ADVERTISEMENT

The day “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! »Turns 18

On March 18, 2017, the day “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! »Will offer activities in Montreal, Quebec, Rimouski and Sherbrooke.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

On March 18, 2017, the day " Girls and science, an electrifying duo! »Will celebrate its 18 years of existence. The activities will take place simultaneously in Montreal, Quebec, Rimouski and Sherbrooke.

For the occasion, the organization has joined forces with two inspiring personalities from the scientific world "whose professional backgrounds are proof that no, science is definitely neither arid nor boring":

  • Eve Christian: Physicist and meteorologist, who is also a journalist, blogger and scientific columnist emeritus, takes on the role of “honorary godmother” of the event. “Ève Christian perfectly embodies the balance between scientific thought and a passion for popularization and this is our way of thanking her for her generous involvement since the beginning of the event. "
  • Nicolas Reeves: A graduate in physics and architecture, professor of environmental design at UQÀM, this new spokesperson has made the poetic use of science and technology the very heart of his work. Nicolas Reeves is a pioneer of "research-creation", a field which combines artistic, scientific and technological modes of creativity.

 

Open doors to understand the world around us

The event “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! »Reveals the often unrecognized impact of science and technology in the daily lives of young girls aged 2e and 3e secondary school and encourages them to make career choices in careers such as engineering, IT, video games, telecommunications, the environment, etc.

“Scientific culture helps us to understand a little better the world around us, what governs it,” comments Ève Christian, “an understanding that can be transferred to all kinds of fields, such as music, dance or the visual arts. "

“Science, formal or applied, is a universal language,” adds Nicolas Reeves, “a major tool in our quest for meaning, just like the arts. Having a scientific culture means taking a richer perspective, which allows us to see further and wider in our journeys into the unknown. "

"It's like a dancer confronted with the effects of gravity," concludes the meteorologist, herself passionate about dance. She will only dance the better if she knows and understands the physical laws with which her body moves. "

 

A day of workshops, meetings and career shopping!

The 18e edition of the day "Girls and science, an electrifying duo!" »Will offer animated demonstrations, practical workshops and meetings with representatives of companies and industries linked to scientific and technological fields.

One of the highlights of the day is “career shopping”. The activity allows young participants to discover the wide range of university, professional and technical training offered to them by the world of science and technology and to shop in an informed and fun way for a future career in this expanding universe.

The day also includes components designed specifically for parents and school workers.

To find out more, you can watch the short video produced during the 2016 edition.

Also visit the website: www.lesfillesetlessciences.ca. It includes details about registration for this day.

 

Source: press release

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

La journée « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! » fête ses 18 ans

Le 18 mars 2017, la journée « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! » proposera des activités à Montréal, Québec, Rimouski et Sherbrooke.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Le 18 mars 2017, la journée « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! » célèbrera ses 18 ans d’existence. Les activités auront lieu simultanément à Montréal, Québec, Rimouski et Sherbrooke.

Pour l’occasion, l’organisation s’adjoint deux personnalités inspirantes du monde scientifique « dont les parcours professionnels sont la preuve que non, la science n’est décidément ni aride, ni ennuyeuse » :

  • Ève Christian : Physicienne et météorologue, qui est aussi une journaliste, blogueuse et chroniqueuse scientifique émérite, endosse le rôle de « marraine honoris causa » de l’événement. « Ève Christian incarne à merveille l’équilibre entre la pensée scientifique et la passion pour la vulgarisation et c’est notre façon de la remercier pour sa généreuse implication depuis les débuts de l’événement. »
  • Nicolas Reeves : Diplômé en physique et en architecture, professeur en design de l’environnement à l’UQÀM, ce nouveau porte-parole a fait de l’utilisation poétique des sciences et des technologies le coeur même de son travail. Nicolas Reeves est un pionnier de la « recherche-création », un domaine qui associe les modes de créativité artistique, scientifique et technologique.

 

Ouvrir des portes pour comprendre le monde qui nous entoure

L’événement « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! » fait découvrir l’impact souvent méconnu des sciences et des technologies dans le quotidien des jeunes filles de 2e et 3e secondaire et les incite à faire des choix d’orientation dans des carrières comme l’ingénierie, l’informatique, les jeux vidéos, les télécommunications, l’environnement, etc.

« La culture scientifique nous aide à comprendre un peu mieux le monde qui nous entoure, ce qui le régit, commente Ève Christian, une compréhension qui peut être transférée dans toutes sortes de domaines, comme la musique, la danse ou les arts plastiques. »

« La science, formelle ou appliquée, est un langage universel, renchérit Nicolas Reeves, un outil majeur dans notre quête de sens, au même titre que les arts. Posséder une culture scientifique, c’est poser un regard plus riche, qui nous permet de voir plus loin et plus large dans nos voyages vers l’inconnu. »

« C’est comme une danseuse confrontée aux effets de la gravité, conclut la météorologue, elle-même passionnée de danse. Elle n’en dansera que mieux si elle connaît et comprend les lois physiques avec lesquelles son corps se meut. »

 

Une journée d’ateliers, de rencontres et de magasinage de carrière!

La 18e édition de la journée « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! » proposera des démonstrations animées, des ateliers pratiques et des rencontres avec des représentantes d’entreprises et d’industries liées aux domaines scientifique et technologique.

L’un des temps fort de cette journée est le « magasinage de carrière ». L’activité permet aux jeunes participantes de découvrir la vaste panoplie de formations universitaires, professionnelles et techniques que leur offre le monde des sciences et des technologies et magasiner de façon éclairée et ludique une future carrière dans cet univers en expansion.

La journée comporte aussi des volets conçus expressément pour les parents et les intervenants du milieu scolaire.

Pour en savoir plus, on peut visionner la courte vidéo réalisée lors de l’édition 2016.

Visitez aussi le site Web : www.lesfillesetlessciences.ca. On y trouve notamment les détails concernant l’inscription à cette journée.

 

Source : communiqué

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :