ADVERTISEMENT

The challenges of the digital textbook

More and more textbook publishers are turning to digital. While the electronic manual appears to be a promising tool, several challenges remain. This is what emerges from a conference on the electronic course manual across the world given by Pierre-Julien Guay, coordinator of the Technology-Education Showcase, last fall.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

More and more textbook publishers are turning to digital. While the electronic manual appears to be a promising tool, several challenges remain. This is what emerges from a conference on the e-course manual around the world delivered by Pierre-Julien Guay, coordinator of the Technology-education showcase, last fall.

"Sometimes, we favor the technological container to the detriment of the content and I wonder if it is not the same thing with the electronic manual", asks Mr. Guay from the outset.

What is clear, however, is that there are still several obstacles to its use. Based on a synthesis of use cases from around the world, he notes that the great promise of independent learning at home has not been realized, at least for now. Currently, when used outside of school, the digital textbook is primarily used for homework. “There is no independent learning because there is no tutor. The student is left to himself outside of class hours, which is not very practical, ”notes Mr. Guay.

The issue of rights management is also complex. "Ideally, we should be able to put together the commercial material, the royalty-free material and the artisanal material with a management of the rights of all that," he said.

For the moment, Mr. Guay notices that there is little enriched material appealing to all the possibilities offered by the electronic book. In addition, the real educational innovation remains to be done. “This is the case for most new technology adoption cycles. At the beginning, we use them in a rather traditional way before finding specific uses, ”he explains.

However, the educational effectiveness remains to be demonstrated. "There are lots of good intentions, but we have not yet succeeded in demonstrating significant learning," observes Mr. Guay. And in cases of intensive use, we noticed a decrease in social interactions. "

 

Read also :

The ABCs of digital textbooks

Gender inequality in digital reading

Didacti: a new network of teachers and students online

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les défis du manuel numérique

Les éditeurs de manuels scolaires sont de plus en plus nombreux à se tourner vers le numérique. Si le manuel électronique semble un outil prometteur, plusieurs défis restent encore à relever. Voilà ce qui ressort d’une conférence sur le manuel de cours électronique à travers le monde prononcé par Pierre-Julien Guay, coordonnateur de la Vitrine technologie-éducation, l’automne dernier.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Les éditeurs de manuels scolaires sont de plus en plus nombreux à se tourner vers le numérique. Si le manuel électronique semble un outil prometteur, plusieurs défis restent encore à relever. Voilà ce qui ressort d’une conférence sur le manuel de cours électronique à travers le monde prononcé par Pierre-Julien Guay, coordonnateur de la Vitrine technologie-éducation, l’automne dernier.

« Parfois, on favorise le contenant technologique au détriment du contenu et je me demande si ce n’est pas la même chose avec le manuel électronique », questionne d’entrée de jeu M. Guay.

Ce qui est clair toutefois, c’est que plusieurs obstacles sont toujours présents quant à son utilisation. Se basant sur une synthèse de cas d’utilisation à l’échelle mondiale, il remarque que la grande promesse de l’apprentissage autonome à la maison ne s’est pas réalisée, pour l’instant du moins. Actuellement, lorsqu’il est utilisé à l’extérieur de l’école, le manuel numérique sert essentiellement à la réalisation de devoirs. « Il n’y a pas d’apprentissage autonome parce qu’il n’y a pas de tuteur. L’élève est laissé à lui-même en dehors des heures de cours, ce n’est pas très pratique », note M. Guay.

La question de la gestion des droits est aussi complexe. « Idéalement, on devrait être capable d’assembler le matériel commercial, le matériel libre de droits et le matériel artisanal avec une gestion des droits de tout ça », estime-t-il.

Pour l’instant, M. Guay remarque que l’on retrouve peu de matériel enrichi faisant appel à toutes les possibilités offertes par le livre électronique. De plus, la véritable innovation pédagogique reste à faire. « C’est le cas pour la plupart des cycles d’adoption des nouvelles technologies. Au début, on les utilise d’une façon plutôt traditionnelle avant de trouver des usages précis », précise-t-il.

Néanmoins, l’efficacité pédagogique reste à démontrer. « Il y a plein de bonnes intentions, mais on n’a pas encore réussi à démontrer des apprentissages significatifs, constate M. Guay. Et dans les cas d’usage intensif, on a remarqué une baisse des interactions sociales. »

 

À lire aussi :

L’ABC des manuels scolaires numériques

L’inégalité des sexes en lecture numérique

Didacti : un nouveau réseau d’enseignants et d’élèves en ligne

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :