The triple bottom line: the new business model in education

Classcraft, an award-winning motivation management system for schools, today announces that it has officially received B Corp certification. In order to be granted this certification, a company must comply with strict standards in terms of social and environmental impact, as well as its transparency and responsibility.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

Sherbrooke, March 19, 2019 - Classcraft, an award-winning motivation management system for schools, today announced that it has officially obtained B Corp certification. In order to be granted this certification, a company must comply with strict standards in terms of social and environmental impact, as well as its transparency and responsibility..

In addition, it must demonstrate its willingness to use the power of the company to solve social and environmental problems. Shawn and Devin Young, along with their father Lauren, founded the company in 2013 and launched their innovative edtech product in 2015.

“We are proud to be one of the edtech companies that meet the standards set to achieve B Corp certification internationally,” said Classcraft CEO Shawn Young, from the company's main offices in Sherbrooke. “Along the way, it's not enough to say that you are doing what you are doing for the good of the children - you have to prove it with data and research. For us, it was easy to prove our results as we provide educators with concrete ways to measure the impact of Classcraft on a daily basis. "

Classcraft President Devin Young, based in New York City, elaborates, “Our Motivation Management System (MMS) provides real-time data on student motivation, academic performance, socio-emotional behaviors, and student development. their skills. This data is essential in order to continue to innovate and deliver measurable results to schools and school boards. B Corp certification demonstrates that an independent entity recognizes that the way we work goes hand in hand with the work we do. "

Shawn adds, “We are dedicated to the triple bottom line: having a successful business, having a positive impact on the lives of our customers and making a positive contribution to society and our environment. It has always been our mission. "

“The MaRS Catalyst Fund has helped Classcraft through the B Corp certification process,” says Kathryn Wortsman, fund manager at MaRS Catalyst Fund. Our mandate requires that all the companies we support are evaluated and demonstrate best practices in the environment, society and management. We believe that these companies have everything to succeed through a mission aligned with good management, good employee practices and environmental policies. In addition, their efforts support a better corporate culture that promotes engagement and improves performance and customer satisfaction. "

Classcraft received a rating of 86.6, which is well above the average of 50.5 for similar companies seeking B Corp certification. Companies must achieve a score of 80 or higher in order to be granted this certification.

Today, Classcraft joins 2,778 B Corp companies from all over the world. B Lab, the nonprofit awarding certification, describes B Corporations as “a new form of business that balances purpose and profit. Legally, companies of this type must consider the impact of their decisions on their employees, their customers, their suppliers, their community and the environment. "

“Classcraft joins the ranks of B Corp community leaders who are propelling a global movement for companies to do good,” says B Lab manager in Canada, Kasha Huk. We are excited to see this kind of leadership in educational technology as well as in over 150 industries located in 60 countries around the world. "

About Classcraft

Founded in 2013 by brothers Shawn and Devin Young, as well as their father Lauren, Classcraft is an edtech company located in Quebec and New York, winner of several awards and having obtained the B Corporation certification. Its proprietary motivation management system leverages the cultural phenomenon of video games to help educators achieve quantifiable improvements in academic performance, non-cognitive skill development, and school climate. By combining real and virtual learning, Classcraft turns their academic progress into a game they play together throughout the year. Over 5 million students and educators in over 160 countries play Classcraft, available in 11 languages.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Le triple résultat : le nouveau modèle d’affaires en éducation

Classcraft, un système de gestion de la motivation pour les écoles lauréat de plusieurs prix, annonce aujourd’hui avoir officiellement obtenu la certification B Corp. Afin de se voir octroyer cette certification, une entreprise doit respecter des normes strictes au niveau de l’impact social et environnemental, ainsi que de sa transparence et sa responsabilité.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Sherbrooke, le 19 mars 2019 — Classcraft, un système de gestion de la motivation pour les écoles lauréat de plusieurs prix, annonce aujourd’hui avoir officiellement obtenu la certification B Corp. Afin de se voir octroyer cette certification, une entreprise doit respecter des normes strictes au niveau de l’impact social et environnemental, ainsi que de sa transparence et sa responsabilité.

De plus, elle doit démontrer sa volonté d’utiliser le pouvoir de l’entreprise pour régler des problèmes sociaux et environnementaux. Shawn et Devin Young, ainsi que leur père Lauren, ont fondé l’entreprise en 2013 et lancé leur produit edtech novateur en 2015.

« Nous sommes fiers d’être l’une des entreprises dans le domaine de l’edtech qui respectent les normes établies afin d’obtenir la certification B Corp, et ce, au niveau international, » explique le PDG de Classcraft, Shawn Young, depuis les bureaux principaux de l’entreprise à Sherbrooke. « Tout au long du processus, ce n’est pas suffisant de dire que vous faites ce que vous faites pour le bien des enfants : il faut le prouver grâce à des données et grâce à la recherche. Pour nous, il était facile de prouver nos résultats puisque nous fournissons aux éducateurs des façons concrètes de mesurer quotidiennement l’impact de Classcraft. »

Le président de Classcraft, Devin Young, situé à New York, élabore : « Notre système de gestion de la motivation (SGM) offre des données en temps réel sur la motivation des élèves, leurs performances académiques, leurs comportements socioaffectifs et sur le développement de leurs compétences. Ces données sont essentielles afin de continuer d’innover et d’offrir des résultats mesurables aux écoles et aux commissions scolaires. La certification B Corp démontre qu’une entité indépendante reconnait que notre façon de travailler va de concert avec le travail que nous accomplissons. »

Shawn ajoute : « Nous sommes dévoués au triple résultat : avoir une entreprise qui réussit, avoir un impact positif sur la vie de nos clients et contribuer de façon positive à la société et à notre environnement. Ça a toujours été notre mission. »

« Le fonds MaRS Catalyst Fund a aidé Classcraft à traverser le processus de certification B Corp, mentionne Kathryn Wortsman, gestionnaire de fonds chez MaRS Catalyst Fund. Notre mandat exige que toutes les entreprises que nous soutenons soient évaluées et démontrent les meilleures pratiques au niveau de l’environnement, de la société et de la gestion. Nous croyons que ces entreprises ont tout pour réussir grâce à une mission alignée avec une bonne gestion, de bonnes pratiques des employés et des politiques environnementales. De plus, leurs efforts soutiennent une meilleure culture d’entreprise favorisant l’engagement et améliorant le rendement et la satisfaction des clients. »

Classcraft a obtenu une évaluation de 86,6, ce qui est bien supérieur à la moyenne de 50,5 des entreprises similaires désirant obtenir la certification B Corp. Les entreprises doivent obtenir une note de 80 ou plus afin de se voir octroyer cette certification.

Aujourd’hui, Classcraft rejoint 2778 entreprises B Corp de partout dans le monde. B Lab, l’organisme sans but lucratif attribuant la certification, décrit les B Corporations comme étant « une nouvelle forme d’entreprise qui maintient l’équilibre entre leur but et leurs profits. Légalement, les entreprises de ce type doivent tenir compte de l’impact de leurs décisions sur leurs employés, leurs clients, leurs fournisseurs, leur communauté et l’environnement. »

« Classcraft rejoint les rangs des leaders de la communauté B Corp qui propulsent un mouvement mondial invitant les entreprises à oeuvrer pour le bien, affirme la gestionnaire B Lab au Canada, Kasha Huk. Nous sommes enthousiastes de voir ce genre de leadership dans le domaine des technologies de l’éducation ainsi que dans plus de 150 industries situées dans 60 pays autour du monde. »

À propos de Classcraft

Fondée en 2013 par les frères Shawn et Devin Young, ainsi que leur père Lauren, Classcraft est une entreprise edtech située au Québec et à New York, lauréate de plusieurs prix et ayant obtenu la certification B Corporation. Son système de gestion de la motivation exclusif s’appuie sur le phénomène culturel que sont les jeux vidéos afin d’aider les éducateurs à obtenir des améliorations quantifiables au niveau des performances scolaires, du développement de compétences non cognitives et du climat scolaire. En combinant l’apprentissage réel et virtuel, Classcraft transforme leur progression scolaire en un jeu qu’ils jouent ensemble tout au long de l’année. Plus de 5 millions d’élèves et d’éducateurs dans plus de 160 pays jouent à Classcraft, disponible en 11 langues.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :