ADVERTISEMENT

"High schools should eliminate grades, exams and classes"

From September 29 to October 3, 33 representatives from ten countries around the world gathered in Waterloo, Ontario, for the Equinox Learning 2030 Summit, to imagine the high school of tomorrow. Here are some highlights of the learning model they recommend.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

From September 29 to October 3, 33 representatives from ten countries around the world gathered in Waterloo, Ontario, for the Equinox Learning 2030 Summit, to imagine the high school of tomorrow. Here are some highlights of the learning model they recommend.

“Forget about grades and exams, and don't worry if the kids in a class aren't all the same age. This is what a group of international education leaders recommends. They believe that high schools should be created that prioritize problem solving, critical thinking and innovation.

The radical recommendations of the summit Equinox Summit: Learning 2030 also propose to eliminate classes, from the 9e at the 12e year, to replace them with groups of students divided according to their abilities and fields of study.

Nowadays, it seems that the ideal class is a group of 30 students of the same level, a teacher and four walls. “But what would happen if we eliminated this model? Said Greg Butler, founder of Collaborative Impact and former senior director of global strategic partnerships in education for Microsoft. “The current model of grade levels and age is flawed. We must advance high school students, not according to their age, but rather according to theirstage where they are located. "

“Students have a very negative energy when it comes to their high school education,” said Zainab Ramahi, an undergraduate student in Knowledge Integration, a unique interdisciplinary program at the University of Waterloo. “The world needs students who are passionate and excited about school. "

Our Learning 2030 Press release contains detailed recommendations from summit participants. These recommendations cover a variety of areas, from the use of new technologies in the classroom and methods to improve student participation, to teacher training and the benefits of local school autonomy. .

On October 3, 2013, Learning 2030 participants presented the Equinox Communiqué, the plan they jointly developed to determine how to create high schools that prioritize problem solving, critical thinking, and innovation. (CNW Group/Waterloo Global Science Initiative (WGSI))

“We have been making changes for decades and we still have the same system. If you want to achieve different results, you have to rethink all the elements of the system and restructure them together. Ideas like this are already happening with success in some innovative schools around the world, ”says Jennifer Groff, MIT graduate researcher and vice-president, Learning and Curriculum Development, at. Learning Games Network.

The 33 participants at the summit Learning 2030, initiated by the Waterloo Global Science Initiative (WGSI), represented several disciplines and generations from nearly a dozen countries, including the United Kingdom, Australia, Singapore, Finland, Qatar, several African nations, the United States and Canada.

Our Learning 2030 Press release, the video of the plenary sessions of the summit and the summary of the closed meetings that gave rise to the Communicated, are available at http://wgsi.org/videovideo. A more detailed master plan of Learning 2030 will be released over the next year.

Source: press release

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

« Les écoles secondaires devraient éliminer les notes, les examens et les classes »

Du 29 septembre au 3 octobre dernier, 33 représentants d’une dizaine de pays du monde étaient rassemblés à Waterloo, en Ontario, à l’occasion du Sommet Equinox Learning 2030, pour imaginer l’école secondaire de demain. Voici quelques grandes lignes du modèle d’apprentissage qu’ils recommandent.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Du 29 septembre au 3 octobre dernier, 33 représentants d’une dizaine de pays du monde étaient rassemblés à Waterloo, en Ontario, à l’occasion du Sommet Equinox Learning 2030, pour imaginer l’école secondaire de demain. Voici quelques grandes lignes du modèle d’apprentissage qu’ils recommandent.

« Oubliez les notes et les examens, et ne vous inquiétez pas si les enfants d’une classe ne sont pas tous du même âge. » Voilà ce que recommande un groupe de chefs de file internationaux du secteur de l’éducation. Selon eux, il faut créer des écoles secondaires qui accordent la priorité à la résolution de problèmes, à la pensée critique et à l’innovation.

Les recommandations radicales du sommet Equinox Summit: Learning 2030 proposent également d’éliminer des classes, de la 9e à la 12e année, pour les remplacer par des groupes d’élèves répartis selon leurs capacités et leurs domaines d’étude.

De nos jours, on semble considérer que la classe idéale est un groupe de 30 élèves de même niveau, un enseignant et quatre murs. « Mais qu’arriverait-il si nous éliminions ce modèle? », a déclaré Greg Butler, fondateur de Collaborative Impact et ancien directeur principal des partenariats stratégiques mondiaux en éducation pour Microsoft. « Le modèle actuel des niveaux scolaires et de l’âge comporte des lacunes. Nous devons faire progresser les élèves du niveau secondaire, non pas selon leur âge, mais plutôt selon l’étape à laquelle ils se trouvent. »

« Les élèves dégagent une énergie très négative en ce qui concerne leurs études secondaires », estime pour sa part Zainab Ramahi, étudiant de premier cycle en intégration des connaissances, un programme interdisciplinaire unique à l’Université de Waterloo. « Le monde a besoin d’élèves passionnés et emballés par l’école. »

Le Learning 2030 Communiqué renferme les recommandations détaillées des participants au sommet. Ces recommandations portent sur divers domaines, allant de l’utilisation de nouvelles technologies en classe et de méthodes permettant d’améliorer la participation des élèves, à la formation des enseignants et aux avantages d’une autonomie de l’école à l’échelle locale.

Le 3 octobre 2013, les participants de Learning 2030 ont présenté le communiqué sur Equinox, soit le plan qu'ils ont élaboré conjointement pour déterminer comment créer des écoles secondaires qui accordent la priorité à la résolution de problèmes, à la pensée critique et à l'innovation. (Groupe CNW/Waterloo Global Science Initiative (WGSI))

« Nous avons apporté des modifications pendant des décennies et nous avons toujours le même système. Si vous souhaitez obtenir des résultats différents, vous devez repenser tous les éléments du système et les restructurer ensemble. De telles idées se concrétisent déjà avec succès dans certaines écoles novatrices, partout dans le monde », explique Jennifer Groff, chercheuse diplômée du MIT et vice-présidente, Développement de l’apprentissage et des programmes, au Learning Games Network.

Les 33 participants au sommet Learning 2030, initié par la Waterloo Global Science Initiative (WGSI), représentaient plusieurs disciplines et plusieurs générations de près d’une dizaine de pays, notamment le Royaume-Uni, l’Australie, Singapour, la Finlande, le Qatar, plusieurs nations africaines, les États-Unis et le Canada.

Le Learning 2030 Communiqué, la vidéo des séances plénières du sommet et le résumé des réunions tenues à huis clos qui ont donné lieu au Communiqué, sont disponibles à l’adresse http://wgsi.org/videovideo (en anglais). Un plan directeur plus détaillé de Learning 2030 sera diffusé au cours l’année prochaine.

Source : communiqué

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :