ADVERTISEMENT

Reading: Quebec students below the Canadian average

The reading skill level of young Canadians was measured as part of the International Research Program in School Reading (PILS). We learn, for example, that young people who spend less time on homework perform better in reading… and that Quebecers have some catching up to do.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

The reading skill level of young Canadians was measured as part of the International Research Program in School Reading (PILS). We learn, for example, that young people who spend less time on homework perform better in reading… and that Quebecers have some catching up to do.

For their reading performance, 4th grade Quebecers are ranked 6th among the 7 Canadian provinces that participated in the 2011 International Research Program in School Reading.

In addition, across the country, we see that the average scores are higher in the English-speaking than in the French-speaking education system. This difference is however less marked in Quebec. That said, young Canadians generally perform well in reading when compared to the other countries studied, concludes the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada in his report. Unsurprisingly, better-off girls and students perform better.

 

Reading, at home first

As other studies have shown, children who read with their parents before school are better readers. “The program confirms the indisputable role of parents as the main role model of reading behavior. Internationally, as in Canada, students whose parents say they enjoy reading perform significantly better than others, ”explains one.

Interestingly, Grade 4 Canadian youth spend an average of 16 to 30 minutes doing their homework daily. Surprisingly, those who spend less time, if any, have better reading performance than those who spend more time reading. This trend is confirmed both at home and elsewhere in the world!

 

Computers in the classroom

In addition, the study also looked at the presence of computers in classrooms. We learn that less than half of Canadian grade 4 students have access to it for their reading lessons.

In the opinion of school principals interviewed, children have more access to computers and the Internet for educational purposes in Canada than elsewhere in the world. However, the devices are not always available for reading lessons, qualify the teachers.

 

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Lecture : les élèves québécois sous la moyenne canadienne

Le niveau d’habileté en lecture des jeunes Canadiens a été mesuré dans le cadre du Programme international de recherche en lecture scolaire (PILS). On y apprend, par exemple, que les jeunes qui consacrent moins de temps aux devoirs ont un meilleur rendement en lecture… et que les Québécois ont du rattrapage à faire.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Le niveau d’habileté en lecture des jeunes Canadiens a été mesuré dans le cadre du Programme international de recherche en lecture scolaire (PILS). On y apprend, par exemple, que les jeunes qui consacrent moins de temps aux devoirs ont un meilleur rendement en lecture… et que les Québécois ont du rattrapage à faire.

Pour leur performance en lecture, les Québécois de 4e année se situent au 6e rang des 7 provinces canadiennes ayant participé au Programme international de recherche en lecture scolaire 2011.

De plus, partout au pays, on constate que les scores moyens sont plus élevés dans le système d’enseignement anglophone que francophone. Cet écart est toutefois moins marqué au Québec. Cela dit, les jeunes Canadiens ont globalement de bons rendements en lecture si on les compare aux autres pays étudiés, conclut le Conseil des ministres de l’Éducation du Canada dans son rapport. Sans surprise, les filles et les élèves plus aisés financièrement obtiennent de meilleurs résultats.

 

La lecture, à la maison d’abord

Comme l’ont déjà démontré d’autres études, les enfants ayant lu avec leurs parents avant leur scolarité sont de meilleurs lecteurs. « Le programme confirme le rôle incontestable des parents comme modèle principal de comportement en lecture. À l’échelle internationale comme au Canada, les élèves dont les parents affirment aimer la lecture ont un rendement nettement supérieur aux autres », explique-t-on.

Fait intéressant, les jeunes Canadiens de 4e année passent en moyenne de 16 à 30 minutes à faire leurs devoirs quotidiennement. Étonnamment, ceux qui passent moins de temps, voire aucun, affichent un meilleur rendement en lecture que ceux qui y consacrent plus de temps. Cette tendance se confirme tant au pays qu’ailleurs dans le monde!

 

Des ordinateurs en classe

Par ailleurs, l’étude s’est aussi intéressée à la présence d’ordinateurs dans les classes. On y apprend que moins de la moitié des élèves canadiens de 4e année y ont accès pour leurs leçons de lecture.

De l’avis des directeurs d’écoles interrogés, les enfants ont davantage accès aux ordinateurs et à Internet à des fins pédagogiques au Canada qu’ailleurs dans le monde. Or, les appareils ne sont pas toujours disponibles pour les leçons de lecture, nuancent les enseignants.

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :