The #Édubrèves - May 31, 2022 edition

Here are your #Edubrèves. In this edition: a new certificate for non-legally qualified individuals who are already substituting in high school, the Bear Constellation in Nova Scotia, the most used emojis on Twitter, Quebec students shine at the World Robotics Championships in Texas, the Quebec Youth Recognition Awards and much more!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Happy Tuesday! Here are the #Edubrèves of the week. Feel free to share them or write to me if you have any news to share.

In this issue: a new certificate for non-legally qualified individuals who are already substituting in high school, the Bear Constellation in Nova Scotia, the most used emojis on Twitter, Quebec students shine at the World Robotics Championships in Texas, the Quebec Youth Recognition Awards and much more!

Good reading.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this short news digest is for entertainment purposes only!


Five Quebec universities launch a new certificate suitable for substitute teachers in the secondary school setting

In a context where the province's academic service centers are increasingly calling for short- and medium-term replacement teachers due to the shortage of teaching staff, the Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (UQAT), the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR), the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC) and the Université du Québec en Outaouais (UQO) are launching a new program to help them find replacement teachers, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR), Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC) and Université du Québec en Outaouais (UQO) are launching a new certificate adapted to substitute teachers in the secondary school environment. Combining the expertise of the five universities, this certificate will be offered 100 % by distance learning starting in the fall of 2022.

This certificate in secondary school accompaniment is designed to prepare supply teachers to work with students at this level of education. It is intended particularly for non-legally qualified individuals who are already substituting at the secondary level and who want to improve their teaching strategies.

Informative webinars will be held on June 8 at 7 p.m. and June 9 at 12 p.m. to provide all relevant information on this new certificate, its objectives, the training plan, etc., and to answer questions.

For more details on the program and to register for the webinar: suppleanceausecondaire.ca

Read the full press release.

Combining the expertise of five universities, the Certificate in Secondary School Coaching will be offered 100 % by distance learning starting in the fall 2022 session. (CNW Group/Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (UQAT))

The Bear Constellation in Nova Scotia

The Bear Constellation, from the Quebec studio Nanomonx, was chosen to support writing skills for all students in grades 4e at the 6e grade in Nova Scotia for three years. This digital resource is designed to develop the writing, reading and social skills of elementary school students.

The Nova Scotia Department of Education and Early Childhood Development issued a request for proposals to find digital resources to support teachers in developing students' writing skills. Nanomonx met all of the selection criteria and was awarded the contract with The Bear Constellation.

Read the press release.


Two new books in education

1- Teaching in a difficult environment by Stéphane Méry, PhD in sociology and education sciences. Available on Bookstores in Canada and the Fnac in France.

2- Teaching in a flipped classroom by Marie Soulie, French teacher and trainer in active pedagogy and digital education, soon on Amazon. ca or from June 16 on ESF Human Sciences.


Developing a culture of science and innovation

On May 19, the Ministère de l'Économie et de l'Innovation du Québec launched the Quebec Research and Innovation Investment Strategy (SQRI2) in order to "accelerate the transition from idea to market" and promote the commercialization of Quebec innovations. One of the Strategy's objectives is to develop talents and scientific culture.

Through this axis, the government addresses the importance of awakening young people to science from an early age. It announces support for organizations that promote science and innovation as well as the realization of large-scale events in all regions of Quebec. The focus will be on projects related to scientific information, research in French and the fight against misinformation. Details have yet to be announced.


The most used emojis on Twitter

What are the most used emojis on Twitter by country? Using data from February 2022, Crossword Solver has created a global map of the most used emojis in the world on Twitter.

  • The emoji that cries with joy 😂 is the most used in the world, topping the charts in 75 countries.
  • More globally, the crying with joy emoji 😂 and the red heart emoji ❤️ are the two most tweeted emojis by the majority of countries.

Quebec Youth Recognition Awards

The Quebec Youth Recognition Awards recognize the exemplary actions of committed young people, as well as the notable contributions of actors mobilized in favour of youth. 11 awards in five categories were recently presented. Discover the winners.


World Robotics Championships in Texas

Four robotics teams from Massey-Vanier High School in Cowansville took part in the World Robotics Championships in Texas. Three of them not only participated in the elimination rounds of their division, but they are in the top 10 in Canada and the top 60 in the world. Congratulations to them!

The Vex World Championships were held in Dallas from May 2 to 8. Four of the six Quebec teams that received a pass at the provincial finals were from Massey-Vanier.

Details of the next challenge for the 2023 Championships have already been revealed. Get ready for it! The robots that will compete on a playing surface will have to be able to score points by throwing small frisbees into baskets, similar to disc golf.

A report from the daily newspaper La Voix de l'Est


The CFL Night 2022, a great success for The Girl Code

More than 75 high school students gathered to meet experienced IT and digital professionals at the CFL Night which was held on May 19. In the form of a "speed meeting", inspiring women had the opportunity to share their experiences and answer questions from young people in order to inform them about the technology job market and the opportunities it offers.

A "Fail stories" conference also took place during the evening, inviting some people to come and present a failure in their life at the academic or professional level from which they were able to proudly recover, thus forging a part of their character. 

The Girl Code (LCDF) is an organization created by girls for young people! Through various educational, informative and personal development actions, Le code des filles wishes to challenge, interest and engage the next generation of women so that they can actively participate in the ongoing digital transformation.


Reflections on association business models and the benefits of membership

The most recent REFAD talk was on the scope of the Freemium - Premium approach as a business model for the education sector. The two "experts in residence Olivier AlfieriD. student in the Faculty of Education at the University of Ottawa and digital learning architect at Elearning Studio, and Daniel Bariland the Executive Director of the Institute for Cooperation in Adult Education (ICASE), received their guests Hubert Lalande University of Ottawa and Julie Pigeon of the Edteq association.

According to Mr. Lalande: "Organizations whose business model is successful in the long term often display a posture of co-construction, public-private synergy and complementarity, combined with an ability to listen to users' needs.

For Ms. Pigeon, "The strength of networking among members and the strength of numbers remain key points of the association model at Edteqaccording to Julie Pigeon. The spirit of collaboration and exchange fosters a strong adhesion to this entrepreneurial community in digital education.

Read a report of the discussion.

Listen to the discussion.


In bulk

To read

To listen

To think about

Spotted on the Facebook account of Valerie Sugg, Psy


In closing, the sprint to the end of the year has begun.


If you want even more, you can (re)see last week's #Édubrèves.

See you soon! Don't hesitate to tag us on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so we can talk about your project/resource in an upcoming review of the week! Have a great week.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les #Édubrèves – édition du 31 mai 2022

Voici vos #Édubrèves. Dans cette édition : un nouveau certificat destiné aux personnes non légalement qualifiées qui font déjà de la suppléance au secondaire, la Constellation de l'Ours en Nouvelle-Écosse, les émojis les plus utilisés sur Twitter, des élèves québécois brillent aux Championnats mondiaux de robotique au Texas, les prix Reconnaissance jeunesse du Québec et bien plus!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Bon mardi! Voici les #Édubrèves de la semaine. N’hésitez pas à les partager ou à m’écrire si vous avez des nouvelles à faire circuler.

Dans cette édition : un nouveau certificat destiné aux personnes non légalement qualifiées qui font déjà de la suppléance au secondaire, la Constellation de l’Ours en Nouvelle-Écosse, les émojis les plus utilisés sur Twitter, des élèves québécois brillent aux Championnats mondiaux de robotique au Texas, les prix Reconnaissance jeunesse du Québec et bien plus!

Bonne lecture.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement!


Cinq universités québécoises lancent un nouveau certificat adapté aux personnes suppléantes dans le milieu de l’enseignement secondaire

Dans un contexte où les centres de services scolaires de la province font de plus en plus appel à de la suppléance à court et moyen terme en raison de la pénurie de personnel enseignant, l’Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (UQAT), l’Université TÉLUQ, l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR), l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC) ainsi que l’Université du Québec en Outaouais (UQO) lancent un nouveau certificat adapté aux personnes suppléantes dans le milieu de l’enseignement secondaire. Combinant les expertises des cinq universités, ce certificat sera offert 100 % à distance à compter de la session d’automne 2022.

Ce certificat en accompagnement à l’enseignement secondaire vise à rendre les suppléants et suppléantes aptes à intervenir auprès d’élèves de ce niveau d’études. Il s’adresse particulièrement aux personnes non légalement qualifiées qui font déjà de la suppléance au secondaire et qui veulent améliorer leurs stratégies d’enseignement.

Des webinaires informatifs se dérouleront le 8 juin à 19 h et le 9 juin à 12 h afin de transmettre toute l’information pertinente sur ce nouveau certificat, ses objectifs, le plan de formation, etc., et de répondre aux questions.

Pour plus de détails sur le programme et pour s’inscrire au webinaire : suppleanceausecondaire.ca

Lire le communiqué de presse au complet.

Combinant les expertises de cinq universités, le certificat en accompagnement à l’enseignement secondaire sera offert 100 % à distance à compter de la session d’automne 2022. (Groupe CNW/Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (UQAT))

La Constellation de l’Ours en Nouvelle-Écosse

La Constellation de l’Ours, du studio québécois Nanomonx, a été choisie pour soutenir les habiletés en écriture pour l’ensemble des élèves de la 4e à la 6e année en Nouvelle-Écosse durant trois ans. Cette ressource numérique est conçue pour développer les aptitudes en écriture, en lecture et en univers social des élèves du primaire.

Le ministère de l’Éducation et du Développement de la petite enfance de la Nouvelle-Écosse a publié une demande de propositions afin de trouver des ressources numériques pour soutenir les enseignants dans le développement des habiletés en écriture des élèves. En proposant La Constellation de l’Ours, Nanomonx a satisfait à tous les critères de sélection et a obtenu le contrat.

Lire le communiqué de presse.


Deux nouveaux ouvrages en éducation

1- Enseigner en milieu difficile de Stéphane Méry, docteur en sociologie et en sciences de l’éducation. Disponible sur Les librairies au Canada et sur la Fnac en France.

2- Enseigner en classe inversée de Marie Soulie, professeure de français et formatrice en pédagogie active et numérique éducatif, prochainement sur Amazon. ca ou dès le 16 juin sur ESF Sciences humaines.


Développer la culture scientifique et de l’innovation

Le 19 mai dernier, le ministère de l’Économie et de l’Innovation du Québec a lancé la Stratégie québécoise de recherche et d’investissement en innovation (SQRI2) afin « d’accélérer le passage de l’idée au marché » et favoriser la commercialisation des innovations québécoises. L’un des axes de la Stratégie a pour objectif de développer les talents et la culture scientifique.

Par le biais de cet axe, le gouvernement aborde l’importance d’éveiller les jeunes à la science dès leur plus jeune âge. Il annonce du soutien aux organismes qui font la promotion de la science et de l’innovation ainsi que la réalisation d’événements d’envergure dans toutes les régions du Québec. L’accent sera placé sur des projets liés à l’information scientifique, à la recherche en français et à la lutte contre la désinformation. Les détails restent à être dévoilés.


Les emojis les plus utilisés sur Twitter

Quels sont les emojis les plus utilisés sur Twitter par pays? Grâce des donnés de février 2022, Crossword Solver a réalisé une carte globale des emojis les plus utilisés dans le monde sur Twitter.

  • L’emoji qui pleure de joie 😂 est le plus utilisé dans le monde, il arrive en tête du classement dans 75 pays.
  • Plus globalement, l’emoji qui pleure de joie 😂 et l’emoji cœur rouge ❤️ sont les deux emojis les plus tweetés par la majorité des pays.

Les prix Reconnaissance jeunesse du Québec

Les prix Reconnaissance jeunesse du Québec soulignent annuellement les actions exemplaires de jeunes engagés, ainsi que les contributions notables d’acteurs mobilisés en faveur de la jeunesse. 11 prix répartis dans cinq catégories ont été récemment remis. Découvrez les lauréats.


Championnats mondiaux de robotique au Texas

Quatre équipes de robotique de l’école secondaire Massey-Vanier à Cowansville ont pris part aux Championnats mondiaux de robotique au Texas. Trois d’entre elles ont non seulement participé aux épreuves éliminatoires de leur division, mais elles figurent dans le top 10 canadien et le top 60 mondial. On leur dit « bravo! ».

Les championnats mondiaux Vex se sont déroulés à Dallas, du 2 au 8 mai dernier. Quatre des six équipes québécoises ayant obtenu leur laissez-passer lors de la finale provinciale provenaient en fait de Massey-Vanier.

Les détails du prochain défi à relever pour les Championnats de 2023 ont déjà été dévoilés. Préparez-vous! Les robots qui s’affronteront sur une surface de jeu devront notamment être en mesure de marquer des points en lançant de petits frisbees dans des paniers, un peu à l’image du disc-golf

Un reportage du quotidien La Voix de l’Est


La Soirée LCDF 2022, un beau succès pour Le code des filles

Plus de 75 élèves du secondaire se sont retrouvé.es afin de rencontrer des professionnelles chevronnées du milieu des TI et du numérique, lors de la Soirée LCDF qui s’est tenu le 19 mai dernier. Sous forme de « speed meeting », des femmes inspirantes ont eu l’occasion de partager leurs parcours ainsi que de répondre aux questions des jeunes dans le but de les informer sur le marché du travail en technologie et des opportunités offertes.

Une conférence « Fail stories » a également pris place lors de la Soirée, invitant certaines personnes à venir présenter un échec survenu dans leur vie au niveau académique ou professionnel et duquel elles ont su se relever fièrement forgeant ainsi une partie de leur caractère. 

Le code des filles (LCDF) est un organisme créé par des filles pour les jeunes! Par différentes actions de développement à portée éducatives, informatives et personnelles, Le code des filles souhaite interpeller, intéresser et engager la relève au féminin afin qu’elle prenne part activement à la transformation numérique en cours.


Réflexions autour des modèles d’affaires en milieu associatif et des avantages de l’adhésion

La plus récente causerie du REFAD portait sur les étendues de l’approche Freemium – Premium comme modèle d’affaires pour le secteur éducatif. Les deux « experts en résidence » Olivier Alfieri, doctorant à la faculté d’Éducation de l’Université d’Ottawa et architecte de la formation digitale chez Elearning Studio, et Daniel Baril, directeur général de l’Institut de coopération pour l’éducation des adultes (ICÉA), ont reçu leurs invités Hubert Lalande de l’Université d’Ottawa et Julie Pigeon de l’association Edteq.

Selon M. Lalande : « Les organisations dont le modèle d’affaires réussit à perdurer affichent bien souvent une posture de co-construction, de synergie public-privé et de complémentarité jumelée à l’écoute des besoins des utilisateurs ».

D’ailleurs, pour Mme Pigeon, « La force du réseautage entre membres et la force du nombre demeurent des points saillants du modèle associatif chez Edteq, selon Julie Pigeon. L’esprit de collaboration et d’échanges favorise une adhésion forte à cette communauté entrepreneuriale en éducation numérique ».

Lire un compte-rendu de la discussion.

Écouter la discussion.


En vrac

À lire

À écouter

À méditer

Repéré sur le compte Facebook de Valérie Sugg., Psy


En terminant, le sprint vers la fin de l’année est bel et bien débuté.


Si vous en voulez encore plus, vous pouvez (re)voir les #Édubrèves de la semaine dernière.

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente semaine.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :