ADVERTISEMENT

APSDS training days: rethinking the library for the 21st century

The École branchée took part in the training days of the Association for the promotion of school documentary services (APSDS) which were held on December 13 and 14 in Drummondville. […]

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

The École branchée took part in the training days of theAssociation for the promotion of school documentary services (APSDS) which was held on December 13 and 14 in Drummondville. Some 85 librarians and documentation technicians gathered there to attend conferences on various subjects affecting the rapidly changing school library environment. Summary of an inspiring event where technological innovation is at the heart of the announced changes.

Development and marketing of school libraries

School libraries remain a must in the cultural offer offered by schools: a diversified, adapted, accessible and renewed library is often a guarantee of an environment conducive to learning and open to the world. It is therefore with this in mind that the APSDS has invited its members to two days of sharing on the theme "the development and marketing of school libraries".

Learning hubs

The evolution of teaching practices and the rise of digital technology in the world of education allow school libraries to constantly surpass themselves in what they have to offer and make it possible innovative projects preparing students for the challenges of tomorrow. For example, we hear more and more about “learning hubs” when it comes to rethinking 21st century libraries. A place where all the actors are brought to collaborate, where learning by investigation is supported by librarians, where digital technology is part of the experience and where reading for pleasure remains a must.

The learning hub then becomes a central element in a school, offering a variety of spaces, tools and resources in the service of student success.

Design thinking

These training days also put forward the “ design thinking ", this approach consisting in using design methods when you are not a designer by trade. To bring libraries up to date and creatively solve their daily challenges, you have to think like a designer and design user-centric projects that try to meet their needs as best as possible. Various concepts were then proposed to the members of the APSDS with regard to the possible arrangements of “third place” libraries (this expression refers to the place that the library should take in people's lives, halfway through between home and workplace). These different ideas therefore focus on "user experience", taking care to consider every detail. For example, the way to present new books to students, the height of the shelves, the layout of the desk at the reception or the places to sit in the library are the subject of a reflection that puts several criteria in perspective. . A design application, Home Design 3D, was even presented to the participants so that they could design three-dimensional plans of their library and furnish the spaces according to the “design thinking” approach.

Digital: an effective ally

Librarians 2.0 have seen their tasks diversify with the advent of new technologies. In fact, more and more of them allow students to engage in co-creation processes with programming or educational robotics. They also run “escape games” right in their library and use QR codes to introduce young people to new things. They even use augmented reality to motivate students to participate in reading circles.

In short, digital technology is indeed present on a daily basis in school libraries and it must remain an effective ally in the perpetual quest for the book that will make the difference in the life of the student.

For the pleasure of reading

Beyond digital technology and all innovative approaches to revitalize school libraries, the librarians and documentation technicians gathered during these training days all have a common goal: to promote and share the pleasure of reading. It is also in this perspective that a surprise guest, David Goudreault, came to ignite the audience by reciting a few slams and telling several anecdotes about his life as a reader. He, among other things, mentioned the major importance of libraries in his personal journey and shared the fact that reading had really saved his life. This popular, internationally renowned author and slammer paid a heartfelt and touching tribute to the librarians and documentation technicians gathered for the occasion. 

A hymn to all those who make books a pleasure to share, who open the door to new horizons, which allow one to escape and rebuild the world, one page at a time.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Journées de formation de l’APSDS : repenser la bibliothèque du 21e siècle

L’École branchée a pris part aux journées de formation de l’Association pour la promotion des services documentaires scolaires (APSDS) qui se tenaient les 13 et 14 décembre derniers à Drummondville. Quelques 85 bibliothécaires et techniciens en documentation y étaient réunis pour assister à des conférences portant sur divers sujets touchant le milieu en pleine mouvance des bibliothèques scolaires. Résumé d’un événement inspirant où l’innovation technologique est au coeur des changements annoncés.

L’aménagement et le marketing des bibliothèques scolaires

Les bibliothèques scolaires demeurent un incontournable dans l’offre culturelle proposée par les écoles : une bibliothèque diversifiée, adaptée, accessible et renouvelée est souvent gage d’un environnement propice aux apprentissages et ouvert sur le monde. C’est donc dans cette optique que l’APSDS a invité ses membres à deux journées de partage ayant pour thème « l’aménagement et le marketing des bibliothèques scolaires ».

Les carrefours d’apprentissage

L’évolution des pratiques pédagogiques et l’essor du numérique dans le monde de l’éducation permettent aux bibliothèques scolaires de se dépasser sans cesse dans ce qu’elles ont à offrir et rendent possible des projets innovants préparant les élèves aux enjeux de demain. Par exemple, nous entendons de plus en plus parler de « carrefours d’apprentissage » quand vient le temps de repenser les bibliothèques du 21e siècle. Un lieu où tous les acteurs sont amenés à collaborer, où l’apprentissage par investigation est soutenu par les bibliothécaires, où le numérique est partie prenante de l’expérience et où la lecture pour le plaisir demeure un incontournable.

Le carrefour d’apprentissage devient alors un élément central dans une école, offrant une variété d’espaces, d’outils et de ressources au service de la réussite des élèves.

Le « design thinking »

Ces journées de formation ont également mis de l’avant le « design thinking », cette approche consistant à employer des méthodes de design lorsqu’on n’est pas designer de métier. Pour mettre les bibliothèques au goût du jour et permettre de résoudre de façon créative leurs défis quotidiens, il faut penser comme un designer et concevoir des projets centrés sur les usagers en tentant de répondre le mieux possible à leurs besoins. Divers concepts ont alors été proposés aux membres de l’APSDS en ce qui a trait aux aménagements possibles des bibliothèques de « troisième lieu » (cette expression fait référence à la place que devrait prendre la bibliothèque dans la vie des gens, à mi-chemin entre le domicile et le lieu de travail). Ces différentes idées mettent donc l’accent sur « l’expérience utilisateur », en prenant soin de considérer chaque détail. Par exemple, la façon de présenter les nouveaux livres aux élèves, la hauteur des étagères, la disposition du bureau à l’accueil ou les endroits pour s’asseoir dans la bibliothèque font l’objet d’une réflexion qui met plusieurs critères en perspective. Une application de design, Home Design 3D, a même été présentée aux participants pour que ces derniers puissent concevoir des plans en trois dimensions de leur bibliothèque et meubler les espaces selon l’approche du « design thinking ».

Le numérique : allié efficace

Les bibliothécaires 2.0 ont vu leurs tâches se diversifier au rythme de la venue des nouvelles technologies. En effet, ils sont de plus en plus nombreux à permettre aux élèves de s’engager dans des processus de cocréation avec de la programmation ou de la robotique pédagogique. Ils font également vivre des « jeux d’évasion » à même leur bibliothèque et utilisent les codes QR pour faire découvrir des nouveautés aux jeunes. Ils utilisent même la réalité augmentée pour motiver les élèves à participer à des cercles de lecture.

Bref, le numérique est bel et bien présent au quotidien dans les bibliothèques scolaires et il doit demeurer un allié efficace dans la perpétuelle quête du livre qui fera la différence dans la vie de l’élève.

Pour le plaisir de lire

Au-delà du numérique et de toutes les approches innovantes pour revitaliser les bibliothèques scolaires, les bibliothécaires et techniciens en documentation réunis lors de ces journées de formation ont tous un objectif commun : promouvoir et partager le plaisir de lire. C’est d’ailleurs dans cette optique qu’un invité surprise, David Goudreault, est venu enflammer l’auditoire en récitant quelques slams et en racontant plusieurs anecdotes sur sa vie de lecteur. Il a, entre autres, fait mention de l’importance majeure des bibliothèques dans son parcours personnel et a partagé le fait que la lecture lui avait réellement sauvé la vie. Ce populaire auteur et slameur de renommée internationale a rendu un hommage senti et touchant aux bibliothécaires et techniciens en documentation rassemblés pour l’occasion. 

Un hymne à tous ceux et celles qui font des livres un plaisir à partager, qui ouvrent la porte vers de nouveaux horizons, qui permettent de s’évader et de reconstruire le monde, une page à la fois.


Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :