The #Édubrèves - May 17, 2022 edition

Here are the #Édubrèves of the week. In this edition: Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert inaugurates the Alinea, socio-financing campaigns in education, Festilou, the storytelling festival for youth, the "We love teachers" contest, a transfer tool on the perseverance and educational success of Aboriginal students, a quiz for Global Action Week for Education and much more!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Happy Tuesday! Here are the #Edubrèves of the week. Feel free to share them or write to me if you have any news to share.

In this edition: Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert inaugurates the Alinea, socio-financing campaigns in education, Festilou, the storytelling festival for youth, the "We love teachers" contest, a transfer tool on the perseverance and educational success of Aboriginal students, a quiz for Global Action Week for Education and much more!

Good reading.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this short news digest is for entertainment purposes only!


Durocher College Saint-Lambert inaugurated the Alinea

The new pavilion at Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert (CDSL) was inaugurated in the last few weeks. It is the result of an innovative pedagogical vision that proposes to create bridges between communities and to facilitate the sharing of resources and expertise between the school, the community, the business community and experts. The CDSL created this school environment, called the AlinéaThe Alinéa is the first of its kind in the world to be built around three areas of expertise: sustainable development, digital services for citizens, and creativity and entrepreneurship. The Alinea has a gathering place, outdoor classrooms, large terraces, a collaborative work space for each of the areas of expertise, a café area and a greenhouse. 

May 20, 2022, a time capsule will be sealed in the pavilion. The capsule project was initiated by a Secondary IV history teacher, supported by the teacher ambassador of the Creativity and Entrepreneurship pole at the Collège. The capsule will be sealed until 2060, the year marking the 150th anniversary of the College.


Two socio-financing campaigns to highlight this week 

  • Literary Caravan for vulnerable communities Quebec City teacher Catherine Lapointe wants to "make to live positive reading experiences in vulnerable communities, to democratize reading, to provoke exchanges in playful, ephemeral spaces and to rehabilitate a reading pleasure". She has already started to travel around Quebec City with her Westfalia last summer and she wishes to continue the experience this year.
  • The first youth magazine on food in Quebec Two food enthusiasts wish to realize the project of offering a magazine on the theme of nutrition to young Quebecers. 

Classroom organization ideas

How do you set up your classroom if you have 15 electronic tablets for 30 students? This infographics offers you options.


Class of 2022 Energy Diet Challenge winners

Going an hour without electricity, calculating your carbon footprint and learning how to find phantom energy sources are just a few of the 16 energy-related challenges that students from across Canada completed during the 11e edition of the Energy Diet Challenge in class

This program, presented by Canadian Geographic Education and Shell Canada, was created to engage students in kindergarten through 12 years of age.e year across the country to better conserve energy. Between February and the end of April, 531 classes across the country completed 16 energy conservation challenges. These challenges allowed students to go 2,653 hours without electricity, save 138,460 liters of water and keep 107,182 items out of landfills.

The complete list of winners is available on the Challenge site..


13th edition of Festilou, festival of tales for young people

Presented until Sunday, May 29, in various theatres in the Montreal area, at the Théâtre de l'Esquisse and in partner libraries, Festilou is a storytelling festival free for young people. Nearly 70 storytelling activities are on the program, with some 40 artists from Quebec, Ontario, British Columbia and France. Educators are invited to participate with groups of students. 


Social and economic vulnerability: which cities have a high vulnerability index?

As part of the 4th edition of the AlphaRéussite event, the Quebec Literacy Foundation unveiled the results of the study "Literacy in Quebec: A Phenomenon of Great Vulnerability" conducted by economist Pierre Langlois, at a time when Quebec is facing issues of post-pandemic economic recovery, inflation and labour shortages.

The study highlights the coexistence of literacy and income issues that could result in "a perfect social storm. In a list of 50 regional cities and towns, the high vulnerability index for three cities peaks at nearly 10 %: Shawinigan (9.66 %), Lachute (11.96 %) and Joliette (13.36 %).

In light of these results, economist Pierre Langlois suggests that a first step to effectively fight against high vulnerability would be to combine a basic skills retraining program with a program aimed at providing minimal financial support up to the level of the Market Basket Measure (MBM) of a household or individual without employment constraints.

Consult all documents related to the study.


We Love Teachers" Contest

Staples launches the "We love teachers" contest to recognize inspiring teachers. Nominations can be submitted until June 15. Eight teachers from across Canada will be selected for a chance to win a 1,000 $ Staples gift card to use for their classroom or technology upgrade, as well as 250 $ in cash to take care of themselves.

To submit an application or learn more about the competition We love teachers, visit the bureauengros.com/weloveteachers.


A quiz for Global Action Week for Education

In collaboration with La Dictée P.G.L., the CLÉ Program has developed a quiz to address the importance of education with young people in a fun way. Some of the answers collected in this quiz will be used to build a mosaic of words that will be broadcasted during the International Grand Finals of La Dictée P.G.L. on May 22nd. We are calling on you to distribute this quiz within your network before May 20 so that the answers can be found in the mosaic. At home or in class, participate by following this link.


10e edition of the open-air conference Learning under the open sky 

The 10th edition of the outdoor symposium Learning in the Open Air brought together 250 people on May 6 and 7 at Mont-Saint-Sacrement High School (Saint-Gabriel-de-Valcartier). The participants shared a common vision: to encourage young people to be active, to learn, to socialize and to surpass themselves outdoors, by promoting greater contact with nature and the community.

Participants had the pleasure of discovering a variety of outdoor activities and sports, including canoeing, sailing, dryland skiing, outdoor cooking, shelter making, orienteering in the forest, cyclo-camping, Landart, etc. The event also allowed them to attend a series of workshops on various themes such as nature education for First Nations children, conservation issues in outdoor education, teaching literacy and numeracy, the use of tools with youth, outdoor free play, biodiversity for teaching or group management in the outdoors.

Read the full press release.

Photo credit: QPATF

A New Transfer Tool on Aboriginal Student Retention and Educational Success

Did you know that the number of Aboriginal students has been increasing over the past decade? How can school personnel adapt their practices to promote their perseverance and educational success? Thanks to the collaboration between the Ministry of Education (MEQ) and the Centre de transfert en réussite éducative du Québec (CTREQ), an infographic has been produced to guide school personnel in their practices. 

The Transfer Tool highlights examples of successful practices that enhance Aboriginal perspectives. Here are some examples:

  • Valuing Aboriginal languages in all school subjects;
  • Put in place conditions for better recruitment and retention of Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal school personnel;
  • Involve Elders in school activities, as they have knowledge of, and are custodians of, Aboriginal languages and cultures.

Education is the talk of the town (again!)

  • Virtual education: technology must not take over learning In this piece published on The Conversation, a group of school-based education researchers argue that effective face-to-face methods need to be transferred to virtual mode. The authors lament that "too often, [online] teaching time is spent on logistics, which is a waste of teaching time."
  • For a national institute of excellence in education in Quebec In this article, Frédéric Tremblay, a physician and doctoral candidate in education at UQAM, dreams of the day when Quebec will have a national institute of excellence in education, just as it already has a national institute of excellence in public health. On that day, he writes, "evidence in education will flow as freely as evidence about antibiotics.
  • The school reinvented In this text, Christèle Piché, a physical and health education teacher, invites schools to focus on the development of social and emotional skills in their students. "I firmly believe that teaching students how to manage their emotions, non-violent communication and stress management will make our little loves responsible for their well-being and thus more receptive to learning.

Discover Créativité Québec

The mission of Creativity Quebec is to equip Quebec with the essential skills to succeed in the 21st century. To achieve this, they offer online training as well as hybrid workshops. In addition, they organize innovation competitions that allow our community to apply what they have learned and to take action.

The 3 principles of Créativité Québec : 

  • Human beings learn organically, through practice and play. 
  • Creativity in action must be the lever to face the greatest challenges of society. 
  • Inspiration is a right for everyone, starting with young people.

In closing, a sketch-note on the video in class.

Taken from the Télé-Québec in-class conference at the Digital Education Summit.

If you want even more, you can (re)see last week's #Édubrèves.

See you soon! Don't hesitate to tag us on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so we can talk about your project/resource in an upcoming review of the week! Have a great week.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les #Édubrèves – édition du 17 mai 2022

Voici les #Édubrèves de la semaine. Dans cette édition : le Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert inaugure l'Alinéa, des campagnes de sociofinancement en éducation, Festilou, le festival de contes pour la jeunesse, le concours « Nous aimons les enseignants », un outil de transfert sur la persévérance et la réussite éducative des élèves autochtones, un quiz pour la Semaine mondiale d'action pour l'éducation et bien plus!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Bon mardi! Voici les #Édubrèves de la semaine. N’hésitez pas à les partager ou à m’écrire si vous avez des nouvelles à faire circuler.

Dans cette édition : le Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert inaugure l’Alinéa, des campagnes de sociofinancement en éducation, Festilou, le festival de contes pour la jeunesse, le concours « Nous aimons les enseignants », un outil de transfert sur la persévérance et la réussite éducative des élèves autochtones, un quiz pour la Semaine mondiale d’action pour l’éducation et bien plus!

Bonne lecture.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement!


Le Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert a inauguré l’Alinéa

Issu d’une vision pédagogique novatrice qui propose de créer des ponts entre les communautés et de faciliter le partage des ressources et d’expertise entre école, communauté, milieu des affaires et experts, le nouveau pavillon du Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert (CDSL) a été inauguré dans les dernières semaines.  Le CDSL a créé cet environnement scolaire, baptisé l’Alinéa, pour qu’il s’articule autour de trois pôles d’expertise: le développement durable, le numérique au service du citoyen et la créativité et l’entrepreneuriat. On retrouve à l’Alinéa un lieu de rassemblement, des classes extérieures, de grandes terrasses, un espace de travail collaboratif pour chacun des pôles d’expertise, un espace café et une serre. 

Le 20 mai 2022, une capsule temporelle sera scellée dans le pavillon. Le projet de capsule a vu le jour grâce à l’initiative d’une enseignante d’histoire de 4e secondaire, appuyée par l’enseignant ambassadeur du pôle de Créativité et entrepreneuriat au Collège. La capsule sera scellée jusqu’en 2060, année marquant le 150e anniversaire du Collège.


Deux campagnes de sociofinancement à souligner cette semaine 

  • Caravane Littéraire pour communautés vulnérables : L’enseignante de Québec, Catherine Lapointe, souhaite « faire vivre des expériences positives de lecture aux communautés vulnérables, démocratiser la lecture, provoquer des échanges dans des espaces ludiques, éphémères et réhabiliter une lecture plaisir ». Elle a déjà commencé à parcourir la ville de Québec avec son Westfalia l’été dernier et elle souhaite poursuivre l’expérience cette année.
  • Le premier magazine jeunesse sur l’alimentation au Québec : Deux passionnées d’alimentation souhaite concrétiser le projet d’offrir un magazine sur le thème de l’alimentation aux jeunes québécois. 

Des idées d’organisation de classe

Comment aménager votre classe si vous avez 15 tablettes électroniques pour 30 élèves? Cette infographie vous propose des options.


Les gagnants du Défi Régime énergétique en classe 2022

Passer une heure sans électricité, calculer son empreinte carbone et apprendre à trouver des sources d’énergie fantômes ne sont que quelques-uns des 16 défis liés à l’énergie que les élèves de partout au Canada ont relevés au cours de la 11e édition du Défi Régime énergétique en classe

Ce programme, présenté par Canadian Geographic Education et Shell Canada, a été créé pour inciter les élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année d’un bout à l’autre du pays à mieux conserver l’énergie. Entre février et fin avril, 531 classes de partout au pays ont relevé des 16 défis liés à la conservation de l’énergie. Ces épreuves ont permis aux élèves de passer 2 653 heures sans électricité, d’économiser 138 460 litres d’eau et d’empêcher 107 182 articles de se retrouver dans des sites d’enfouissement.

La liste complète des gagnants est disponible sur le site du Défi..


13e édition de Festilou, festival de contes pour la jeunesse

Présenté jusqu’au dimanche 29 mai, dans différentes salles de la région de Montréal, au Théâtre de l’Esquisse ainsi que dans les bibliothèques partenaires, Festilou est un festival de contes gratuit pour les jeunes. Près de 70 activités de contes sont au programme, avec une quarantaine d’artistes du Québec, de l’Ontario, de la Colombie-Britannique et de la France. Les éducateurs sont invités à participer avec des groupes d’élèves. 


Précarité sociale et économique : quelles sont les villes ayant un indice de grande vulnérabilité?

Dans le cadre de la 4e édition de l’événement AlphaRéussite, la Fondation pour l’alphabétisation du Québec a dévoilé les résultats de l’étude « La littératie au Québec : un phénomène de grande vulnérabilité » réalisée par l’économiste Pierre Langlois, alors le Québec est animé par des enjeux de relance économique post-pandémique, d’inflation et de pénurie de main-d’œuvre.

L’étude met en lumière la coexistence d’enjeux de littératie et de revenus qui pourrait donner lieu à « une tempête sociale parfaite ». Dans une liste de 50 villes et cités régionales, l’indice de grande vulnérabilité de trois villes culmine à près de 10 %, soit Shawinigan (9,66 %), Lachute (11,96 %) et Joliette (13,36 %).

Devant ces résultats, l’économiste Pierre Langlois avance qu’une première étape pour lutter efficacement contre la grande vulnérabilité serait d’associer un programme de requalification des compétences de base à un programme visant un soutien financier minimal à hauteur de la mesure du panier de consommation (MPC) d’un ménage ou d’un individu sans contrainte à l’emploi.

Consultez tous les documents relatifs à l’étude.


Concours « Nous aimons les enseignants »

Bureau en Gros lance le concours « Nous aimons les enseignants » visant à reconnaître des enseignants inspirants. Les nominations peuvent être soumises jusqu’au 15 juin. Huit enseignants de partout au Canada seront sélectionnés pour avoir la chance de gagner une carte-cadeau Bureau en Gros de 1 000 $ à utiliser pour leur salle de classe ou pour mettre à niveau une technologie, ainsi que 250 $ en espèces pour prendre soin d’eux-mêmes.

Pour soumettre une candidature ou en savoir plus sur le concours Nous aimons les enseignants, visitez le bureauengros.com/nousaimonslesenseignants.


Un quiz pour la Semaine mondiale d’action pour l’éducation

En collaboration avec La Dictée P.G.L., le Programme CLÉ a développé un quiz permettant d’aborder le sujet de l’importance de l’éducation avec les jeunes de façon ludique. Certaines réponses recueillies dans le cadre de ce quiz serviront à construire une mosaïque de mots qui sera diffusée lors de la Grande finale internationale de La Dictée P.G.L. le 22 mai prochain. Nous faisons appel à vous pour diffuser ce quiz au sein de votre réseau avant le 20 mai pour que les réponses se retrouvent dans la mosaïque. À la maison ou en classe, participez en suivant ce lien.


10e édition du colloque plein air Apprendre à ciel ouvert 

La 10e édition du colloque plein air Apprendre à ciel ouvert a réuni 250 personnes les 6 et 7 mai dernier à l’école secondaire Mont-Saint-Sacrement (Saint-Gabriel-de-Valcartier). Les participants se rejoignaient sur une vision commune : celle d’amener les jeunes à être actifs, à apprendre, à socialiser et à se dépasser à l’extérieur, en favorisant un plus grand contact avec la nature et la communauté.

Les participants ont eu le plaisir de découvrir une variété d’activités et de sports de plein air, en passant par le canot, la voile, le ski sur terrain sec, la cuisine en plein air, la fabrication d’abris, l’orientation en forêt, le cyclo-camping, le Landart, etc. L’événement leur a également permis d’assister à une série d’ateliers sur des thèmes variés tels que l’éducation en nature chez les enfants des Premières Nations, les enjeux de conservation de l’éducation en plein air, l’enseignement de la littératie et de la numératie, l’utilisation d’outils avec les jeunes, le jeu libre extérieur, la biodiversité pour enseigner ou encore la gestion de groupe à l’extérieur.

Consultez le communiqué de presse complet.

Crédit photo : FÉÉPEQ

Un nouvel outil de transfert sur la persévérance et la réussite éducative des élèves autochtones

Saviez-vous que le nombre d’élèves autochtones est en hausse depuis les dix dernières années? Comment le personnel scolaire peut-il adapter ses pratiques pour favoriser leur persévérance et leur réussite éducative? Grâce à la collaboration entre le ministère de l’Éducation (MEQ) et le Centre de transfert en réussite éducative du Québec (CTREQ), une infographie a été produite pour guider le personnel scolaire dans ses pratiques. 

L’outil de transfert met en lumière des exemples de pratiques porteuses qui laissent une plus grande place aux perspectives autochtones. En voici quelques exemples :

  • Valoriser les langues autochtones dans toutes les matières scolaires;
  • Mettre en place des conditions pour un meilleur recrutement et pour la rétention de personnel scolaire autochtone et allochtone;
  • Faire participer les aînés aux activités scolaires, car ils possèdent des savoirs sur les langues et les cultures autochtones et en sont les gardiens.

L’éducation fait jaser (encore!)

  • Enseignement virtuel : la technologie ne doit pas prendre le dessus sur les apprentissages : Dans ce texte publié sur La Conversation, un groupe de chercheurs en enseignement en milieu scolaire affirme que les méthodes efficaces en mode présentiel doivent être transposées en mode virtuel. Les auteurs déplorent que « trop souvent, le temps d’enseignement [en ligne] est passé à faire de la logistique, ce qui représente une perte de temps d’enseignement ».
  • Pour un institut national d’excellence en éducation au Québec : Dans ce texte, Frédéric Tremblay, médecin et candidat au doctorat en éducation à l’UQAM, rêve du jour où le Québec aura un Institut national d’excellence en éducation au même titre qu’il a déjà un Institut national d’excellence en santé publique. Ce jour-là, écrit-il, « les données probantes en éducation circuleront avec la même fluidité que celles sur les antibiotiques ».
  • L’école réinventée : Dans ce texte, Christèle Piché, enseignante en éducation physique et à la santé, invite les milieux scolaires à miser sur le développement des compétences sociales et émotionnelles chez leurs élèves. « Je crois donc fermement que d’enseigner aux élèves la gestion d’émotions, la communication non violente ainsi que la gestion du stress rendra nos petits amours responsables de leur bien-être et seront ainsi plus réceptifs aux apprentissages pédagogiques ».

Découvrez Créativité Québec

La mission de Créativité Québec est d’outiller le Québec avec les compétences essentielles pour réussir au 21e siècle. Pour y parvenir, ils offrent des formations en ligne ainsi que des ateliers hybrides. De plus, ils organisent des compétitions d’innovation permettant à notre communauté de mettre en pratique les apprentissages acquis et de passer à l’action.

Les 3 principes de Créativité Québec : 

  • L’être humain apprend de manière organique, par la pratique et par le jeu. 
  • La créativité en action doit être le levier pour affronter les plus grands enjeux de la société. 
  • L’inspiration est un droit pour tous, à commencer par les jeunes.

En terminant, un croquis-note sur la vidéo en classe.

Tiré de la conférence de Télé-Québec en classe lors du Sommet du numérique en éducation.

Si vous en voulez encore plus, vous pouvez (re)voir les #Édubrèves de la semaine dernière.

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente semaine.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :