ADVERTISEMENT

Digital textbooks: an illusion?

Readers of the American publication eSchool News believe that the reality of digital textbooks in school is still a long way off. Here's why: accessibility, relevance, technology and pedagogy.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Readers of the American publication eSchool News believe that the reality of digital textbooks in school is still a long way off. Here's why: accessibility, relevance, technology and pedagogy.

The editorial team asked their readers what they think of digital textbooks, what the situation is like in their community. The responses revealed that many are still uncomfortable with this idea and foresee the coexistence of paper and digital for several years to come.

The first reason mentioned is that of universal access to technology for students. As long as all students do not have guaranteed and equivalent access to the technology that makes it possible to consult these digital books, the paper version does not disappear. Universal access is a question of technology, but also of price. For example, a deputy director explains that in his opinion, if publishers do not lower the price of their resources, digital is not economically advantageous.

Another point raised, which seems the most important, is that of pedagogy. Some believe that schools and teachers must first understand what using digital tools in education means. This would probably allow us to see beyond the technology / digital manual pairing in such a debate.

Among the other reactions, some show a fear at the level of the evaluation of digital resources - are they reliable, do they achieve the prescribed objectives, do they work well regardless of the platform, etc. One respondent also pointed out that it is not always easy to take notes on digital texts, as it is on paper.

In short, it is not tomorrow the day before that American schools will swap their paper textbooks for fully digital resources. And in your community, how is it going?

To read the full answers in the original article, it's this way!

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Manuels scolaires numériques : une illusion?

Des lecteurs de la publication américaine eSchool News croient qu’on est encore loin de la réalité des manuels numériques à l’école. Voici pourquoi : accessibilité, pertinence, technologie et pédagogie.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Des lecteurs de la publication américaine eSchool News croient qu’on est encore loin de la réalité des manuels numériques à l’école. Voici pourquoi : accessibilité, pertinence, technologie et pédagogie.

L’équipe de rédaction a demandé à ses lecteurs ce qu’ils pensaient des manuels scolaires numériques, quelle était la situation dans leur milieu. Les réponses ont révélé que plusieurs sont encore inconfortables avec cette idée et prévoient la cohabitation du papier et du numérique pour plusieurs années encore.

La première raison évoquée est celle de l’accès universel à la technologie pour les élèves. Tant que tous les élèves n’ont pas un accès garanti et équivalent à la technologie qui permet de consulter ces livres numériques, pas question que la version papier ne disparaisse. L’accès universel est une question de technologie, mais aussi de prix. Par exemple, un directeur adjoint explique qu’à son avis, si les éditeurs ne baissent pas le prix de leurs ressources, le digital n’est pas avantageux économiquement.

Un autre point soulevé, qui semble le plus important, est celui de la pédagogie. Certains estiment que les écoles et les enseignants doivent d’abord comprendre ce qu’utiliser des outils numériques en éducation signifie. Ceci permettrait d’ailleurs probablement de voir au-delà du couple technologie/manuel numérique dans un tel débat.

Parmi les autres réactions, certaines montrent une crainte au niveau de l’évaluation des ressources numériques – sont-elles fiables, permettent-elles d’atteindre les objectifs prescrits, fonctionnent-elles bien peu importe la plateforme, etc. Un répondant souligne aussi le fait qu’il n’est pas toujours aisé de prendre des notes sur des textes numériques, comme ça l’est sur le papier.

Bref, ce n’est pas demain la veille que les écoles américaines troqueront leurs manuels papier pour des ressources entièrement numériques. Et dans votre milieu, comment ça se passe?

Pour lire les réponses complètes dans l’article original, c’est par ici!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :