ADVERTISEMENT

Computer Programming in Schools: The State of Play in Canada and Around the World

What about the integration of computer programming in school curricula in Canada and elsewhere in the world? The answer in this article!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Researchers state that "there is no doubt that learning and practicing computer programming fosters the development of broader skills in all academic subjects as well as in learning areas such as problem solving, creative thinking, and critical thinking." What about the integration of computer programming into school curricula in Canada and elsewhere in the world?

Our REPORT Days of reflection on the pedagogical use of computer programming: Findings on the integration of digital literacywhich was published last June, contains a section presenting the state of the art on the integration of computer programming in school curricula in Canada and elsewhere in the world. The information presented here is taken from that report.

In Canada

"In the majority of Canadian provinces and territories, information and communication technologies (ICT) are integrated into the school curriculum in a mandatory, cross-curricular manner, sometimes as early as preschool," the report states.

In Manitoba, for example, the curriculum entitled Literacy with Information and Communication Technology (LwICT) provides a framework for the development of digital learning and skills from preschool to Grade 12. In New Brunswick, a similar curriculum called Middle School Technology Education guides the integration of computer science, which begins in the English-speaking middle school.

In both of these curricula, learning programming occupies a superficial or secondary place since the concepts included in them are very diverse, ranging from ethical behavior on the Web to the use of word processing software.

For example, in most jurisdictions, "explicit learning of programming and the concepts behind it is mostly done in the last two or three years of high school, in the form of electives. For example, in Saskatchewan, courses Computer Sciences are offered to students in grades 11 and 12 in the same way as physics or chemistry courses. In Alberta, a variety of courses can be chosen by students in the program Career and Technology Studies.

"Generally speaking, the integration of ICT throughout the school career is aimed more at the overall development of the student so that he or she becomes an autonomous citizen in the digital age. Specialized computer science and programming courses, which are optional in the last years of high school, are part of a much more utilitarian and technocratic approach.

Elsewhere in the world

Elsewhere in the world, many countries have also begun to integrate the development of digital skills in general and programming in particular into their school curricula.

In the United States, the implementation of a compulsory curriculum through grade 12, K12 Computer ScienceThe goal of the program is to provide students with computer skills such as the ability to create computer programs, simulations, and robotic systems, as well as the ability to repair them in the event of a problem.

The UK has also opted for a mandatory course which includes "the development and application of analytical problem-solving, design, and computational thinking skills grounded in a vision of privacy."  

In New ZealandThe digital skills to be developed are also part of a compulsory course in the first year of primary school. "In primary school, skills are developed in an interdisciplinary way and are oriented towards design practices. [...] By the end of high school, students understand algorithms and are able to generalize known algorithms and apply them. They can also implement algorithms by creating more complex programs that they are able to explain and use an organized approach to testing and debugging them."

In BelgiumThe digital skills to be developed by students are also mandatory and interdisciplinary. At the end of primary school, students should be able to produce and process multimedia content and design an algorithm or program to solve a simple problem. By the end of secondary school, they should be able to collaboratively produce multimedia content, in addition to being able to critically judge the rationale and induced consequences of algorithms, including AI and connected objects.

Are you interested in this topic? We strongly recommend that you consult Appendices 22, 23, 24 of the full reportAppendix 20 provides an overview of digital education in Canada and links to the various curricula. Appendix 21 provides an overview of the state of digital education and programming internationally. Finally, Appendix 26 provides an example of a learning progression for programming (Manitoba).

To have :

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

La programmation informatique dans les écoles : l’état de la situation au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde

Qu’en est-il de l’intégration de la programmation informatique dans les cursus scolaires au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde? La réponse dans cet article!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Des chercheurs affirment qu’« il ne fait nul doute que l’apprentissage et la pratique de la programmation informatique favorisent le développement de compétences plus larges dans toutes les matières scolaires ainsi que dans les domaines d’apprentissage tels que la résolution de problèmes, la pensée créative et l’esprit critique. » Qu’en est-il de l’intégration de la programmation informatique dans les cursus scolaires au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde?

Le RAPPORT Journées de réflexion sur l’usage pédagogique de la programmation informatique : Constats sur l’intégration de la compétence numérique, qui a été publié en juin dernier, contient une section présentant l’état des lieux sur l’intégration de la programmation informatique dans les cursus scolaires au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde. Les informations présentées ici sont tirées de ce rapport.

Au Canada

« Dans la majorité des provinces et des territoires canadiens, les technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) sont intégrées de manière obligatoire au parcours scolaire dans une optique interdisciplinaire, parfois même dès le préscolaire », lit-on dans le rapport.

Au Manitoba, par exemple, le curriculum intitulé Literacy with Information and Communication Technology (LwICT) encadre le développement des apprentissages et des compétences liées au numérique du préscolaire à la 12e année. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, un curriculum semblable nommé Middle School Technology Education oriente l’intégration de l’informatique, qui se fait à partir de l’école intermédiaire anglophone.

Dans ces deux curriculums, l’apprentissage de la programmation occupe une place superficielle ou secondaire puisque les concepts qui y sont inscrits sont très variés, allant du comportement éthique sur le Web à l’utilisation des logiciels de traitement de texte.

Ainsi, dans la plupart des provinces et territoires, « l’apprentissage explicite de la programmation et des concepts qui la sous-tendent est surtout l’affaire des deux ou trois dernières années du secondaire, sous la forme de cours optionnels ». Par exemple, en Saskatchewan, les cours Computer Sciences sont offerts aux élèves de 11e et 12e années au même titre que les cours de physique ou de chimie. En Alberta, une variété de cours peut être choisie par les élèves du programme Career and Technology Studies.

« De façon générale, l’intégration des TIC tout au long du parcours scolaire vise davantage le développement global de l’élève afin qu’il devienne un citoyen autonome à l’ère numérique. Les cours spécialisés d’informatique et de programmation, optionnels dans les dernières années du secondaire, s’inscrivent dans une optique beaucoup plus utilitariste et technocratique ».

Ailleurs dans le monde

Ailleurs dans le monde, de nombreux pays ont aussi commencé à intégrer le développement de la compétence numérique en général et de la programmation en particulier à leur cursus scolaire.

Aux États-Unis, l’implantation d’un curriculum obligatoire jusqu’à la 12e année, K12 Computer Science, « vise à doter les élèves de compétences informatiques telles la capacité de créer des programmes informatiques, des simulations ou encore des systèmes robotiques ainsi que la capacité de les réparer advenant un problème ».

Le Royaume-Uni a également opté pour un cours obligatoire qui vise notamment « le développement et l’application des compétences analytiques de résolution de problèmes, de conception et de réflexion informatique ancrée dans une vision de protection de la vie privée ».  

En Nouvelle-Zélande, les compétences numériques à développer font aussi partie d’un cours obligatoire dès la première année du primaire. « Au primaire, les compétences se développent de façon interdisciplinaire et s’orientent vers des pratiques de design. […] À la fin du secondaire, les élèves comprennent les algorithmes et sont capables de généraliser les algorithmes connus et de les appliquer. Ils peuvent également implémenter des algorithmes en créant des programmes plus complexes qu’ils sont en mesure d’expliquer et d’utiliser une approche organisée pour les tester et les déboguer. »

En Belgique, les compétences numériques à développer par les élèves sont aussi obligatoires et interdisciplinaires. À la fin du primaire, les élèves doivent être capables de produire et de traiter des contenus multimédias et de concevoir un algorithme ou un programme pour résoudre un problème simple. À la fin du secondaire, ils devraient pouvoir produire collaborativement des contenus multimédias, en plus de pouvoir porter un jugement critique sur les raisons d’être et les conséquences induites des algorithmes, notamment en matière d’IA ou encore d’objets connectés.

Vous vous intéressez au sujet? Nous vous recommandons fortement de consulter les annexes 22, 23, 24 du rapport complet, qui offrent une vue d’ensemble de l’éducation au numérique à l’échelle canadienne ainsi que les liens vers les différents curriculums. L’annexe 21 propose quant à elle une vue de l’état de l’enseignement du numérique et de la programmation à l’échelle internationale. Enfin, l’annexe 26 fournit un exemple de progression des apprentissages pour la programmation (celle du Manitoba).

À voir :

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :