The SAMR model for administrators

The SAMR theoretical model is often associated with the teacher and the technological integration he does in his classroom. Could a school principal also use it to redefine his use of technology and thus be a leader for his team? Here is the example of a director who took the bull by the horns!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

The SAMR theoretical model is often associated with the teacher and the technological integration he does in his classroom. Could a school principal also use it to redefine his use of technology and thus be a leader for his team? Here is the example of a director who took the bull by the horns!

The SAMR model, developed by Dr Ruben Puentedura, has been introduced into the Francophonie for a few years now. Last year, the École branchée published a summary of this model integration of technologies in the classroom. If you don't know it, it's worth taking a look.

This model is often associated with the teacher and the technological integration he does in his classroom. Would it be possible to use it for administrators? Could a school principal use this theoretical model to redefine his use of technology and thus be a leader for his team? Here is an example of a principal who took the bull by the horns and became a mainstay on it in his facility and community. Eric sheninger has also written an essential book on the subject, Digital Leadership.

Not long ago, I discovered Josh Work, a history teacher from Maryland who published, on Edutopia, a series of articles on the subject. I will be inspired here by the first article in his series Technology SAMR Model for Administrators.

All administrators must, at one time or another, make a presentation to school staff or parents. Here is a possible way to redefine this task according to the SAMR model.

Substitution

Presentations are often made with Power Point software. In the past, we used the board, and even an overhead projector, to present statistics or the game plan for the year. It was also not uncommon for the administrator to simply distribute a paper document and simply ask the audience to follow the presentation. The PowerPoint therefore replaces the table or the paper document.

Increase

To "increase" the task, it would be possible to add certain things to the basic presentation. For example, a tool like Google Slides makes it easy to embed videos from YouTube. In addition, the presentation is online, which makes it easy to share the link with the audience.

Modification

How to “modify” an act as simple as a masterful presentation? There is a tool called Nearpod. This tool sends the presentation to the devices of the people in the audience and makes them interact. This is a good way to keep the audience's attention.

Redefinition

A meeting is effective when it allows decisions to be made that get things done. Why not “redefine” one of these information meetings? For example, the presentation could be recorded on video, then sent to participants with a link to a mandatory survey and another to a working document opened in collaborative mode. The possibilities are enormous.

In conclusion, redefining our tasks with technology is a long-term job. Wanting to redefine everything in a year is an exhausting task. It is therefore important to take small steps and everything will be more pleasant.

What are your recommendations on this?

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Sebastien warthttp://www.edulogia.com
Director of teaching and educational innovation at Saint-Paul College. A specialist in technological integration, Sébastien was an IT and Web optimization consultant at the FÉEP as well as an educational consultant in technology integration and a teacher at the Collège de Montréal.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Le modèle SAMR pour les administrateurs

On associe souvent le modèle théorique SAMR à l’enseignant et à l’intégration technologique qu’il fait dans sa classe. Un directeur d’école pourrait-il l’utiliser aussi pour redéfinir son utilisation de la technologie et ainsi être un leader pour son équipe? Voici l’exemple d’un directeur qui a pris le taureau par les cornes!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

On associe souvent le modèle théorique SAMR à l’enseignant et à l’intégration technologique qu’il fait dans sa classe. Un directeur d’école pourrait-il l’utiliser aussi pour redéfinir son utilisation de la technologie et ainsi être un leader pour son équipe? Voici l’exemple d’un directeur qui a pris le taureau par les cornes!

Le modèle SAMR, élaboré par le Dr Ruben Puentedura, a été introduit dans la francophonie depuis quelques années déjà. L’an dernier, l’École branchée publiait un résumé de ce modèle d’intégration des technologies en classe. Si vous ne le connaissez pas, ça vaut la peine d’y jeter un coup d’œil.

On associe souvent ce modèle à l’enseignant et à l’intégration technologique qu’il fait dans sa classe. Serait-il possible de l’utiliser pour les administrateurs? Est-ce qu’un directeur d’école pourrait utiliser ce modèle théorique pour redéfinir son utilisation de la technologie et ainsi être un leader pour son équipe? Voici l’exemple d’un directeur qui a pris le taureau par les cornes et est devenu un pilier à ce sujet dans son établissement et sa communauté. Eric Sheninger a par ailleurs écrit un livre incontournable sur le sujet, Digital Leadership.

Il y a peu de temps, j’ai découvert Josh Work, enseignant d’histoire du Maryland ayant publié, sur Edutopia, une série d’articles sur le sujet. Je vais ici m’inspirer du premier article de sa série Technology SAMR Model for Administrators.

Tous les administrateurs doivent, à un moment ou l’autre, faire une présentation devant le personnel de l’école ou les parents. Voici une façon possible de redéfinir cette tâche selon le modèle SAMR.

Substitution

Les présentations se font souvent avec le logiciel Power Point. Anciennement, on utilisait le tableau, et même un rétroprojecteur, pour présenter des statistiques ou le plan de match de l’année. Il n’était pas rare non plus que l’administrateur distribue simplement un document papier et demande tout simplement à l’auditoire d’y suivre la présentation. Le Power Point remplace donc le tableau ou le document papier.

Augmentation

Pour « augmenter » la tâche, il serait possible d’ajouter certaines choses à la présentation de base. Par exemple, un outil comme Google Slides permet facilement l’intégration de vidéos de YouTube. De plus, la présentation est en ligne, ce qui permet de partager facilement le lien avec l’auditoire.

Modification

Comment « modifier » un acte aussi simple qu’une présentation magistrale? Il existe un outil qui s’appelle Nearpod. Cet outil permet d’envoyer la présentation sur les appareils des gens dans l’auditoire et de les faire interagir. Ceci constitue une bonne façon de garder l’attention du public.

Redéfinition

Une réunion est efficace quand elle permet de prendre des décisions qui font avancer les choses. Pourquoi ne pas « redéfinir » l’une de ces réunions d’information? Par exemple, la présentation pourrait être enregistrée en vidéo, puis envoyée aux participants avec un lien vers un sondage obligatoire et un autre vers un document de travail ouvert en mode collaboratif. Les possibilités sont énormes.

En conclusion, la redéfinition de nos tâches avec la technologie est un travail à long terme. Vouloir tout redéfinir en une année est une tâche épuisante. Il est donc important d’y aller à petits pas et tout sera plus agréable.

Quelles sont vos recommandations à ce sujet?

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Sébastien Warthttp://www.edulogia.com
Directeur à l'enseignement et à l'innovation pédagogique au Collège Saint-Paul. Spécialiste en intégration technologique, Sébastien a été conseiller en technologies de l’information et optimisation Web à la FÉEP ainsi que conseiller pédagogique en intégration des technologies et enseignant au Collège de Montréal.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct