to whom we ask what they have learned in school will have an answer! This activity will help your students to realize that in your class they are learning. Not only will they be aware of their learning (metacognition), but they will be able to name what they learned.   

To illustrate this, let's take the example of a French class where students see the past participle agreement. Without objectification, the student will remember the explanations that were colorful on the board and interesting because the teacher was dynamic and funny. He will also remember the text that told the story of the lost dog, used to practice the chord, and the sad end where the dog finds its original master so the child can no longer keep him. He will also remember the correction teamwork where he discussed with his friend the new student in the group since the discussion was very funny. He will finally remember the correction, where he was happy to have passed the majority of the answers. Once home, when he is asked what he learned or did at school, the answer will probably be "nothing" or "we did some teamwork and I was placed with Adam so it 'was good ".

Once home, when [the child] is asked what he learned in school, the answer will probably be “nothing” or “we did some teamwork and I was placed with Adam. so it was good ”.

If at the end of the lesson we add objectification where the main notions are named in class “today, we saw the agreement of the past participle with the auxiliary being. We remember that it agrees with the subject in gender (feminine-masculine) and in number (singular or plural). These few seconds allow the students to organize the activities under the umbrella of the concept practiced. 

Access to this information will be faster and more efficient since it has been clearly named according to the concept and the essential to remember. This same student who will be asked what he has learned during the day will also be able to answer, name the concepts, making him take a more active role in his learning through his metacognition.  

Personally, I like to tell my students that the course has done them a double service. Not only are they now able to use the concept taught in the course (and, here, I name it), but when their parents ask them what they learned that day, they will have something to answer. So we kill two birds with one stone!

* Notions of objectification based on the writings of Bissonnette, S. and Richard, M. (2000) How to build skills in the classroom. Chenelière / McGraw-Hill, p. 76-78

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Mrs Prof
Mrs Prof
She holds a bachelor's degree in education and is currently a candidate for a master's degree in education. She is involved with various organizations in order to equip teachers and improve the various facets of teaching and learning in Quebec.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

L’objectivation : nommer et identifier les apprentissages pour mieux les classer en mémoire (Partie 2)

La mémoire émotive et la mémoire procédurale sont souvent sollicitées dans la création de souvenirs. Voici une piste pour contourner cet automatisme et stimuler plutôt la mémoire sémantique.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

On le sait, il est impossible de se souvenir de tout. Toutefois, la mémoire émotive (ce que j’ai aimé) et la mémoire procédurale (les actions posées) sont souvent sollicitées dans la création de souvenirs. Voici une piste pour contourner cet automatisme et stimuler la mémoire sémantique des élèves.

Dans le dernier billet, nous avons vu que les mémoires émotives et procédurales agissent par défaut pour encoder l’information reçue. Mais, comment est-ce que cette connaissance de l’encodage peut nous aider dans notre enseignement quotidien? Comment éviter que les connaissances présentées en classe soient classées sous les catégories d’émotions ou d’action puisque ce n’est pas aidant, voire nuisible, quand vient le temps de rechercher ces notions en mémoire? Comment faire pour guider cet encodage?

L’objectivation

L’objectivation, qui prend la forme de quelques phrases en fin de leçon, permet de guider le type de mémoire qui sera sollicité pour encoder les notions apprises dans le cours. Bien utilisé, l’objectivation permet de guider le type de mémoire à utiliser et de favoriser une mémoire sémantique (par concept) au lieu de la mémoire émotive (par qualité d’expériences, positives ou négatives) ou procédurale (par actions posées).

L’objectivation est d’identifier et nommer les concepts à retenir afin qu’ils soient bien classés dans la mémoire. Je vois l’objectivation un peu comme le classement (mais moins répétitif et beaucoup plus rapide). Afin de bien retrouver nos choses quand nous en aurons besoin, encore faut-il qu’elles soient rangées à un endroit logique que nous retrouverons facilement. L’objectivation, comme le classement, se fait en deux temps. Le premier est de sélectionner l’information essentielle, le second est de le nommer avec un vocabulaire qui favorisera son association aux bons schémas cognitifs.

La sélection

De toute l’information que l’élève a reçue dans la journée ou dans la période, il faut cibler les plus importantes : les notions enseignées. L’élève a écouté des instructions, fait différents exercices, des corrections, pris des notes, manipulé du matériel… Sans guide clair, il se rappellera ce qu’il a fait et s’il a aimé l’activité, et les concepts enseignés seront classés en mémoire selon ces aspects. Il faut donc nommer l’objectif d’apprentissage. Il est possible d’obtenir cette information des élèves par questionnement, le faire prendre en note, le faire souligner ou user de toute autre méthode que vous aurez choisie. L’important est de nommer ce qui a été appris dans la journée ou la période.  

Le rangement

Une fois la sélection des éléments importants à retenir faite, il faut savoir où les ranger. À cette fin, le langage choisi est important et doit mettre en relief les notions et objectifs.  Les mots choisis doivent donc représenter les notions à se rappeler dans le contexte où elles serviront.

Savoir ce que l’on a appris

Une fois l’objectivation faite avec les élèves, ils seront en mesure de bien identifier les notions, de mieux les intégrer en tant que concepts. De plus, si cette information est mise de l’avant, les élèves à qui nous demanderons ce qu’ils auront appris à l’école auront une réponse! Cette activité permettra à vos élèves de prendre conscience que, dans votre cours, ils apprennent. Non seulement seront-ils conscients de leur apprentissage (métacognition), mais ils seront en mesure de nommer les apprentissages faits.   

Afin d’illustrer le tout, prenons l’exemple d’un cours de français où les élèves voient l’accord du participe passé. Sans objectivation, l’élève gardera en mémoire les explications qui étaient colorées au tableau et intéressantes parce que l’enseignant était dynamique et drôle. Il se rappellera aussi le texte qui racontait l’histoire du chien perdu, utilisé pour pratiquer l’accord, et la fin triste où le chien retrouve son maître original donc l’enfant ne peut plus le garder. Il se rappellera aussi le travail d’équipe de correction où il a discuté avec son ami de la nouvelle élève du groupe puisque la discussion était très drôle. Il se rappellera finalement la correction, où il était heureux d’avoir réussi la majorité des réponses. Une fois à la maison, quand il se fera demander ce qu’il a appris ou fait à l’école, la réponse sera probablement « rien » ou « on a fait du travail d’équipe et j’étais placé avec Adam donc c’était bien ».

Une fois à la maison, quand [l’enfant] se fera demander ce qu’il a appris à l’école, la réponse sera probablement « rien » ou « on a fait du travail d’équipe et j’étais placé avec Adam donc c’était bien ».

Si à la fin de la leçon nous ajoutons de l’objectivation où les notions principales sont nommées en classe « aujourd’hui, on a vu l’accord du participe passé avec l’auxiliaire être. On se rappelle qu’il s’accorde avec le sujet en genre (féminin-masculin) et en nombre (singulier ou pluriel). » Ces quelques secondes permettent aux élèves d’organiser les activités sous le chapeau de la notion pratiquée. 

L’accès à cette information sera plus rapide et efficace puisqu’elle a été nommée clairement en fonction du concept et de l’essentiel à retenir. Ce même élève à qui on demandera ce qu’il a appris dans la journée sera aussi en mesure de répondre, de nommer les notions, lui faisant prendre un rôle plus actif dans ses apprentissages passant par sa métacognition.  

Personnellement, j’aime dire à mes élèves que le cours leur a rendu un double service. Non seulement, ils sont maintenant capables d’utiliser la notion enseignée dans le cours (et, ici, je la nomme), mais quand leurs parents leur demanderont ce qu’ils ont appris dans la journée, ils auront quelque chose à répondre. On fait donc d’une pierre deux coups!

*Notions d’objectivation basée sur les écrits de Bissonnette, S. et Richard, M. (2000) Comment construire des compétences en classe.  Chenelière/McGraw-Hill, p. 76-78

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Mrs Prof
Détentrice d’un baccalauréat en enseignement, elle est présentement candidate à la maîtrise en éducation. Elle s’implique auprès de diverses organisations afin d’outiller les enseignants et d’améliorer les diverses facettes de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage au Québec.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Nos prochaines formations en direct