The crazy dictations of Mr. Stéphane

The teacher notes 9 writing failures out of 24 students at the first stage. He analyzes the situation and is busy devising a new method to make learning new words more meaningful and motivating for his grade 6 group. From there are born the crazy dictations, where pride, pleasure and physical activity come together!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

The teacher notes 9 writing failures out of 24 students at the first stage. He analyzes the situation and works to imagine a new method to make learning new words more meaningful and motivating for his group of 6.e year. From there are born the crazy dictations, where pride, pleasure and physical activity come together!

Stéphane Côté teaches in 6e year at the Commission scolaire Marguerite-Bourgeoys. He found a really fun way to help his students succeed in writing. First of all, he started from an observation: "although the dictations in my class are weekly, in the context of writing, the vocabulary of my students remains poor and these new" studied "words are often absent".

He first analyzed the situation from a theoretical point of view. Students are given words to study, and when it comes time to dictate, they don't perform. They are learning, but the retention and recall process is not working. It therefore lacks ingredients, which he identifies as meaning, pride and motivation (pleasure).

After shuffling everything, he came to a rather original activity, which he called "mad dictation". His degree in teaching physical education has something to do with it! In fact, dictation is now taking place ... at the gym!

The students are paired up, each on one side of the gymnasium. Student A reads a part of a sentence on his sheet, then runs to tell his partner. Student B must write it correctly. Then, he reads a part of a sentence on his own sheet, and runs to join student A who has returned to his side. And so on. After, back in class, each corrects the other's dictation. This first experiment resulted in an improvement of 8 % in results. However, still no trace of the new words in the written productions… Not enough for our teacher.

The mad dictation has therefore been revised and improved. This time, the dictation sentences were written by the young people themselves. The pride of seeing their name at the end of the line could be read in their faces. The results have increased by 14 %, and there are only 2 failures left. Interestingly, two boys who usually were in the 30's % had 86 % and 93 % respectively!

Now Stéphane Côté is looking for how to recover the 2 young people who are still not successful. He also looks forward to seeing if the new words appear in future written productions.

Read it full report of its approach and its reflection on its site. We can follow him on Twitter: http://twitter.com/nilremsteph

Do you have strategies to share? Leave a comment at the end of this article, or write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les dictées folles de Monsieur Stéphane

L’enseignant constate 9 échecs en écriture sur 24 élèves à la première étape. Il analyse la situation et s’affaire à imaginer une nouvelle méthode pour rendre l’apprentissage de nouveaux mots plus signifiant et motivant pour son groupe de 6e année. De là naissent les dictées folles, où fierté, plaisir et activité physique se rejoignent!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’enseignant constate 9 échecs en écriture sur 24 élèves à la première étape. Il analyse la situation et s’affaire à imaginer une nouvelle méthode pour rendre l’apprentissage de nouveaux mots plus signifiant et motivant pour son groupe de 6e année. De là naissent les dictées folles, où fierté, plaisir et activité physique se rejoignent!

Stéphane Côté enseigne en 6e année à la Commission scolaire Marguerite-Bourgeoys. Il a trouvé une façon fort amusante d’aider ses élèves à réussir en écriture. Il est tout d’abord parti d’un constat : « bien que les dictées dans ma classe soient hebdomadaires, en contexte d’écriture, le vocabulaire de mes élèves reste pauvre et ces nouveaux mots « étudiés » sont souvent absents ».

Il a d’abord analysé la situation d’un point de vue théorique. Les élèves reçoivent des mots à étudier, et lorsque vient le temps de la dictée, ils ne performent pas. Ils apprennent, mais le processus de rétention et de rappel ne fonctionne pas. Il manque donc des ingrédients, qu’il identifie comment étant la signifiance, la fierté et la motivation (le plaisir).

Après avoir brassé le tout, il en est venu à une activité plutôt originale, qu’il a appelée la « dictée folle ». Son diplôme en enseignement de l’éducation physique y est pour quelque chose! En effet, la dictée se déroule maintenant… au gymnase!

Les élèves sont jumelés par deux, chacun d’un côté du gymnase. L’élève A lit un bout de phrase sur sa feuille, puis court le dire à son partenaire. L’élèves B doit l’écrire correctement. Ensuite, il lit un bout de phrase sur sa propre feuille, et court rejoindre l’élève A qui est retourné de son côté. Et ainsi de suite. Après, de retour en classe, chacun corrige la dictée de l’autre. Cette première expérience s’est traduite par une amélioration de 8 % des résultats. Cependant, toujours pas de trace des nouveaux mots dans les productions écrites… Pas suffisant pour notre enseignant.

La dicté folle a été donc été revue et améliorée. Cette fois, les phrases de la dictée ont été écrites par les jeunes eux-mêmes. La fierté de voir leur nom au bout des lignes se lisait dans leur visage. Les résultats ont monté de 14 %, et il ne reste plus que 2 échecs. Fait intéressant, deux garçons qui ont habituellement dans les 30 % ont eu respectivement 86 % et 93 %!

Maintenant, Stéphane Côté cherche comment récupérer les 2 jeunes qui ne réussissent toujours pas. Il a aussi bien hâte de voir si les nouveaux mots apparaîtront dans les prochaines productions écrites.

Lisez le compte-rendu complet de sa démarche et de sa réflexion sur son site. On peut le suivre sur Twitter : http://twitter.com/nilremsteph

Vous avez des stratégies à partager? Laissez un commentaire à la suite de cet article, ou écrivez-nous à info@ecolebranchee.com.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :